We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel...1:00 Checkout Refusal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average Hotel...1:00 Checkout Refusal”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in 7 hotels on this trip, including 3 Holiday Inn Express locations, and this was our least favorite of them all. The room was the most cramped, although to be fair, it was the only time we had to settle for two beds instead of a king. The breakfast area was also very cramped. You had to constantly say excuse me and squeeze past seated people, even while just trying to move along the food counter.

Noise was another issue. Walking on the floor in the room made it creak. Sound traveled way too well through the whole building as well. From the 2nd floor hallway, it sounded like there was a party going on in the breakfast room. It turned out just to be normal people eating and talking.

We had to be somewhere in the morning and had hoped to come back and change our clothes before loading up the car and checking out. We had requested a late check-out one other time earlier in our trip, and that Holiday Inn Express (which also had a standard time of 11:00) had offered 1:00pm. Given that pleasing experienced, we hoped this one would as well. We knew to wait until the morning, so called down around 6am since it seems to depend on how many they already have allowed. We were told to wait until 7am and ask again (I presume for a change of staff). We called down right at 7am, but were denied the 1:00 request. We were told 11:30 or 12:00 was the latest they could go, since their rooms were full and they had to be ready for the next night's guests at 3:00pm. That didn't help us, so we checked out right after breakfast. They are not obligated to give us the later time (although extended check-out when available is listed as part of the IHG rewards club, so you'd think they would be more likely to accommodate), it was definitely a negative comparison to our experience at the other location. Also, the explanation given made no sense. If they were full and had so many rooms to turn over, the housekeepers clearly had plenty to do without standing around and waiting for us to check out. Why couldn't our room just be one of the ones prepared between 1:00 and 3:00?

The location is convenient to the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Civil23,
Thank your for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Benton Harbor. I am sorry we did not accomadate your request for a later check out on your departure date. I have reviewed this with the staff, so we can move toward assisting all our guests requests. I hope you will visit us again on your next trip.
RZichterman,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    66
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
89
49
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean. Staff nice. Hot tub jets loud and shot water up so that it it's ur face. Pool area had strong chlorine smell. You see two fish tanks when you first enter but one fish is alone. Staff said it's buddy passed away. Not relaxing to watch the lonely fish.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Woofergal,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in Benton Harbor. We have found another friend for the the fish and they are doing well. Hope you can come visit them and see for yourself.
RZichterman,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is our 2nd year in a row to stay at this location. We have stayed at several other HIE locations, and this surpasses them all. They have a definite 5 stars for hospitality. The front desk employees were always very helpful and very pleasant. We arrived on a Sunday evening, they don't normally have cookies on Sunday but offered to make them for us. The young lady at the front desk told us the time of breakfast, told us how late the pool was open, and informed us of the dinner they have catered in on Mon-Wed (we only stayed through Wed during day, so didn't get to experience Wed dinner). The rooms were also very clean and roomy enough for the 4 of us and included a microwave and small refrigerator. Breakfast at this location was always fresh, yummy and refilled often. The breakfast had just about everything you could want. Mini pancakes, cereal, oatmeal-a variety of different kinds along with toppings if you chose the plain, boiled eggs, milk (skim, 2%, and chocolate), yogurt-including greek, eggs topped with cheese and scallions, potatoes, meat options were either sausage (they had turkey and regular) or bacon, biscuits and gravy or french toast sticks , cinnamon rolls (which are SO good), muffins, bagels, bread, english muffins, juices and probably more I'm forgetting. Coffee (both decaf and regular) available in the coffee all day and night with a variety of creamers-regular and flavored. Different tea options as well. We honestly were not sure what to think about the dinners, our expectations were not high. We have been to hotels before that served "dinner" and were not impressed. Benton Harbor HIE by far exceeded our expectations. Monday night was Mediterranean food catered in from a local restaurant. There was pita bread and hummus, and I think 4 different main dishes, 2 with chicken, one with steak and I think the other might have been lamb. Regardless, it was all DELICIOUS and my kids even ate it! They are very picky eaters but loved the meat out of the food! Tuesday was chinese food, and was even better than the night before, which I didn't think was possible. There was crab rangoon, rice and lo mein noodles, chicken on a stick (SO good, my kids went crazy over these), sweet and spicy chicken wings, chicken and broccoli, orange chicken, seafood w/broccoli, steak stir fry, fortune cookies and sugar donuts. They also had soda, wine and beer to drink. This was all included in your stay. This was a huge plus for us,and definitely will bring us back again. The pool area was very clean and always had plenty of towels. The only 2 downsides to our trip (which was nothing in the grand scheme of things) was the fitness room needs some updates-there are no weights-only an elliptical, treadmill and bike and it was very noisy above us. Sounded like there were people running or jumping above us at late and early hours. Other than that, everything else was by far 5 star quality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fancy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Fancy 76,
Thank you so much for the detailed review, I am very proud of our staff and the efforts they make to give our guests that home touch. Glad you enjoyed the meals, we think it is a special added value. The fitness center now has a new eliptical and a weight station, came in 3 days ago. We will look forward to visit number 3 and hope it will be soon.
RZichterman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My family stayed here for three nights. This is our second stay at this Holiday Inn and we have had two wonderful experiences. Last year we also stayed at the Holiday Inn in Holland, MI and I have to say, that Holiday Inn was newer and more updated, but we decided that we would never go back there due to terrible service.

Both times the minute we walked in to HIE Benton Harbor, we were greeted and checked in with no complications. (My brother in law is a hard working government employee and gets a discount and we have had problems with that at other locations.) The young lady at the front desk offered to bake cookies fresh for us, told us the times for breakfast, and told us about free dinner being served Monday and Tuesday.

The breakfast was great every morning and included options of oatmeal, mini pancakes, cold cereal, boiled eggs, yogurt, Greek yogurt, milk (skim and chocolate as well as 2%), cinnamon rolls (YUMMY), scrambled eggs with cheese and scallions, bagels, toast and muffins. Also offered on alternating days: sausage, turkey sausage, or bacon, biscuits and gravy, home fries, French toast sticks.

Monday evening the hotel offered a dinner of Mediterranean items which was wonderful. It was from La Pita, I believe, and included: hummus and pita bread, marinated chicken breast, rice, a dish with chicken with onions and peppers, steak (also could have been lamb), and two different sauces. There were also drinks available. Tuesday evening was Chinese food from Super Buffet and included: crab Rangoon, chicken on a stick, chicken wings, fried rice, lo mein noodles, chicken with broccoli, orange chicken, seafood with broccoli, steak stir-fry, and sugar donuts. I have to say this was something really great for this hotel and we really enjoyed the food. Not only was it free, it was delicious.

The only thing that held us back from giving this 5 stars was the noise from the floor above us. It sounded like people were running constantly!

The staff here truly understands the value of hospitality from the front desk staff, maintenance staff, housekeeping, and management. Every staff member was quick to say hello and ask how our day was!

Thank you Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, MI

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for the time to write your review, I am so pleased to hear that the staff has exceeded your expectations in everyway. We love to make all our guests feel special. I agree the food is a wonderful addition and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
RZichterman,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I was very happy we stayed in this hotel! We stayed two nights while visiting the Silver Beach area for a family vacation. The hotel is a convenient drive to Lake Michigan. We arrived to Michigan a little earlier than I expected, and I was very happy when I called for early check-in and our room was ready. The front desk clerk even remembered who I was. The room was very clean, and the bed and pillows were great!! The pool and hot tub are also nice. Breakfast each morning was very good as well. The kids loved the mini-pancakes, and there is a good variety of options, including healthy options. I was very impressed with the staff at this hotel. They were very friendly and always said hello as you went by. They were never too busy to look up at you to see if they could help. We would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RfromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear RfromIN,
Happy to hear the stay was enjoyable, our staff tries to make every guest feel special. I remember a conversation with you about your home in Indiana. I hope we will see you again soon.
RZichterman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent several days here while my daughter attended a nearby soccer camp. Upon arrival, we found out the manager was hosting a reception. Expecting just a few appetizers, we were delighted to find a Mexican buffet. My 6 year was thrilled we didn't have to spend time in a restaurant! The staff was very helpful, and the facility was VERY clean. Location is not quaint, but it is a short drive to St. Joseph. We were impressed as we do not usually choose this chain. I would definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lmlmarusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Imimarusic,
Thank you so much for the kind review, so glad we exceeded your expectations and that your 6 year old had a good time. I am sure you will continue to stay at Holiday Inn Express now when you travel. See you soon.
RZichterman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The room that we had booked was a King bed and sleeper sofa with kitchenette. The room was very spacious and clean. Our stay was two nights long and in those two nights there was not a single thing that made our trip uncomfortable or unpleasant. The hotel is located right down the street from a walmart and meijer, making it easy to go on a run for the essentials that may have been forgotten. The staff is very kind and helpful when you may have any questions or requests. The beds are comfortable (like really comfortable) and clean, so if rest is what you're after you can get it here no problem. The complimentary breakfast has a good selection and has something for everyone, even the kids. Be sure to check out the pancake printer for the little ones. I would stay here again and recommend this Holiday Inn for a weekend trip to any of my friends or family. All in all the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor is a very adequate facility, and has all the things needed to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchie_D_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mitchie_D,
It is nice to hear that the new mattresses are a hit, most guests comment on the pillows, glad you enjoyed the mini-pancakes too!
Hope to see you soon,
RZichterman,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.2 mi away
Best Western Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
0.4 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing