We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellaire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Victorian B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Bellaire B&B and Inns
Dearborn
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Retreat”
Reviewed 12 September 2007

This was our first B&B experience. We didn't know what to expect. We were overwhelmed with the experience! Ken and Linda anticipate your every whim and wish! The accommodations are pristine, and the hospitality friendly and warm. A good balance of gracious hospitality with privacy. The surrounding little towns were quaint and quiet and beautiful! We discovered such a wonderful little hideaway! I would recommend this to anyone. I am certain that no other B&B will measure up to this one!

  • Liked — Comfortable and inviting
  • Disliked — No TV
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
152
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2007

My husband and I have been to quite a few B & B's in Michigan and the Grand Victorian was the best. There was so much attention to detail and the hosts Ken and Linda were fantastic. The breakfasts were out of this world. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TweetieBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2007

What a wonderful escape from reality. My husband and I stayed at the Grand Victorian and really reconnected. The atmosphere in the house is warm and friendly. From the homemade treats upon arrival to the games and books scattered throughout the house to the wonderful gormet breakfast, the attention to detail by the innkeepers/owners is amazing. We loved our experience and are already planning a trip for our parents and a return trip for ourselves. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — History and the town
  • Disliked — Distance from home
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Best of the best isn't enough for this terrific surprise in Bellaire Mi. Beth and I picked this out using a picture on the internet and thought it was a "charming looking place" to spend the one night we had planned for in Bellaire.
In all honesty it is twice as charming and pretty in person (this house takes on it's own personality). Ken and Linda are just great people and were so accomodating. They gave us all the local history of the area and the house itself. The house should be the real star here and is only because of the personality it takes on through these two wonderful hosts.
Cookies in the room to start are just terriffic but when you pull down the bedspread and feel the ironed sheets and pillowcases you finally get it. Service and accomodation are what the hosts are shooting for and they hit the bullseye.
This was an outstanding experience which we intend on repeating in the near future!!

George(Ed) and Beth Harden

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Friendly hosts, Unique facility
  • Disliked — That we only stayed one night.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2007

I can say with confidence that this is the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in, and I have experienced quite a few. First and foremost, the innkeepers are warm and welcoming, and comfortable to be around. The attention they pay to detail is prominent throughout the house, and the smallest additions to the rooms made our stay there extra special. For example, there are candles to light when you're in the jacuzzi, a small bottle of champagne awaiting you on your arrival, and soft, nice smelling towels and linens. Everything was perfect. We stayed in the Carriage Room, which had an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious every day, with something to suit everyone. And the house itself is spectacular! Amazingly well cared for by all of its previous owners, the house is largely unchanged, thus allowing you to feel like you are stepping back in time. I really can't say enough positive things about this B&B. It is well worth the money spent, and very reasonable when you consider what kind of accomodations and hospitality you're receiving in return. Thank you Ken and Linda for a wonderful stay in Bellaire!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2007

Ken and Linda were wonderful hosts - friendly, welcoming and hospitable. Breakfasts were wonderful. . .too wonderful (I will be on my treadmill until I'm 90)! She also provided evening snacks and a small bottle of wine to celebrate my birthday. The inn was very well maintained and super clean; the bed was very comfortable. My husband and I stay at B & B's offten; the grand Victorian rates a "10" in our book! Linda and Charles Zeese, Trenton, MI

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Roselene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2007

We just finished celebrating a weekend away from work and kids, this B&B was just perfect. Linda and Ken were warm, inviting and very knowledgable about the history of their home and surrounding areas. The breakfast in the mornings were to die for. We learned how to eat a puffed pancake in a variety of ways, from traditional to how Europe and Germany eat a pancake. The victorian atmosphere was beautiful yet not stuffy. You felt welcome in the home upon entering. It was just a great weekend... We will definitely return.

  • Liked — The atmosphere for a weekend getaway
  • Disliked — Very small town
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ritans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellaire
23.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
24.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
20.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
10.4 mi away
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
Torch Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Central Lake
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Victorian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Victorian B&B

Property: The Grand Victorian B&B
Address: 402 N Bridge St, Bellaire, MI 49615-9591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Victorian B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as one of America's Top 10 Romantic Inns, the Grand Victorian goes above and beyond in providing your Romantic Getaway. This award-winning B&B has graced the covers of travel magazines and featured in many national B&B promotions. Built in 1895 and immaculately maintained, the home was placed on the National Register in 1978. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing