We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Staff ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very nice and well kept landscaping! Extra friendly staff - very welcoming! Rooms are very clean - they take great pride in their hotel. Breakfast is fantastic! The rate is reasonable and very close to college and shopping. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay. Pool and internet are also a big plus!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! I am aldo glad to see that our staff was more than welcoming and made your stay great! I will make sure i thank the staff for their hard and dedicated work. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My stay was very satisfying. The facility was clean, quite and pleasant to stay at. The people were friendly and very accommodating. Very easy access to and from the hotel with a wide variety of restaurants near by. Ferris State University is only 1 1/2 miles down the road and the there are many parks to walk or jog.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank wondervannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! I am also glad to see that our staff was able to accomodate anything your need! We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location was good, room was nice, bed was comfortable, staff was friendly, facilities were clean, breakfast was good, and it was an overall good value and experience. The Internet was SLOW was the only thing I would have changed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Marianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the amenities we offer. I would like to apologize for the issues that arose with the internet. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loved this hotel. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were large enough and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast room is large and the selection of breakfast items is more than adequate.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor room but have stayed on other floors also. There really isn't a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room size, the breakfast, and our helpful staff! We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, MI is a little off the highway making it quiet. The hotel is clean, relatively new and clean, has a nice guest laundry room, normal free breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_w_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the guest laundry facility that we offer and the free hot breakfast! We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very spacious and comfortable room. Office chair and desk were quite nice. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom nicely appointed with soaps and plenty of towels. Room appeared to be somewhat clean, I did find a few small crumbs on the floor but did not notice anything more than that. Mirror over whirlpool had a few smudges on it, but nothing too gross. Room had fridge and microwave, a nice touch. Fridge was a bit noisy at times.

Someone out there needs to invent A/C for hotel rooms that is quiet and effective. The AC was pretty loud when it turned on and blew right on the bed. Seems like this is a common thing at lower priced hotels. Air either is noisy or blows right on you while sleeping. So inventors out there, you have a market!

Breakfast was very good with plenty of selections. Room however is a bit small for the size of the hotel. They did have the famous waffles!

Staff were all very pleasant.

Hotel has pool and hot tub but did not use.

Overall a nice stay with the few minor annoyances such as loud air and fridge and a smallish breakfast area, this is a nice hotel. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor might smell a bit like the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EZF140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaina H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the guest room amenities and the selection of breakfast foods. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed over night for a basketball tournament at Ferris State. Great location. No street noise. Convenient off expressway. Also directly next to Meijer Store. Very friendly staff. We loved the pool and hot tub. Both were clean and maintained perfect temperature. We appreciated that they kept it open until midnight. This allowed us to enjoy their amenities. The hotel was quiet at night. Our suite was great for four people to allow more privacy and quietness/space. We loved coffee and cookies 24/7. Breakfast was very good. We were very satisfied with everything and would select this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Big Rapids
219 reviews
27.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#4 of 5 in Big Rapids
119 reviews
18.9 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#3 of 5 in Big Rapids
297 reviews
5.8 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids

Address: 15344 Waldron Way, Big Rapids, MI 49307-8723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing