We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away with mom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because none of the hotels close to the beach were available. The price was ok, upon leaving I did see across the street another hotel for 20$ cheaper. The website for the hotel states that it is modern, if modern means a black mini fridge and black microwave then I guess it is modern. The air conditioning unit kept turning off and was very loud. I wanted my room to be very cool and it was hit and stuffy. The fan in the bathroom was very very loud and for a hotel that states it is modern, maybe they should look into a light and fan combo that is not from the 60's. the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I may stay here again if there is nothing close to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeldawn521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We always appreciate hearing comments from our guest as we strive to improve our service and quality. I'm glad you felt your room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We have replaced the loud air conditioner and bath fan in this room. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

very clean,efficient staff,pet friendly chain.the room was an upgrade to kingsize bed,just right for one nite enroute to our final destination.refriderator in the room was a nice touch.front room staff very helpful

Room Tip: up grade to a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs13Oregonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and felt our room and services were pleasant. I will make sure to share your comments with the staff, feedback from our guest is always welcome as we strive to improve our quality.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I needed a place for a few nights close to business, and this place has polite staff, great rooms, great TV's and was quite the bargain for $49.00 a night!
The Days Inn was 1/2 as nice and $18.00 a night more.
If you are in or near Benton Harbor, give this place a chance and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our inn. We're glad that you felt it was a nice place and a great value. I will make sure to share you're comments with the whole staff, positive feedback is always appreciated. Please make sure to visit us again when you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is not updated. The carpet was very old and dirty. The tub leaked when you took a shower. The wi-fi didn't work. The door frame was broken. We had two rooms and they were both like this Not a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I'm truly sorry you felt our inn "outdated". Earlier this year we did update all of our rooms with new carpeting, all new bedding, drapes and new wall texture. We do have a very thorough inspection program to maintain our quality and safety. It sounds like we did not deliver on our promise, I hope you'll give us another chance to show we have a great product .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I only needed a place to sleep for my teenage son and myself. Room was clean and comfy. Pillows were too round and I used a towel folded in the back of my neck. It was a good price for the area. Plent of places to eat. It was a short drive to St. Joseph where I was heading. Very easy hotel to find, just off the highway. Nothing fancy but comfortable. Nice and cool room.

Room Tip: Ice macine and soda are in bain building. But the other is just a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averagehuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I'm glad you felt it was a good value for the money and you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you that the location is conveniently located just off the interstate and easy to find. We did just recently replace all our pillows and they can be a little bulky when they are new. We hope you'll stay again where you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It took us a few minutes to find the place, as there is a sign by the road but the actual buildings (there are two) were tucked away from the road behind other buildings, and there were so many driveways close together it was hard to tell which one was for Red Roof Inn. Upon check-in, the woman who helped us was very polite, but there as another woman on the phone with someone and she sounded very rude. We were assigned a room on the far back end of the second (far) building. There was a lot of road noise, and it smelled like it had been a smoking room at some point. But it was very clean. When we left the hotel in the early evening for dinner, there were 4 squad cars and an ambulance just a few doors down from our room. It made us pretty uneasy. Later that night, we noticed there was no stopper for the tub, so we asked the woman at the front desk (the same polite woman we'd talked with earlier) and she said she would look for one and bring it to our room if she found one. She came to us about ten minutes later and said she found one in a room right above ours, but it couldn't be removed from the tub, so she gladly moved us to that room. That room had a coffee maker, which the first room did not. The bathrooms were tiny with rather loud exhaust fans, and the tub had a groove around it which was black with mold. Everything else was clean. Overall it wasn't bad considering the price. But it seemed like the perfect location for hookers or drug deals. The next morning at check-out the woman told us the cops and ambulance were there because a drunk guy fell and hurt himself and then harassed the staff. Like I said, not a bad place but we probably won't stay there again. We've stayed at the Comfort Suites across the interstate and it was much nicer, although more expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayRay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear RayRay16
Let me first say that I really appreciate your candid feedback. It sounds like everything that could go wrong, went wrong for you. I am truly sorry that you experienced such an experience at our inn. We have an intensive training and inspection program to maintain great levels of service, quality and safety but it sounds like we did not deliver on our promises. While I cannot change what has happened, I do hope you will give us another chance to show you that we have a nice product and provide outstanding service to each guest. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here overnight during a drive in April of 2013. While this one has yet to be renovated to the new NextGen rooms, it was still clean and comfortable.

We had a king room, which included a work space, recliner, and refrigerator. We would have preferred the NextGen setup as it allows for more work space, but it was fine for a night. The WiFi was a bit slow but worked fine.

The hotel is in somewhat of a dark area on a back street, and could be more well-lit. It was safe, though, and we didn't have any problems.

We'd stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsLikeTaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future. Our inn has recently been updated with all new interior items except for the Next Gen furniture. Our guest love our new bedding and the new curved shower rods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Stevensville
Super 8 Stevensville
#5 of 6 in Stevensville
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing