We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to previous Holiday Inn Express stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence
Newington, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to previous Holiday Inn Express stays”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My husband and I have chosen to stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels since we stayed in one in Mackinaw City, MI in 2006. We also stayed in the one in Middleton, RI in 2006. We have been very happy with Holiday Inn Express until we visited the one in Birch Run, MI. We stayed at the Birch Run facility in July 2009 overnight - on that occasion we checked in with an AARP discount, which when we checked out, I noticed we hadn't been given credit for the discount. When I brought it to the clerk's attention, he was rude and said, you're going to worry about $5.00? In the end, he gave us money out of petty cash, $5.00, because he couldn't figure out how to reverse the charge and re-enter correctly. I think that the difference was more than $5.00, but we moved on. I couldn't be bothered with his attitude. Most recently, we were in Michigan due to a death in my family and we decided to give the Holiday Inn Express another try because the location was near where we needed to be. The room in which we stayed, had a shower that made a high pitched noise when turned on, which sometimes ceased after a few minutes, sometimes not, the drain in the sink outside the bathroom did not drain, and the toilet got plugged up, not from anything as far as I can tell that we did. All of these things were not a big issue until added together with the fact that the hotel inactivated our room card keys sometime during the night prior to the morning of our scheduled checkout. I went down to the lobby at 3:30 am to get a plunger for the toilet, when I got back to my room on the third floor I was unable to re-enter the room because the card would not work. I didn't want to wake my husband, so I went back down to the lobby, the card was reactivated and worked. At 6 am, my husband went down to the lobby and got two coffees and brought them back up to the room. He could not get into the room because his room key card would not work. Since I was still sleeping, he had to go back to the lobby and have his card reactivated. We went down and ate breakfast around 7 am (by the way, the eggs were icky, undercooked each day) and then I went back up to the room to finish packing while my husband was getting a luggage rack, and once again, I COULD NOT get into my room! Finally, I was annoyed enough to let the hotel staff know I was annoyed. I asked if this is the hotel's policy and was told it is not. If check out time is 11:00 am, then I expect that I can get in and out of the room I paid for, until 11:00 am. We could only get decent internet service using our laptop, in the lobby - it wouldn't work well in the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmebdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    93
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
88
76
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia MI
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We went here for a quick getaway. I paid $180 for a Jacuzzi king suite. The first thing I noticed was a complete contrast of colors. From the sage green blanket, to the lime green chair with hunter green carpet and drapes; however, color is tolerable compared to the rest of the issues. There was a huge stain on the floor that appeared to be vomit smeared all over. There was a nasty overpowering smell of cleaning fluids that had the both of us instantly congested. While getting ready to head to dinner we noticed food smeared on the long mirror in the entryway. You could actually see particles - it looked like it may have been pizza. There were ants crawling on the drapes and on the bathroom floor. Every corner in the bathroom had spider webs. The bathroom doorframe was jimmied up with a few pennies and a piece of wood shim. The most disgusting part was the pubic hair in the tub. Funny enough, they didn't have a comment card in the room for us to voice our opinions. I did take pics to prove how gross it really was. I don't have pics of the ants because we immediately killed and disposed of them and the pubic hair had to be immediately discarded because it was completely gagging me. I do have pics of the puke, webs, dirty mirror and jimmied door. I almost forgot to mention the noise. From being able to hear conversations in the rooms next to and above to the conversations in the hall, nothing better than being woke up at 615A on a Saturday. Perhaps they should consider a little installation between the rooms/floors.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALGTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

When calling to book our stay, the employee did not understand or speak fluent English, making the process difficult. After spelling our street name three times, it was still wrong. However, the hotel itself was not bad. Bathroom was a tad dirty, hair and dust build up in corners. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was great. TV was old and had bad reception. Pool was clean but whirlpool looked dirty. Beds were comfortable. A/C was noisy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twocats1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

My wife and our 11 yr. old girls stayed here between family parties. it was a nice stay right at the Birch Run exit off of I-75. Their rate was very competitive with the other hotels in the area. The front desk service was very considerate. They let us check in early and had some good tips for Priority club specials.

The queen beds were really comfortable with plenty of pillows. The morning breakfast had some hot breakfast options and was larger than the normal free breakfast. Our little bacon eaters bemoaned the lack of bacon, but it was a really nice spread.

The hotel is a little worn. The elevators were slow and the hallway was a little warm. (Changing spring weather). The room temperature control was a little tricky to control. Our room did have a microwave and nice fridge. There was also plenty of room with a good desk and a good comfy chair.

We didn't get to the pool, but it was a good nice with a nice looking hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This hotel is terrible. Their customer service is dry and uncaring, and even worse if you actually present a problem with your stay. The rooms are very run down and old. And their rates compared to other hotels at the same exit on I75 are very unreasonable. The Hampton Inn behind it is much nicer, and usually cheaper, as well as the Country Inn & Suites on the other side by the Outlet Malls.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisse7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Didn't end up staying at this location, so can't rate it direclty. Did call the hotel directly to see about either canceling the reservation or moving it to another Holiday Inn property north of Birch Run (weather moving in). Desk clerk couldn't help since we made and got the "internet rate" and pre-paid; and the Holiday Inn "guest services" at the 800-number would not help either. Yes, we ended up having to stop about 150 miles north of Birch Run when the "snow showers" ended up being a full-blown snow event which was about 3" when we stopped (couldn't see the interstate any longer), and over 6" and still coming down the next morning.
Basically, we didn't get to use the reservation, and HI was unwilling to help under the circumstances. We are going to attempt to contact HI to resolve this issue, but don't look for us to be staying at any HI property any time soon..

  • Disliked — Holiday Inn's attitude
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express for a break without kids. After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was a bit hesitant to book here, but the hot breakfast sounded good so we decided to give it a try.

Our check-in was quick and painless. Front desk staff was very friendly and we were on our way to our room in a matter of minutes.

Our room had two queen beds, a microwave, and a small fridge and was absolutely spotless. We had requested a non-smoking room and realized that it was not marked as such (there was no "non-smoking" sticker just outside the door), but we could not smell any evidence of smoke whatsoever.

The beds were very comfortable and there were 8 pillows on the beds. There is free high speed wireless internet available in the lobby, or you can connect your laptop in your room with an ethernet cable. If you don't carry one with you, the front desk will provide one. The bathroom was also spotless and has a heat lamp, which is great while showering.

The hotel has a good-sized pool and also a very large hot tub. The pool water is quite warm, and the water in the hot tub was just right: not too cold but not so hot that you can only stay in for a few minutes.

In the morning a complimentary hot breakfast is served in a nice breakfast area. There is lots of selection: french toast, toast, bagels with cream cheese, hot cinnamon rolls, eggs with bacon or sausages, biscuits with gravy, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, and juice. We thought the breakfast was excellent!

We had a great stay at the Holiday Inn and thought that we received excellent value for the price paid ($67.00 per night). We had absolutely no complaints and would certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Liked — comfortable clean room, hot breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiangirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy, Birch Run, MI 48415-9309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing