We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadhouse Mexican Bar & Grill

Roadhouse Mexican Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Benzonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were very disappointed with our visit to Roadhouse Mexican Bar & Grill. The seating is cramped; the food extremely spicy; the service poor. We won't be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

On our latest trip, we went to Roadhouse twice, and had the shrimp fajitas both times, and ordered the grilled fresh jalapenos to go with the fajitas. I can't wait to try grilled jalapenos at home!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
174 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly service - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Busy, busy place but the experienced waitresses had it under control. One of the bartenders, a guy, was sort of disinterested in service but our waitress was great. We split fajitas and were quite happy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJo-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Becoming a vacation tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My family has visited the Roadhouse three years running on vacation in northern Michigan, and the place is always packed.

The food is standard Americanized Mexican fare - enchiladas, tacos, burritos, and fajitas, nothing too spicy (although the chile rellano has a kick). I wish they'd switch from flimsy flour tortilla chips to corn tortilla chips; that would be a better complement to the salsa. The waitstaff is friendly, and the margaritas are plenty.

All in all, this is not fine dining, but it's solid fare. We'll be here again next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“always a good bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Standard Mexican food, done well. Wait staff is efficient and friendly. Nice place to go with friends ... not open for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dancing d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roadhouse Mexican Bar & Grill also viewed

Beulah, Benzie County
Thompsonville, Benzie County
 
Thompsonville, Benzie County
 

Been to Roadhouse Mexican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing