We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at the Quality Inn a few times in the last year when we go and visit our child at Ferris State since the location is perfect. Everytime we have stayed it has been clean and the staff has always been very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great price, close to everything, very friendly staff, clean room, great FREE breakfast. Only few things that need a lil help/work ....the wallpaper was coming down in my room (not a big deal), elevator needed to be cleaned, shower head was WAY to low (I'm only 5'3") other than that a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_cmiller928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Things have really changed under the new owner (VJ). The changes aren't good. He treats his employees with no respect, yelling at them in front of guests. The beds must've been purchased used and the pillows keep getting flatter. Sad to say I won't be staying here again, I recommend you don't either.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very nice room and you can't beat the price. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were in Big Rapids for an open house at Ferris State where my daughter will attend in the fall, so we basically used the room to shower and sleep. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pros: Fridge & Micro Nicely updated rooms at a bargain price. Very friendly staff. good location. Super convenient to the FSU campus - walkable in good weather.

Cons: Common areas could use more care. Trash on the ground outside the door the entire three days we stayed. Poor shoveling of the sidewalks/entry areas other than at the main lobby.

The long review:

I've now stayed at all three hotels in Big Rapids. While the Country Inn is my first choice in terms of cleanliness, location and comfort; the Quality Inn is a very good value and was literally half the price of the Country Inn during this stay.

At check-in, the person working the front desk was very chipper and friendly. He gave very good directions to where my room was. For whatever reason, my reservation information did not immediately indicate to him that I was a Choice Privileges member and used that opportunity to invite me to sign up; when he saw later that I was a member, he apologized for not "welcoming me as a member." All hotels have their loyalty programs, but this is the first time I've checked in somewhere and had them give a crap if I was a member of their program or thank me for being one. I only ventured to the lobby two other times (bleary eyed for coffee - there is an in-room maker but I never use those because i just assume they're filthy) and each of those times, the staff were very nice and friendly - even though it was a busy weekend in Big Rapids (honors program testing and a hs hockey tournament) and the hotel was fully booked.

This property has older and newer buildings; we stayed in one of the newer buildings at the back that has interior room access. The older parts of the property are "motel" style with exterior hallways to the rooms. The entry door into the building is not secured; you don't need a key card or anything to gain access, but this is Big Rapids so I don't really think there are security concerns.

There was a bad odor in the hallway that I first thought was food/cooking odor but later thought it smelled like dead mouse. Our room, however, was clean and smelled fresh. The first time we were there, anyhow. The room has had a somewhat recent upgrade with granite sink area (separate from the toilet and sink), new shower enclosure and the bowed out curtain rod and a showerhead with multiple stream settings. The towels were soft and fresh, a nice change from scratchy hotel towels that tend to smell like bleach. We had a double room and there were eight fluffy pillows. One bed was quite uncomfortable - it was very springy - but the other was good. Room had a good sized TV. Each time I turned it on, the color was very washed out, but when I turned it off and back on, it was fine. There was a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room as well. We left for the night and when we returned after dinner, the bad odor from the hall was now in our room as well. I still am not sure if the smell was coming from a sink trap or a dead mouse or food or what. I didn't make a complain to management about it because I kind of figured, what could they do? It kind of hit you in the face when you walked in building and again when you walked in the room but you got used to it pretty quickly.

They have free continental breakfast but I didn't try it. I did have coffee and it was standard hotel grade coffee. The breakfast and coffee area was nicely furnished and clean. There isn't a "business center" type area at this hotel but there is a computer and printer in the lobby for guest use. The wireless internet in the rooms was free, signal strong and reliable.

Overall, it was a very good stay. I was a little leery of this place because it was so inexpensive but it was better than I thought I'd get for the very, very low cost of staying here. I will stay again if on a budget.

Room Tip: Get a room near the lobby if you plan to partake in the continental breakfast or lobby coffee. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky55110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel's age clearly shows from the outside and inside the hotel, particularly in the hallways. The front office is pretty nice, the rooms and bathrooms are decent. Some dirty areas here and there, musty smell and our shower's nob was partially missing. Looked as if chewing tobacco or something was in our sink.
When walking around, old abandoned vending machines were left around. Ice machine was empty, and a fridge right next to it contained a can of chew and a bottle of water and spit chew. Some sort of bug eggs were on the ceilings of the hallways.
Hotel wasn't really terrible, there's clearly been renovations but there haven't been nearly enough. It is located about a block away from the Ferris State University sports complex. Staff was pretty friendly, especially for how busy they were. I would debate staying there again if I returned for FSU games.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Ideal location easy get to the university . . Good parking space. Very good breakfast. Rooms are good size and very comfortable and no noise. Staff are friendly and helpful. The night shift is awesome..Over all Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Big Rapids, MI
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Big Rapids
Hampton Inn Big Rapids
#5 of 5 in Big Rapids
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
#4 of 5 in Big Rapids
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
47 reviews
18.7 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#3 of 5 in Big Rapids
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1705 S State St, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance to Ferris State University. Across the street from the Ewigleben Sports Complex! The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. The White Pine Trail is just a short bike ride away. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing