We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent one night and everything was just as the other reviews had said. The room was clean. The only complaint that I had was the air conditioner. Needed a major overhaul. The air conditioner had no air vent. All the air went to the floor. Finally got up at 2am and turned the table over so as to point the air up and through the room. This took care of the problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We welcome feedback from our guest as we strive to improve our quality and service. I would like to apologize for the missing vent on your air condiitioner, it has been replaced. We are glad that felt your room was clean and a good value. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    28
    18
    28
See reviews for
44
33
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Came to the area for a family reunion. Have stayed at this Red Roof in the past and was very pleased. Because of the VERY heavy traffic in the area the entrance was difficult to find and the drive and parking area really needs some attention. My reservation was for a standard king and we were assigned a room with a king bed but it really should have been a room with a double, not a king! The room was clean but the carpet really needed cleaning or replaced. Next time we stay here, I will request a larger room(deluxe) rather than the standard.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the building to the west of the lobby. Large trucks park there and it's very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I glad you felt your room was a good value, the room rates of some of our competition are very high in the summer months. We have repaired the few holes in our lot and the carpet has been recleaned in this room. I think you would like our superior king room that is bigger and also comes with a micro-fridge, hair dryer and iron. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because none of the hotels close to the beach were available. The price was ok, upon leaving I did see across the street another hotel for 20$ cheaper. The website for the hotel states that it is modern, if modern means a black mini fridge and black microwave then I guess it is modern. The air conditioning unit kept turning off and was very loud. I wanted my room to be very cool and it was hit and stuffy. The fan in the bathroom was very very loud and for a hotel that states it is modern, maybe they should look into a light and fan combo that is not from the 60's. the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I may stay here again if there is nothing close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeldawn521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. We always appreciate hearing comments from our guest as we strive to improve our service and quality. I'm glad you felt your room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We have replaced the loud air conditioner and bath fan in this room. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

very clean,efficient staff,pet friendly chain.the room was an upgrade to kingsize bed,just right for one nite enroute to our final destination.refriderator in the room was a nice touch.front room staff very helpful

Room Tip: up grade to a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs13Oregonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and felt our room and services were pleasant. I will make sure to share your comments with the staff, feedback from our guest is always welcome as we strive to improve our quality.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I needed a place for a few nights close to business, and this place has polite staff, great rooms, great TV's and was quite the bargain for $49.00 a night!
The Days Inn was 1/2 as nice and $18.00 a night more.
If you are in or near Benton Harbor, give this place a chance and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our inn. We're glad that you felt it was a nice place and a great value. I will make sure to share you're comments with the whole staff, positive feedback is always appreciated. Please make sure to visit us again when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is not updated. The carpet was very old and dirty. The tub leaked when you took a shower. The wi-fi didn't work. The door frame was broken. We had two rooms and they were both like this Not a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I'm truly sorry you felt our inn "outdated". Earlier this year we did update all of our rooms with new carpeting, all new bedding, drapes and new wall texture. We do have a very thorough inspection program to maintain our quality and safety. It sounds like we did not deliver on our promise, I hope you'll give us another chance to show we have a great product .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Chicago IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I only needed a place to sleep for my teenage son and myself. Room was clean and comfy. Pillows were too round and I used a towel folded in the back of my neck. It was a good price for the area. Plent of places to eat. It was a short drive to St. Joseph where I was heading. Very easy hotel to find, just off the highway. Nothing fancy but comfortable. Nice and cool room.

Room Tip: Ice macine and soda are in bain building. But the other is just a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averagehuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our inn. I'm glad you felt it was a good value for the money and you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you that the location is conveniently located just off the interstate and easy to find. We did just recently replace all our pillows and they can be a little bulky when they are new. We hope you'll stay again where you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.1 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Property: Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing