We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's different, fine, but not great for a group”
Review of Zazios Birmingham - CLOSED

Zazios Birmingham
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Maple
Description: Zazios is an electric restaurant where the food is the entertainment. Offering both a main dining room and a Chef Table experience that is nothing like it in Michigan. Dining room with large windows overlooking the famed Woodward Avenue. The Chef table is a stadium style settings where you may engage with our Chef while preparing a five course dinner with optional wines. Our dining room offers a vibrant, fresh ambiance with a view of downtown Birmingham. We have extensive wine list covering all of Italy wine regions as well as major wines from California, France and the world. Our Z bar is the perfect place to enjoy your favorite Martini or Mojito along with over 20 wines by the glass. Zazios Restaurant also offers a private dining area that seats 28 guests with built in state of the art A/V equipments along with 60" flat screen, perfect for corporate of social gatherings.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's different, fine, but not great for a group”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Dinner was excellent, we did the Chef's Table. I was expecting the chef to cook at our table for 8. When we arrived I realized it was stadium style seating and all 8 of us were lined up side by side facing the cooking stage with 2 more rows of guests in front of us. For a $900 dinner for 8 I was hoping for a more personal experience. It's nice, and the food was great, but it just wasn't what I was expecting.

Helpful?
Thank kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Zazios Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi kona,

I am so sorry the Chef's Table did not meet your expectations. The Chef's Table is the heart of our restaurant and the opportunity to engage with our chef. Please allow us to make it right for you by providing us your email so that we can follow up with you directly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to speaking with you.


Sarah

--
Sarah Lee
PR & Marketing Manager
Greenleaf Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, but bad service and even worse management”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Today was by far not the first visit to this restaurant. Probably the tenth time or so. sometimes for business, sometimes with friends and sometimes with the family.
The food remains to be great. Very exceptional actually. Very refreshing compared to the usual places.
But unfortunately this place is clearly on the decline. But not because of food and the services in the kitchen. Sadly only because of bad management and hostesses who don't understand their job at all. If you get a horrible table although most of the restaurant is proof enough for bad management. If you confront the staff with such decision, they display total misunderstanding of the situation and their responsibilities. Resulting in a bad dining experience despite the food.
Seems like many other customers have the same opinion. The place - although Saturday night in Birmingham - was mostly empty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Zazios Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Michael,

I'm sorry for the poor service you received and we take these issues seriously as we believe in providing great personalized service to our guests. We would like the opportunity to make it right for you, please contact me directly so that we can address this issue with you.

Sarah

--
Sarah Lee
PR & Marketing Manager
Greenleaf Hospitality Group
slee@ghgkz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Food and Service”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My girlfriend and I were told about the great happy hour that Zazios had and just had to check it out. We ordered 3 apps, fried brussel sprouts, beef sliders, and a pear pizza and they were all fantastic. I was blown away by the brussel sprouts and the sliders and pizza were cooked perfectly. The drink special of the night was half off wine bottles and the bartenders were very knowledgable and helpful in helping us select a bottle of wine. There was a cooking demo going on that looked very interesting and seemed to be very popular. We will definately be back soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Zazios Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Lola B,

We're so glad you had a great time and appreciate the time you've taken to write this review. This is an acknowledgment that we're doing it right by our customers. Thank you once again.


Sarah

--
Sarah Lee
PR & Marketing Manager
Greenleaf Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would rank the restaurant about a 7 and a half”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The food was excellent but the atmosphere was out of the late 1980's or 1990's. See full review at hungryindetroit.blogspot.com

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry in Detro... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Zazios Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Hungry in Detroit,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to write this post. We take pride in our restaurant but it definitely has plenty of room for improvement. No promises at this point regarding the decor however we are working to improve the efficiency of our service. Your blog post was shared amongst our team to share your thoughts and will continue to be a part of our discussion in terms of improving the ambiance of the restaurant. I wanted to make sure to acknowledge your points and hopefully the next time you visit us, you'll find a new favorite on the menu. Thank you once again and we look forward to having you in our restaurant once again.


Sarah

--
Sarah Lee
PR & Marketing Manager
Greenleaf Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cool decor, middling dining”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a large, trendy place in downtown Birmingham. It's lively and has a fun, colorful decor. I found the food just average-not terrible, not great; it's supposed to be a "foodie" place I guess (you can book a Chef's table, the big screen TVs show close-ups ofe the food prep in the large open kitchen), but I just didn't think it was exceptional. Worth going with a group for the fun, but wouldn't rate it as a destination place or place to return to.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Manager at Zazios Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi roadwarrierMD,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I know this response is late however I wanted to acknowledge your comments and hopefully learn more about your thoughts about our food and the restaurant overall. Recently we've changed our menu to incorporate a variety of seasonal ingredients as well as added some new offerings. I understand you noted that this place would not be a place to return to however I was wondering if you wouldn't mind giving us a second chance and try our new menu? Feel free to reach out to me directly and our restaurant manager would love to have the opportunity to hear your thoughts out.


Sarah

--
Sarah Lee
PR & Marketing Manager
Greenleaf Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zazios Birmingham also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing