We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful People, nice accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
GreenLeadersBronze level
Big Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Wonderful People, nice accomodations”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I am on a long term work assignment and have stayed here at HI Big Rapids for over a month. What a wonderful place. The staff makes me feel at home and go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. From the time I walk through the front door until I go to the restaurant for dinner, I am met with smiling faces and courteous staff. My room is always well cared for, is up to date (recently remodeled), and the cleaning staff outstanding. The pool is well cared for and clean. I like the laundry room as I don't have to drive to do my laundry. I travel a lot around the country for the last 35 years and Holiday Inn Big Rapids is among my favorite. I look forward to the next few months I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Randy R,

Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us. We are excited to hear that our room renovations have been a success. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    40
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
38
9
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I am traveling through for work and I’m not one to write reviews but this place needs a great review!!
• The rooms are all newly remodeled up to date and CLEAN!!
• The pool is a big indoor pool with a hot tub also very CLEAN!!
• The restaurant/bar has a good selection of beer and food.
• The staff is very helpful.
Next time I travel trough Big Rapids I will be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear THD40,

Thank you very much for the great review. Our renovations are continuing, but it is wonderful to read that the improvements are being noticed. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Cloud, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

You walk in there's a nice large lobby to sit and relax when waiting for friends to meet you. The staff is very friendly and helpful when checking in. There's a large pool and hot tub right by the elevator . The rooms are nice size unless you get a corner room. The beds were very comfy and has a desk, chair, all new tvs,new bathrooms the king room has a couch., no stains on sheets. Back down stairs they have a bar restaurant very elegant chairs and good food and when you walk by the floor behind the bar look down and admire the marble my son poured it and spent over 24 hours working on it very high class!!! So next time you are in big rapids stay at the hotel after a hockey game or college football game!! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Greetings Wendy F,
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful experience, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there while attending an FSU hockey game on campus. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly, and the rooms fairly quiet--surprisingly so given the was a kid's hockey tournament also in town that had a bunch of 10 year-olds staying in the rooms surrounding us.

Initially our room was not ready (at 4pm) as the visiting college hockey had only just checked out. The front desk clerk immediately explained the situation to me, apologized, and offered me a discount on the room for the inconvenience. That was quite nice.

We also had a beer, post-game at the sports-themed restaurant on premises. Surprisingly they also a had a decent array of non-mega beers on tap, too.

Would definitely stay here during our next trip to see a game.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the elevator...that's where the vending and ice machines are located, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Greetings MongoSchwartz,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your understanding and patience with regards to your room not being available at the posted check in time. It is great to hear you had a chance to enjoy our Sporting News Grill during your visit and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have business in Big Rapids that takes me to town two or three times per year. I have always stayed here more so because I am a Holiday Inn priority club member than because it is the best place to stay. The property is definitely older and as such a bit dated. They are currently doing some work on the restaurant (changing from a Bennigans to something else) so can't report on what that will be like.

The pool is large and the hottub is hot. The guest service is always prompt, friendly, and professional. The prices are good for the area and I have never had a problem getting a room when I have needed one. I am sure that when Ferris State is starting up for the year the rooms are harder to come by as parents and others are in town helping students move in. The hotel shares the property with the Ferris State golf course (which is decent) so that is available if you are so moved to play 9 or 18. The normal guest rooms also contain a microwave and fridge which is quite nice if you are in town for multiple days. The hotel is convenient to town as well as Ferris State.

I would definitely recommend to others if they were ever in town in need of accommodations and will continue to stay here when coming to Big Rapids for business (can't believe I would ever come here for pleasure).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Greetings CPAExplorer,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Your comments have been shared with the staff. The property is starting renovations on the Guest Rooms and Conference Areas shortly which will include replacement of all furniture, fixtures, and wall coverings. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UP
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights while moving my daughter. The rooms are OK. They are renovating the hotel so maybe it will be better once they do this. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly, minus the person that brought us new pillows. The person just handed my son the pillows and scowled at him when he said thank you. The pool definitely needs some work. Overall OK for what we were there for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutchej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Greetings kutchej,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We at the Holiday Inn Big Rapids appreciate all feedback that our guests give us. It is unfortunate that one of our staff members was less than cordial and we will be sure to address this to all staff members so it does not happen in the future. We are excited to have our hotel renovations under way and encourage you to visit us again when the hotel renovations are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

So this is a review of Room 223, and Room 223 only. As an FYI, it is also all that I saw or used when I was at the Holiday Inn.

I come to Big Rapids after the first of three days of a 300 mile charity bike ride. I do this every year. In previous years I have stayed at the Country Inn across the street. It is an excellent property, btw.

Because several of my fellow riders stay at The Holiday Inn, I booked there this year. This was indeed a mistake. After receiving my room keys I found my room to be near the elevator and the ice machines. This is a MAJOR FLAW in the ICH system, as in both Marriott and Hilton I can tell them to always put me at the end of a hall - and never near an elevator or ice machine.

But the Holiday Inn had a GREAT solution to my fear of elevator and ice machine noise - far more noise. I opened the Room 223 door, to hear what sounded like a loud plane - landing in my room. I checked - the TV was not on. I checked, the AC/Heat unit on the floor was not on. I listened a little more, and found that the sound seemed to be coming from outside my window. It was an awful long time for a plane to be hovering - but I looked up anyway - nothing.

Then I saw it - right in front of my room window. While I have ZERO knowledge of HVAC, what I saw appeared to be the master AC unit for the building. Literally right there in front of my window. And roaring loudly. I turned on my room AC fan - to see if it would drown it out. Nope - not loud enough. I turned on my TV - nope, not loud enough.

So anyway, yes, I should have refused the room. But I got in late - and I desperately needed sleep. While I slept very poorly, at least I got a little sleep.

If the HI people are reading this, I have a few questions: 1. Why would you EVER put a loud unit like that right next to a room's window? That was a big roof out there. You could certainly have engineered it to be somewhere else. 2. Since in fact the unit is where it is, why wouldn't you entirely "wall off" the room if you must use it? That is, make the room windowless, but at least provide a sound barrier that would make it liveable for your overnight guests.

This is clearly an unacceptable room - no one should be placed in it - and no one should pay for it. But again, since I had to immediately jump on a shuttle bus in the AM, as it arrived when I hit the lobby, I was unable to express this to the hotel. If indeed renovation is going on in this hotel, then do something about Room 223.

Finally, if you stay elsewhere, I saw ZERO signs of renovation in my room or in the hallways. There are two kinds of Holiday Inns - the "Oh Wow" newer ones, and the older beat up ones that you almost feel you can't set your clothes on the floor. This one falls in the "older beat up" set.

Room Tip: Reject Room 223 if offered to you. Stay in the Country Inn and Suites as they are nearby and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Big Rapids, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
dukefan2331,
The staff and I would like to thank you for your recent stay. It is very unfortunate that it was less than satisfactory. I would like to take this opportunity to address a the items you directed to us directly. It is true that there is a unit outside of this room, unfortunately during construction of the hotel originally there was not forethought of placement for the pool and common area cooling units. In regards to walling off the room, this is not an option largely in part due to fire code regulation.
With that being said, there are a few rooms that share this issue and in order to better keep our guests informed on room choices such as this; I will have a special room type created to separate these rooms from our general inventory.
I would like to let you know that we are beginning a full hotel renovation including guest rooms, common areas, restaurant, and conference center. This task will be completed before next years Make a Wish event and I invite you to consider our hotel again so that you can experience our modern updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Rapids hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Rapids
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Rapids
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Big Rapids
210 reviews
18.5 mi away
Osceola Grand Hotel
Osceola Grand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evart
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Red Moose Lodge
Red Moose Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baldwin
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Big Rapids
Super 8 Big Rapids
#4 of 5 in Big Rapids
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Two Hats Ranch
Two Hats Ranch
#1 of 1 in Big Rapids
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Big Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Big Rapids

Property: Holiday Inn Big Rapids
Address: 1005 Perry Ave, Big Rapids, MI 49307-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Big Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Big Rapids is the Big Rapids hotel of choice and is located near the campus of Ferris State University. Our four story, full service hotel offers 118 guest rooms and suites. Enjoy our relaxing indoor pool and whirlpool. Our hotel and conference center features free high-speed wireless Internet. Additionally, the Holiday Inn features 18,000 square feet of meeting space with ballroom seating for 500 for sit down meal functions. 52 Sports bar and kitchen, located on site, is available for room service. Come visit the best Big Rapids hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Big Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Big Rapids Hotel Big Rapids
Big Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing