We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family stayed here for three nights. This is our second stay at this Holiday Inn and we have had two wonderful experiences. Last year we also stayed at the Holiday Inn in Holland, MI and I have to say, that Holiday Inn was newer and more updated, but we decided that we would never go back there due to terrible service.

Both times the minute we walked in to HIE Benton Harbor, we were greeted and checked in with no complications. (My brother in law is a hard working government employee and gets a discount and we have had problems with that at other locations.) The young lady at the front desk offered to bake cookies fresh for us, told us the times for breakfast, and told us about free dinner being served Monday and Tuesday.

The breakfast was great every morning and included options of oatmeal, mini pancakes, cold cereal, boiled eggs, yogurt, Greek yogurt, milk (skim and chocolate as well as 2%), cinnamon rolls (YUMMY), scrambled eggs with cheese and scallions, bagels, toast and muffins. Also offered on alternating days: sausage, turkey sausage, or bacon, biscuits and gravy, home fries, French toast sticks.

Monday evening the hotel offered a dinner of Mediterranean items which was wonderful. It was from La Pita, I believe, and included: hummus and pita bread, marinated chicken breast, rice, a dish with chicken with onions and peppers, steak (also could have been lamb), and two different sauces. There were also drinks available. Tuesday evening was Chinese food from Super Buffet and included: crab Rangoon, chicken on a stick, chicken wings, fried rice, lo mein noodles, chicken with broccoli, orange chicken, seafood with broccoli, steak stir-fry, and sugar donuts. I have to say this was something really great for this hotel and we really enjoyed the food. Not only was it free, it was delicious.

The only thing that held us back from giving this 5 stars was the noise from the floor above us. It sounded like people were running constantly!

The staff here truly understands the value of hospitality from the front desk staff, maintenance staff, housekeeping, and management. Every staff member was quick to say hello and ask how our day was!

Thank you Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, MI

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for the time to write your review, I am so pleased to hear that the staff has exceeded your expectations in everyway. We love to make all our guests feel special. I agree the food is a wonderful addition and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
RZichterman,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I was very happy we stayed in this hotel! We stayed two nights while visiting the Silver Beach area for a family vacation. The hotel is a convenient drive to Lake Michigan. We arrived to Michigan a little earlier than I expected, and I was very happy when I called for early check-in and our room was ready. The front desk clerk even remembered who I was. The room was very clean, and the bed and pillows were great!! The pool and hot tub are also nice. Breakfast each morning was very good as well. The kids loved the mini-pancakes, and there is a good variety of options, including healthy options. I was very impressed with the staff at this hotel. They were very friendly and always said hello as you went by. They were never too busy to look up at you to see if they could help. We would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RfromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear RfromIN,
Happy to hear the stay was enjoyable, our staff tries to make every guest feel special. I remember a conversation with you about your home in Indiana. I hope we will see you again soon.
RZichterman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent several days here while my daughter attended a nearby soccer camp. Upon arrival, we found out the manager was hosting a reception. Expecting just a few appetizers, we were delighted to find a Mexican buffet. My 6 year was thrilled we didn't have to spend time in a restaurant! The staff was very helpful, and the facility was VERY clean. Location is not quaint, but it is a short drive to St. Joseph. We were impressed as we do not usually choose this chain. I would definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmlmarusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Imimarusic,
Thank you so much for the kind review, so glad we exceeded your expectations and that your 6 year old had a good time. I am sure you will continue to stay at Holiday Inn Express now when you travel. See you soon.
RZichterman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The room that we had booked was a King bed and sleeper sofa with kitchenette. The room was very spacious and clean. Our stay was two nights long and in those two nights there was not a single thing that made our trip uncomfortable or unpleasant. The hotel is located right down the street from a walmart and meijer, making it easy to go on a run for the essentials that may have been forgotten. The staff is very kind and helpful when you may have any questions or requests. The beds are comfortable (like really comfortable) and clean, so if rest is what you're after you can get it here no problem. The complimentary breakfast has a good selection and has something for everyone, even the kids. Be sure to check out the pancake printer for the little ones. I would stay here again and recommend this Holiday Inn for a weekend trip to any of my friends or family. All in all the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor is a very adequate facility, and has all the things needed to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitchie_D_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mitchie_D,
It is nice to hear that the new mattresses are a hit, most guests comment on the pillows, glad you enjoyed the mini-pancakes too!
Hope to see you soon,
RZichterman,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels before so I have some idea of what to expect. This one is average: the rooms are very standard and predictable. There is a coffeemaker and coffee, also an empty refrigerator. The bathroom seemed cramped but the toiletry provision was adequate. When we awoke after our first (and only) night there, the one elevator was broken so everyone had to take the stairs. We are fine with that but I thought it would have been an issue for those less able-bodied. The breakfast buffet was very nice: they have everything from basic cereal, to make it yourself pancakes, to juices and cinnamon buns. The front desk personnel were nice and the room was clean. It's fine for a quick trip but I would hesitate to recommend for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KatienBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, yes the elevator did have an issue that weekend, which is why we called the service company that night prior to have it fixed. Holiday weekends can be an issue but the elevator was fixed soon after you departed, approx 10a
RZichterman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We tend to stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels when we travel, because we have always had good experiences there. This hotel was no exception. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean and large. A little side note - Our young granddaughter LOVED the mini-pancakes available at breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Yes the children and adults love the bite size pancakes. We will look forward to seeing you again soon when you are in the area.
RZichterman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Outstanding customer service. We were traveling with my in laws and I had called the hotel a few days before had to request that we were put on different floors. And when we checked in the girls did as I requested nothing was said it was just done. The room was very clean and inviting. The pool was very refreshing and we had it all to ourselves. It was nice to just relax. The breakfast was very good. It was very fresh and very hot. I would definitely recommend this to my family and friends. We will definitely be coming back to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you Jessica, I am very proud of the Staff and I will be sure to share this with everyone. So happy that you enjoyed all of the amenities of the Hotel, from the pool to the Breakfast. I will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.2 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#6 of 11 in Benton Harbor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range: £66 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing