We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price/value in area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
1 review
“Best price/value in area!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at the red roof inn now at least 20 nights and every time the staff are very friendly, the rooms are great, and the one time I had an issue, the manager contacted me personally to fix the issue and make sure I had a great stay. This hotel is the cheapest in the area (that you'd want to stay in w/o a hazmat suit), has great comfortable beds, good TVs, and is a great quiet place to stay while visiting the beach or in town for whatever. The rooms are always clean and staff is friendly and helpful.
I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone coming into the area. I stay here 3-5 nights a week and its a great home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittin713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
"A home away from home" is the compliment we could receive! Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. We will always do our best to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    28
    18
    28
See reviews for
44
33
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my first time staying at a Red Roof Inn. Typically do Marriott but could not do the cost this time. Red Roof offered the best price in the are for the 3 nights we stayed. The room was large and spacious. The bathroom large and spacious as well. The rooms decor was tasteful as well. Red accent wall, lovely fixtures, ample furniture, desks, nightstands, iron and stand, mini fridge, coffee maker, to name a few things. The service was nice, we were checked in by a Jenifer and she went out of her way to move us from the upstairs to a downstairs room to accommodate my mothers disabilities. We were given a King size bedroom. The heat and AC in the room functioned really well...lol

Overall my stay went beyond what i expected. We joked that our room resembled that of a 5 star hotel for motel prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaya4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank You for sharing your opinion of our hotel. We try make everyone as comfortable as possible. Value and a positive experience for our guests are paramount for us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had to find a last minute pet friendly motel. A mechanic from D&S Trailer Repairs mentioned it to us. We were very pleasantly surprised with the comfy king bed, new carpeting, fresh paint and linens. Fred, the new manager went out of his way, as did his staff, to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rest of the Red Roof Inn chain could learn a lot from Fred. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor next to the lobby was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank-You for writing a review, about your recent stay. We always appreciate hearing about guest experiences. Please think of us again, for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I'm not one to normally complain, but...we stayed here and likely won't again. The bathroom was not clean when we checked in and we could see daylight through our door. The worst part was that our room key wouldn't work, the staff had to come let us in every time we needed to get in. On one occasion, she was busy and the only one working and couldn't help us. If it were just my husband and I, we would've been annoyed but it wouldn't have been as big of a deal, but we have a 6 week old baby and sitting in a cold parking lot waiting for a staff member to come let us in our room was unacceptable. When they were able to help it took about 15 minutes.

The room was ok, but the whole trip was overshadowed by not being able to get into our room.

We will avoid the Red Roof Inn's when we plan our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knm194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank You for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry for the trouble you had with your door, and the cleanliness of the bathroom. We have recently had an upgrade to our door system, which was not as effective, as we would have liked. Our recent attempts to fix these issues, have been successful. I have also coached the housekeeper, who cleaned your room, to be more thorough. I do hope you are willing to give us another chance, and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

very pleased with service, great customer service, great room, great price.
on a scale of 0 to 5 .

5 being excellent I gave them a rating of 5 all the way across the board.

I would definitely book another trip here again :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redphoenix88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased that enjoy your stay, I will make sure to share your comments with our team. We always enjoy hearing feedback from our guest as we strive to improve our quality and service. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coldwater
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is an ok hotel for the price. Not thrilled with the area or folks around the area. My husband and sons stayed there when a fishing trip was very early next am in South Haven. Close to good areas and much cheaper then hotels in South Haven.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevColdwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our inn. We are glad that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us when in the area. We appreciate your comments as with constantly strive to improve our service and quality of product. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team.

I also appreciate your comments concerning our prices being lower than the
South Haven area. I can tell that you have priced the different lakeshore cities and know a good value. We look forward to seeing you and family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I have never paid as much for a Red Roof Inn room as I paid here, nor has the room ever before veen so ridiculously tight. It was clean, but the table and chairs made it difficult to move about. The bed was not comfortable. For a last minute off the highway option, it served it's purpose, but I wasnt keen. I may have been more pleased had the door not been open on arrival.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBentonHarbor, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you felt the price of the room was too expensive for a Red Roof Inn, this area is a little more pricey due to being close to the lakeshore and on Notre Dame home football games. The standard king room you stayed in is our smallest room size and does not have a lot of extra space. I think you would like our larger Superior King room that also has a large work desk area, microfridge and other amenities.

I also sorry that you were unhappy with our new Serta mattresses, we have received a lot of nice compliments since we have installed them. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that our rooms are clean, comfortable and a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.1 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#5 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Property: Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing