We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Frankenmuth / good choice / very comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very close to Frankenmuth / good choice / very comfortable beds”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is very convenient to I-75 and 10-15 mins to Frankenmuth. We stayed one night and got a $142 AAA rate for a king jacuzzi room which also had a refrig. and microwave.. The girls were very friendly and welcoming at check-in and the room was clean and tidy. The hotel appears to be newer and is well maintained. Our only disappointments were the noisy brats running up and down the halls (more of a lack of parenting than the Hotel) and the carpet in the room could use a cleaning. Overall- I'd stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tstacy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear tstacy218,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as this helps us continue to grow and improve. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was great and are sorry to hear about the noise complaint. Our hotel staff will try to alleviate these types of situations by monitoring the hallways and addressing the situation as soon as a problem arises.

Thank you for the positive and constructive feedback as this will help us improve for guests (such as yourself) in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    93
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
88
76
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The gentleman that greeted my upon arrival was very freindly.

We stayed on the second floor in the middle of the hotel right by the Ice Machine and Elevator. The room was nice, clean, and big enough. Beds were comfortable but a bit firm. It was nice having a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Everything in the room was average and we had no complaints about the actual room or service.

The only complaint that I do have is the location of the room. Being right by the ice machine was annoying and I should of went back down to request a different room. The second floor middle ice machine has to be the noisiest ice machine I've ever encountered. When dispensing Ice it made a large thug like someone is smacking it with a hammer. I used the Ice Machine on the first floor which seemed to be newer and did not make this thud. Stay away from this area of the hotel if you can help it, at least until they get a new machine. We didn't hear the ice hitting the bucket when other people used it, just the loud thud sound. We stayed in room 213.

The location of the hotel is nice, only 10mins from Frankenmuth (purpose of our stay) and opposite the highway from the Birch Run outlets.

We did not have the breakfast as we were in a hurry to get to Zhenders in Frankenmuth at opening time. So I can not comment on the breakfast.

Check In/Out was a very easy and smooth process.

Overall a clean nice room, Just terribly noisy ice machine made location of the room bad. Location of the hotel in general is great!

Room Tip: Stay way from the center of Floor 2 near the elevator and Ice Machine. At least until they replace t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleTraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear SimpleTraveler82,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, I apologize for the inconvenience of the loud ice machine. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us (without any complications or irritants). Since your stay, we have monitored and adjusted the ice machine located on the second floor. Im happy to hear that all other aspects of your visit meet your expectations. We thank you for the feedback and need such feedback to contniue growth and improvement. We would love to have you back and hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for the constructive feedback as this will help us improve all realms of the hotel operations.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel while celebrating our 27th anniversary. We wanted something not too far from home but still "away". The staff was very helpful. The hotel is well maintained and easy to get to. The rooms were clean and a microwave and refrigerator were provided. They have a nice breakfast area with plenty of room. It is very close to the Outlet Mall and also close to Frankenmuth. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melhoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear melhoutz,

Happy Anniversary to you and your significant other! We are so happy that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We hope that we provided you with a special experience where we will see you again!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were planning a trip to Frankenmuth only to find the entire town was booked so we ended up staying at Holiday Inn Express, Birch Run! I'm so glad that we did! The hotel is clean and well appointed. The free wi fi worked very well. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were even able to enjoy the free breakfast which was very good. We had not planned on shopping the Outlet mall but because we were there, we decided to visit. It was so great with lots of bargains. We didn't have time to visit all the shops, but we did get to many. This hotel is a perfect location if you want to do both the outlet stores and Frankenmuth! There is even a 24 hour grocery store just across the road for even more convenience! Great location for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We had terrible pillows but that is the ONLY negative thing about this hotel. Bring yourself a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear RitaJohnston,

Thank you for coming to visit us at our hotel during your vacation to experience Frankenmuth. We are glad to hear you had great experiences with our breakfast selection, free wi-fi internet access and other amenities we have to offier. It would be very wonderful to have you as our guest again the future, as we will continue to provide a satisfying stay!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here overnight. Great hotel hot breakfast was good and the pool was nice. Had a great night sleep in the queen size bed, and the room was very clean. Would stay here again. And a short drive to Frankenmuth where we planned to have one of their great chicken dinners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherbelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear HeatherBelleT,

It is so great that you were able to enjoy the attractions of Birch Run as well as Frankenmuth. We are pleased you were happy with your room accomodations as well as the location of our hotel! Our staff takes pride in providing guests with a great experience. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Based on the good reviews of this hotel my wife and I decided to book a room for our trip to Frankenmuth. Overall our experience was very mediocre. A few good points, but a few that really made the experience less than what we expected.

Starting with the good. The front desk staff was very friendly and the appearance of the hotel was very clean and inviting. There was a decent sized area where the breakfast is available and from what we saw the pool/hot tub area was clean although we did not make use of those facilities. The hallways were all very clean. The breakfast was pretty good. The last Holiday Inn Express we stayed at in Pennsylvania had a much better selection and quality, but what we had here in Birch Run certainly wasn't anything to turn away from.

The downside. Upon entering our room there was a stale cigarette smell through the room that was very off putting. This room was listed as a non-smoking room and with neither of us being smokers this was really a major disappointment. I went to the front desk to inform them of the smell and the two workers started discussing how that was the room where a similar complaint was made a few days earlier. First, thanks for the heads up on that when you knew about it and second, why would you make such a statement in front of the current customer. You basically just told me you haven't bothered trying to remedy the situation and made me feel like they didn't care, but were putting on a front when acting half way concerned.

The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows were by far the worst we've ever had at a Holiday Inn. Not to mention we found a few long black hairs in the bed which kind of turned our stomachs. My wife and I both woke up extremely sore after a not so restful night. On top of the discomfort the bed had some sort of plastic sounding material under the sheets which made the bed feel more like sleeping on a tarp than sheets. Not to mention every time either of use moved it sounded like rustling plastic.

Upsides to the room was the layout was very open, the bathroom was very clean and had a large sink counter top and had excellent water pressure in the shower, something many hotels are missing. The room also came equipped with a Jacuzzi tub that was excellent. The water had a good range from cold to extremely hot and the control for the jets allowed for setting the pressure where ever you wanted. There was plenty of lighting, closet/hanger space, a decent amount of table space, a mini refrigerator and a microwave, and also had a decent number of channels on the TV with a few movie channels included.

Overall our stay was just OK. Having great experiences in Holiday Inn Expresses in the past we were certainly disappointed a some of the things I mentioned above. We were probably just unlucky with the pick of the room, but I definitely feel like we overpaid for the experience here. I doubt we would be willing to take our chances staying here again should we find ourselves in the area in the future. I think we'll be spending a little more to try and find a place that spends a little more time resolving known issues before letting other guests stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tontoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear tontoj,

We are very sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms including air quality for the comfort of our guests. Michigan hotels are non-smoking by law and we do make guests aware of the non-smoking policy, as well as any fine that may be incurred. We expect all guests are compliant of our policies to help make not only their stay enjoyable, but other guests stays enjoyable as well. Again we deeply apologize for your miscomfort of bedding, as our mattress covers are of IHG brand standards. We would love to have you as a guest again with better results, as you are a frequent guest of the Holiday Inn brand. If there is anything we may do for you in the future, please express your concerns to a manager on duty.

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were planning to be in nearby Frankenmuth, MI for the high school football game on Thursday Aug. 29th and wanted to stay nearby, as we planned to do some shopping at the outlet mall on Friday. After reading the reviews written by previous guests at this Holiday Inn Express, and at some of the other hotels in the area, I chose Holiday Inn Express. As with any reviews, some will be favorable, and some not so much. One must always consider that people have different tastes and different expectations when they choose hotels, places to dine, etc. When I stay at a hotel, the absolute most important thing for me is cleanliness, followed closely by safety/security. We checked in late in the evening, the young man at the desk was very efficient and friendly. When we got to our room we were very, very, very happy to find that it was absolutely spotless! The beds were made up very neatly and everything was in it's place. The sink/vanity area in the room was very clean and there was also a coffee pot with a nice selection of teas and coffee on that counter... instead of being in the bathroom, as is the case in most hotels! Upon entering the bathroom I was thrilled to find that it was immaculately clean! The sink, tub, faucet, toilet (including the seat) & mirror were all very clean and shiny! The floors were just as clean.... there was not even so much as a stray hair on the floor! The towels were nice and clean and smelled nice and fresh! The room had curtains that opened & closed properly to allow for as much or as little light or privacy as we wanted. It was very handy to have a microwave and refrigerator in the room for our use. The breakfast was very nice, and had a great variety of food, from pastries to cereal, pancakes, biscuits & gravy, eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, and a nice selection of juices, coffee, etc. The food was nice and fresh! When we left our room to check out, we visited briefly with one of the housekeepers who was cleaning a nearby room, as we wanted to tell her how much we appreciate our room being so very clean. She was just as nice and professional as she could be!! Upon my approaching the desk to check out, the young lady behind the counter was just finishing checking in 2 "senior" ladies. I could tell by the questions that they asked her, that they had read the same reviews that I had.. i.e. the first floor being noisy, and the rooms by the elevators being noisy, etc. I was happy to be able to tell them that I had been a bit concerned about some of the thing that I had read, but that our experience was a great one, and that none of the concerns that I had read about were any problem for us at all.... and that I was sure that their stay would be as nice as ours was. We will be in the area again during this high school football season, and we will definately be staying here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Nancy C,

Your feedback was one of the most enjoyable to read! Being able to recognize the differences in guest tastes and preferences is something all customer service industries struggle with. However, we strive to create enjoyable experiences for guests as well as provide them with quality products and services. It is our great pleasure to hear you had such a wonderful time and will be returning to stay with us again!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy, Birch Run, MI 48415-9309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing