We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a crock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a crock”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My team and I came to Benton harbor for Basketball Training Camp and we initially wanted to stay in Michigan City. And after dealing with rude front desk and management over room upgrades that we paid for....I will never stay or recommend anyone to stay at this location. It's standards don't meet the high rates they charge and the rooms aren't as nice as they show on the website.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBANational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear NBANational,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I sincerely apologize for the poor customer care that you received from our staff and for the dissatisfaction you had with our rooms. This is definitely not up to our standards and we deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you may have had.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    64
    37
    13
    13
See reviews for
88
48
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We requested a quiet room when we made our reservation, but were initially offered one near the elevator on the highway side of the building. The outer edges of the bathroom counter (about half of the total) had not been cleaned recently (perhaps never considering the amount of accumulated dust). The air conditioning was unreliable. The pillows were lumpy. Staff repeatedly used a noxious polish on the inside walls of the elevator which seemed to be completely unventilated. Cartons of milk in the breakfast area were spoiled. The breakfast room attendant was pleasant and helpful but appeared to be placed under unreasonable levels of stress by the manager.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relevart72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Relevart72,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your experience. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the room accommodations, amenities and staff service. We will address the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable and the everything seemed to be in order. The common areas had a musty smell but we visited a couple establishments while in the area and they all seemed to smell the same. Maybe the smell was just from the Lake? Overall the hotel served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sycamore83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sycamore83,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We are happy to read you found our staff commendable. However, we regret that your stay was negatively affected by the unusual smell of the common areas. We will address the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and we are grateful that you brought this matter into our attention. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel, as my first choice in St. Joseph was sold out. The room, was ready for an early check in and the staff was friendly. The hotel was full with a group in for a Wedding. The group was loud and unruly knocking on doors from 11:30pm-2:00am. I didn't call the front desk, because I knew they would only quiet down for a moment, and possibly be even more obnoxious afterwards.

The bathroom smelled as if it had been mopped by a musty mop.

The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae46219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor. I am pleased to see that the pride we seek in delivering and exceeding our guest expectations in customer service was evident during your stay. However, I am not pleased to hear your stay did not meet your expectations due to unruly guests. Our goal at the Holiday Inn Express is to provide a comfortable, safe, and relaxing environment to all of our guests. I can assure you that had we received a call from you at the front desk regarding such disturbances, we could and would have quickly enforced our strict "No Party" policy and diffused all current and potential disturbances. In addition, our housekeeping staff has been informed of your observed mop issues and will adjust cleaning products accordingly.

Warm Regards,
Joyce Santure
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and the breakfast was pretty good. The biggest problem we had with this hotel is that we could hear the people next to us quite well. We also heard the people above us just walking around. For a newer looking place I would have expected different. The bathrooms are also really small. You won't fit two people into them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear lewis851,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is unfortunate that you were inconvenienced with the noise levels experienced and bathroom facility's condition. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My friend and I needed a place to stay overnight on our way back from a long trip. Tried two other places in Benton Harbor, one was really not good at all and the other was booked. We were really glad to stay here.

The room was a handicapped room, but no problem. It was clean, quiet, and the breakfast was good (I don't normally eat the Standard American Diet foods (SAD), but don't have much choice in hotels). The manager, Joyce, was on duty and totally set us up with our room, letting us view it before paying for it. She also stopped by during breakfast to see how we were doing. She was great.

The beds probably could be updated...my friends bedsprings squeaked a bit, and my bed sagged in to the middle, but they must not have been that bad because we slept super well, better than anywhere else on our week long trip.

All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor. We appreciate each and every comment made regarding your stay.

I am pleased to see that the staff was accommodating to your needs. I would however like to take this opportunity to apologize for the condition of the bed. We have since corrected the situation and any future stay with us should be even more enjoyable.

Again, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor.

Warm Regards,
Joyce Santure
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Although, I called on July 4th to see if they had a room, and they did. $149, plus pet charge made this a little expensive for what we got. The customer service person on the phone was nice enough, but failed to "find" my Priority Club member number or apply my stay to my rewards. Nor did the front desk gentleman upon arrival, though he gave us a number of good meal location choices along with directions. Didn't seem to care about the Priority Club. Room nicely appointed but small (double) beds. Side exit was a little inconvenient - no re-entry that way to get my pet in and out unobtrusively - we had to go through front door again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot23scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear dot23scott,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am disappointed to hear that the service you received was less than satisfactory. I am truly for the dissatisfaction you had during check in and regret that we failed to deliver the highest level of customer care that you deserve. Regarding our room rates, we make sure that we remain competitive with other hotels in the area and I am truly sorry if you found our rates to be expensive.

As a club member, your support and patronage to our hotel are very important. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used for future updates. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will give our hotel another try and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing