We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach hopping on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have to say, for 60 bucks a night, it's hard to ask for much more than what the Red Roof Inn at Benton Harbor had to offer. The neighborhood is slightly suspect, but overall, it was a HUGE value.

Pros:

- Clean rooms with a fridge, coffee pot and good-sized TV. It's nothing fancy, so don't expect it to be, but it was a place to stay and a great one. The room we stayed in (118) was very clean and neat. You can definitely tell that there have been a lot of repairs to the rooms; caulking, patched holes, lines in the ceiling and many others. But that's a GOOD thing!

- Wonderfully close to two AMAZING beaches (Silver Beach in St. Joseph & Jean Klock Park (maybe the most beautiful beach I've been to yet; although not many, it includes Manhattan Beach in California).

- Courteous staff was willing to help with whatever we needed, pointed us in the right direction and got us in and out in a hurry. Thank you!

Cons:

- The neighborhood was certainly different than St. Joseph. Benton Harbor is a bit impoverished to say the least so the location wasn't great despite being so close to the beaches. Being close to them was about the only positive when it came to the location. That and being close to shopping / restaurants.

- The outside is a little intimidating. Coming from North County, St. Louis, it wasn't anything absolutely shocking for me, but for those who may not be used to it, the appearance was a little "ghetto" so to speak. This all changed once we got in the room, but it's not a glamorous looking place by any means.

- The lobby was a little out of sorts. Ceiling was leaking in spots and it just seemed a little rough.

That's pretty much it for the cons. It was a Red Roof Inn, not a Ritz Carlton. For 59.99 a night, it was a wonderful experience and I'd be back in a heartbeat. I miss our little hotel room!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidjbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Our location is directly off the freeway and we work hard to keep a clean and safe enviroment for our guest. The lobby has recently went through a makeover and we are always in the middle of site improvements.

Thank you for the comments and may I say your little hotel room misses you too, so come back soon for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Red Roof Inn is just off the highway at Exit #29. There's a McDonalds out by the road, and Meijer Superstore and gas station just down the road. It's a great place to stay over night when traveling or if in town for a wedding or another family event.

The staff is super friendly and helpful. You get a clean room, plenty of hot water all for a super price. They have AARP discount or a Sam's Club Discount.

I'll be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: I prefer the west side lower level - close to the office and coffee machine. I'd say the west s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIRockHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words. I'll be sure to share them with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This stay started as a stay at the motel6 across the street just because I had a corporate card discount, We got our room and within 5 minutes we were ready to leave, There were Crack Deals going on in the room next to us and alot of swearing and fighting, after 1 hour we said enough and whet across the street to the Red Roof Inn in Benton harbor. It was a totally different experience, Even our two dogs could fall asleep right away. After driving all over this country I have switched to Red Roof Inns . for my nightly stays away from home 4 nights a week. Even though I don't get a corporate price room I'll be glad to pay the 10-15 dollars extra for a clean quiet room to stay in and feel safe. Thank You Red Roof Inns Jay & Debra johnson

Room Tip: Rooms on North side have less noise from I-94
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

We always like to hear things from our guest. I'm glad to hear everything was to your standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn and the location was picture perfect right off the expressway. There were many restaurants within walking distance, there were way to many stores for shopping and there was even a movie theater down the block. The price was just right for us, our trip was for a wedding and most of the wedding guests over paid for their stay. What we spent for 2 days, was musch less then the cost of their 1 day stay. With todays economy, folks need to spend a little more time researching for deals... We drove 12 minutes to get to the ceremony and reception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

So glad to hear we met our goal of service and value. Thank you for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

It was very clean and I got the reservation from price line at 49 a night and the front desk actually gave it to me for 44$ a night. Very clean room no breakfast but that's ok for the price. Close to lots of stores and eating places

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank drew0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for the comment. We always try to be the best dollar to dollar value in the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The staff was very friendly, room was clean and comfortable, wi-fi worked well.The price was very good several restaurants, gas stations nearby with easy access on and off the expressway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

I'm happy everything was to your approval. I thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We found plenty of tractor-trailer parking in the rear of the hotel, as well as it was pet-friendly at no extra fee. (In fact, all Red Roofs are pet friendly and pets stay free.) The front desk was very accomodating with giving us a room close to the truck and meeting all our needs. Internet service was excellent in all rooms. And there is a pancake restaurant next door for breakfast. We found the room to be neat, clean, odor free, and spacious. Even the cat was happy there! Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

WOW! Thank you so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
50.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range: £49 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing