We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Ajax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was in Birmingham on business the week of October 28th. The hotel is on Woodward Avenue and is conveniently located within walking distance to the downtown core. The rooms are large and spacious abd the rates were affordable. At first glance it would appear that the majority of travelers were there for business purposes. The room rate includes free wi-fi access and full breakfast.
The only downsides to this hotel was that in some aspects it had been modernised, in other aspects it had been neglected. There was an abundance of floral prints within my room (drapes, wallpaper in the bathroom) and even fake plants in my room above my bed. I also noticed that the carpets were badly stained in some areas.
This hotel has the potential to become a boutique hotel (like The Opus in Vancouver) with the inclusion of some modern touches .

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ouida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham for your recent stay. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. Our proximity to Birmingham shopping, dining and night life is something we are very proud to offer. Our property improvements have begun! The exterior has been painted, and the kitchen renovated. Soon to follow the guest rooms and public space. We hope if you travel back to our area you will once again include the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham in your plans. Thank you for your time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
28
22
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the property was undergoing some modest upgrading, our five-day stay in October 2013 was very pleasant. The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful—they seem very customer-focused. The breakfast room was clean and spacious; breakfast offerings were diverse and reliably tasty. The room was clean and well-tended every day. Overall, a terrific package!

Room Tip: Best facing north, off Woodward Avenue, for quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Please accept my sincere thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel, services and staff! Our service is so important and I have passed your comments onto the staff with my thanks for a job well done! It is truly a pleasure to have such wonderful guests such as yourself, and we hope your travels will ring you back to our area in the future. Again - thank you for your time and for the very positive feedback. Please contact me if I may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here for a couple of weeks in summer of 2012 as I needed accessibility to Birmingham downtown without having to keep looking for a cab.

Service was all right - the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and it was OK (no healthy options though), but the thing I liked best was the free Wi-Fi - fast enough without many interruptions.

That said, the hotel is old and some of the rooms / bathrooms are not that well maintained or in need for refurbishing. A moldy smell persists at a lot of places. Better value for money can be had by staying a little farther and driving to downtown (this is what all of my colleagues did after staying here for less than a week). The thermostat wasn't working in my first room (I didn't notice until a few days) so I had to shift rooms. In the second room, the noise from the heating unit made it a challenge to get sleep but I persisted as I wasn't in a mood to unpack and shift everything another time.

If some renovation has been done since the time I was there, I think this hotel provides an acceptable option being on Woodward Ave and next to downtown without being too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkArchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay back in October of 2012! We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, our wifi and our location!
Our renovation project has begun and will result in the improvements needed. Already the exterior painting and the kitchen have been renovated, and we are looking forward to updating the rooms and public space. Please give us a try when you are in our area again and I am sure you will enjoy the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great Hotel. Good price, Excellent people that work there. Everyone that worked there was very knowledge, helpful. I needed a room right away, called from the vehicle and it was complete in a matter of minutes. We needed a parking place for our vehicle and they helped with that. I will stop again if I am in the area and need a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again when you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel room was spacious and clean and comfortable, although the stairs were a little creaky and the lift was really old. Customer service was really good and the hotel provides high speed WiFi too, which is really good. It is also located in a very good area with lots of stuff to do!

Room Tip: Room facing away from the road are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your time to provide us with some comments about your recent stay. We are glad to hear yu enjoyed your stay - including our location and our staff in particular. You may not have heard that we will be renovating the hotel and changes are beginning soon. We plan to improve everything including guest rooms, the breakfast room and kitchen, the lobby, the facade, etc... Hopefully you will return to our area so you can stay with us again and experience the changes. On a quick note - the elevator is on a service contract so while it may not be brand new -it is operating efficiently and is quite safe!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were in town for a wedding. The only choices were this one and the Townsend, which I wish we would have picked.
First, we were told that check in time was at 3 pm. I called that morning to confirm the reservations and to confirm the check in time. Yes, they told me, please come at 3. We showed up at 3:30, but only 1 of the 2 rooms were ready. The wedding was at 5. The other couple got in at 4:10 to change their clothes.
The hotel is badly in need of updating. It is in 1980's decor and in disrepair. The carpet of the room that had just been "cleaned" was so badly stained that we did not dare take our shoes off. The bath and tub was also so old that what I thought was curly hair in the tub, was actually cracks in the tub! Neither of us would use the tub. We stayed on the 4th floor and every time the air conditioner in the room started during the night, it woke us up. It sounded like a jet engine starting.
I had to plug in a medical machine and realized that the clock radio and bedside lamp was plugged in by an extension cord! So I had to unplug the clock and plug into an extension cord, because no other plugs were available. Forget about plugging in your phone,etc. No extra plugs anywhere, not on the desk, etc.
Went down to the breakfast the next morning. Nutritional board said omelets were made with cheese, No, they had ham in them. We had coffee, a cinnamon roll (which was OK) a yogurt and left.
This is not a cheap hotel. You would think that such an upscale area like Birmingham would have better accommodations around their town. We were not opposed to the price, but expected MUCH better for the area and money. After the wedding we walked to Peabody's Restaurant to eat that evening and that was nice.
We will not be back to stay in Birmingham again. We will stay around Somerset Collection Mall and drive in...

Room Tip: Good luck with this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreeSeeker4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review. I deeply regret you were not satisfied with some of the services and facilities we offered. Our check in time is 4:00pm and I will be looking into making sure the staff does not confirm an early check in time when rooms are not available. I will also look into the other issues you mentioned in the particular room you occupied. We do have an electrical power strip on the side of the desk for additional outlet needs of our guests and I am very sorry it was overlooked. If you wish to speak with me further about the details of your stay, please contact me and I can address some of the other items you mentioned. We do have a complete renovation scheduled for this Fall, and it will include the lobby, guest rooms and all other public space - we are very excited about refreshing the entire appearance of the hotel. Thank you again for your time to provide us with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were excellent and particularly helpful. It's not a 5 star hotel but we stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it. Breakfast was complimentary and quite adequate. The hotel was very well located within walking distance of restaurants , shops and sopping malls.
It's a great little town Birmingham, we will visit again even though its a long way from Australia.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a fairly busy road so try and get a room further away from the road side. Our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello and thank you for your time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your patronage, and we are glad to hear to enjoyed your stay! We hope that when your travels do bring you back to our area, you will once again select the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham! We have a renovation scheduled to begin in the Fall and we are excited to refresh the appearance of the entire hotel. Thank you again!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
773 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#11 of 17 in Troy
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield Hills
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield ...
#1 of 1 in Bloomfield Hills
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing