We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real JEWEL in West Michigan Do not miss it if you love excellent dinning”
Review of The Ideal Place - CLOSED

The Ideal Place
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MICHIGAN
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real JEWEL in West Michigan Do not miss it if you love excellent dinning”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful restaurant. Everyone, from the bartender, to all of the waitstaff, even those who were not waiting on our table and the manager REALLY gets what hospitality and meeting the unexpressed desires of the customers
If that were not enough, the food was fantastic. There were 4 of us. We had two different salads, a grilled shrimp and a vegetable spring roll for our appetizers. We almost ordered seconds on the shrimp and spring rolls. Our mains were the duck, the ribs, the chicken and the sea bass. I will not try to give the preparation as space doesn't allow, but you should look on the website. Let me just say each and every bite was fantastic
Do not miss this great restaurant in a neat little area in BentonHarbor

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AGoodCupofJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“I'm a regular”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

NEVER been disappointed! I have been going there once every week or two for a fresh menu and great drinks since Fat Tuesday! Etouffee, well prepared seafood, including unusual Pacific, soft shell crab, and more! Service and food is fantastic! Anthony, Barb, and crew have made this place a solid success.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shari w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So Satisfied”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Again, another great dinner at our local joint. I had the Grouper this evening. The Ideal Place has NEVER disappointed me. The food is always done perfectly. The menu is like non other. Anthony makes sure that the service is ALWAYS top notch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ASA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgman, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very tasty!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We've been here several times and have always enjoyed everything! This falls into the category of fine, local dining- so it's not cheap, but pretty reasonable for fine dining. It's got an upbeat atmosphere- located in the midst of the artsy district of Benton Harbor. Great food!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Upscale but average prices.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Plates look wonderful. A little spicy on some of their meals, but in general the food and atmosphere is wonderful. A nice getaway for a "date night."

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ideal Place also viewed

Benton Harbor, Berrien County
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
 
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing