We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very friendly staff. Bldg and rooms very dated though. Decent breakfast. Good location. Close to St. Joe beach and the mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartyZ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and we are very pleased that you found our staff friendly, this is a very important goal of ours. We are currently undergoing a renovation to the building and the rooms so we hope that when you return to the area, you will come stay with us again and see the improvements we are making. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    18
    9
    48
See reviews for
30
17
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We did not have a reservation; arrived around 10 pm at the end of our first day of a drive-around-Lake-Michigan trip over Memorial Day weekend. We were a bit surprised at the approximately $100 cost of the room (including tax and AAA discount), but we were exhausted and in no frame of mind to quibble over it.

Once we were settled in our room, we noticed a few things that didn't make us very happy.. the bathroom wasn't very clean, including a dirty washcloth crumpled in the corner by the sink. The vent ran, but didn't actually do anything to clear shower steam. There was just a rusty hole in the ceiling where the heat lamp bulb would have been. In the bedroom, there was black mold or mildew-looking stuff in the corner of the ceiling above the air conditioner, as well as loose and falling plaster, water stains, wallpaper falling off the wall and cobwebs. While these things sure didn't please us, we were way too tired to hassle with it at this point and figured we would discuss it with the hotel staff in the morning.

Now, for the positive: the bed was VERY comfortable, and we both slept very well. The pool and hot tub were very clean and well-heated. They have one of the old-school pools that actually goes to 9 feet on the deep end.. not easy to find these days! Every member of the staff we interacted with was very friendly and as helpful as they could be. We spoke with the girl at the desk in the morning about the charges for our room- our feeling was that while things weren't horrible enough to make us leave (we are not overly picky people), we did not feel that it was a $100/night motel room. So, we requested a discount on the cost of our room. The girl at the front desk, while unable to issue the discount herself, was very apologetic and took our cell number and email, and promised to pass both along to the manager- she said we should have a response from him within the day. He did send us a very nice email addressing the problems and refunded us approximately half the cost of our room.

So to summarize- we feel that this is an okay place to stay, and the staff really seem to be doing the best they can with the resources they have available. We would stay there again, so long as the cost of the room was commensurate with its quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WiscoVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A good place to stay for an inexpensive price. With a pool, hot tub, breakfast, fitness center...definitely worth 50 bucks. A little worn down and used, but again, worth the 50 bucks. Close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was at this hotel again recently while traveling for work. It was a great value. The place was very quiet. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. I have stayed here before while traveling through and you can definitely see improvements to the entire facility. I was told they had new owners and it appears to be someone that cares about the facility and hope they will continue to make it better as time goes on.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gnat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paw Paw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stopped here with our kids because we seen that they had a indoor pool. The kids swam and my husband and I sat in the hot tub that was so relaxing. The people their where so helpful and made our stay stress free and relaxing. It was really quite when it was time for bed and the room was very clean. We will defiantly be back.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
3.5 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#5 of 11 in Benton Harbor
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Address: 798 Ferguson Dr, I94 Exit 28, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-6402 (Formerly Howard Johnson Benton Harbor)
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chain: Americas Best Value Inn Each guest room comes equipped with cable TV and Showtime. Just 2 miles from Western Michigan University, guests can enjoy the heated indoor pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi is included in every room at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites. For added convenience, tea and coffee-making facilities are also provided. A fitness center is available at Benton Harbor Americas Best Value Inn and Suites. A game room is on site. An American restaurant is on site and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service options are available. Access to Lake Michigan at Silver Beach County Park is 6 miles away. Hidden Pointe Fun Park can be reached in a 15-minute walk. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing