We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunder Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunder Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Bay B&B and Inns
Traverse City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“return home”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

my wife , me, son, daughter in law, and grand kids, returned to big bay to see what the old place looked like, both of my kids were born there. we had lunch at the thunder bay inn and i can say that, this visit was well worth the trip. the food was out of this world and the service was perfect.
i would recommend anyone that loves good food to visit this pleasant place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to get-a-way to for the weekend. A fire in the fireplace, a movie to watch after a great meal in the restaurant. Wayne and Gretchen are wonderful hosts. Thanks for such a relaxing evening.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Every time I come to Big Bay I eat here. First I always order is a bowl of chili that is perfect. Always was served in timely matter, food was well coked and hot. Decent restaurant. Never had a chance to stay in but the time will come. As far as the restaurant - the food is good, bathroom might need some upgrades and fixes. When you enter mans bathroom there is big sticker above light switch - "do not touch the light switch"- It just asks to be touched.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Thunder Bay Inn! We stayed for three nights while visiting family in the area. The rates are unbeatable! Our room was just so comfortable! It was very quiet...never heard a thing! We loved the lounge area, with a fireplace and a piano. Even a tv if you want to watch movies. The restaurant was fantastic! We brought our whole family for lunch. We pretty much all ate different things, and every one of us loved the food we had. The prices were fantastic, too! The owners are so very nice and made us feel right at home! I would stay here any day over a hotel chain! We plan on going back this summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Inn on black Friday ....enjoyed the cozy bar with the fireplace roaring, oh and bring an armload of wood on the way in. Had the cudighi burger and beer battered fish which we enjoyed. these entrees were served with fries which were very good. The room was sparse but but very quiet and the company was great with wonderful owners. Beats the chain hotels any day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The lodging was comfortable, but decorated in a spartan way. Not alot of furnature or frills. But when only a comfortable bed, clean surroundings are required, it more than fit the bill. The pub portion of the inn was decorated in north-woods style, with knotty pine wall panels, fish mounts, and photos. The food was excellent. I ordered the soup of the day as an appetizer and it was both hot and delicious. The main course was delicious too. Service was pretty good for most of the meal. Well worth the drive from Munising.

Room Tip: Not much to add. Thunder Bay is very quiet so all rooms likewise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Having called ahead to find out what the "soup of the day" was, and having traveled 85 miles to this restaraunt, we were disappointed to find they did not have the soup. Still, we stayed and ordered fish fry dinner. The waitress was extremely slow, service was terrible and the food nothing to write home about. No one, including the owner, seemed to care how far we came to be so disappointed. We will not be going there again and I warn other people - even if you call ahead - don't believe what they tell you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bay
24.7 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
321 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
760 reviews
23.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
17 reviews
23.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
278 reviews
23.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Inn

Property: Thunder Bay Inn
Address: Besinger Road, Big Bay, MI 49808
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Big Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Hotel Big Bay
Thunder Bay Inn Big Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing