We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bikes, golf, water park”

Lower Huron Metropark
YPSILANTI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bikes, golf, water park”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This park runs several miles along the Huron River. Several picnic areas, a water park, golf course, bike trails, nature hikes. Admission to the park by paying a daily or annual pass fee. Check the park website for special events like fireworks: www.metroparks.com

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Biking our Metro Parks”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lower Huron Metro Park is connected to Willow Metro Park so you can jog, bike or walk for a long ways. I bicycled for 16 miles on the nice paved pathway with beautiful scenery. The Huron Eiver runs along much of the route.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Park!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I remember coming here as a kid with my mom and dad and my grandmother and grandfather. The park has always been nice. They have fireworks on the 4th of July. There are tails where you can walk or even ride bikes! There are many different wild animals and plant life that you'll find through out the park. There is a water park (which you have to pay for) and many different play areas for children! I recommend anyone to come here if visiting or even live near by for a chance to be around some nature. The park holds many different activities all year round!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoraRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“camping + waterpark is an inexpensive winner for families with kids”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Kids love camping and waterparks so when they are a bikeride away from each other, it is golden to kids. Walnut Grove Campgrounds at Lower Huron Metropark (In Belleville, NOT Bellvue) are spic and span. It is a 30 minute walk, 15 minute bike ride or 5 minute car ride from Turtle Cove Waterpark within the park. The bike ride between the camp and waterpark is lovely - over a bridge, up one hill that is walkable on the way up and a woo hoo! on the way down. It is nicely paved. We heard owls, woodpeckers and bullfrogs. There was a cute playground and a clean drinking fountain near our site.The bathrooms are the cleanest public restrooms I have ever seen. Each site has a well taken care of fire pit. It is not crowded.

Turtle Cove is a sweet smaller waterpark with 2 water slides, a zero depth pool with toys attached to the pool, a lap pool, a lazy river, a splash pad with a giant wonderful bucket that dumps down every few minutes. (The kids said it is not as big as Kalahari but they still loved it for 2 days). The food at the waterpark is very expensive and unhealthy, so plan to pack a cooler full of food and eat it just outside the park at the picnic tables. Everyone we met that worked at Lower Huron Metropark was friendly and helpful and the people who use the park are a nice group. I recommend this park as a perfect get-away with children. It is inexpensive ($20/night for the campground, $8/adult for the waterpark, $5 admission to the Metropark or a pass), close to metro Detroit, super fun especially from a child's perspective, peaceful, and easy. It is also connected to two other Metroparks where there is a pool and some boat rentals and miles and miles of bike trails. Pack a tent, a cooler, and some bikes to spend some quality time with kids without any hassle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank FieldTripWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wrong town...”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

This park is in Belleville, MI. 100 miles east of Bellevue.....

Helpful?
2 Thank kaiserkorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lower Huron Metropark also viewed

 

Been to Lower Huron Metropark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing