We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is conveniently located in the suburban (on Woodward Ave.)to the freeways,restaurants,etc.. Metro Airport is approximately 40 minutes drive. The rooms were very nice , comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and pleasant. The rate was very reasonable. I would return here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Birmingham! We appreciate your positive comments, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our location! We take a lot of pleasure in providing service to great customers such as yourself, and please rest assured I will pass along your feedback to our staff. I am also pleased you enjoyed our location and we certainly hope you will choose our hotel again if your travels being you back to our area. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have stayed in Birmingham many times and always at the Townsend. This hotel represents very good value as it is close to the centre, has clean rooms and friendly staff. There is also convenient free parking.

The downsides - well it is being renovated. The rooms currently are a little dated, the breakfast is a bit of a carb fest and if you are used to the high life you won't find it here.

On balance a great place to stay because it is clean and do close to Birmingham which has everything you need.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Partner792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham. We are so pleased to learn you enjoyed our location, staff and room cleanliness! I am glad you noted the renovation going on! We are almost complete with two floors of guest rooms, and after the guest rooms are completed, we will begin work on the lobby and other public spaces. We appreciate the chance to serve as your host for this visit and hope you will choose us again when your travles bring you to the Birmingham area! Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at this location while visiting Detroit for a company Christmas party. The location is great for getting to several places on foot. The property is well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hello and Happy New Year! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your visit to the Detroit area! We hope you enjoyed the Christmas party you were attending and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and your stay! We deeply appreciate your positive comments, and hope you will return when your travels bring you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was in Birmingham on business the week of October 28th. The hotel is on Woodward Avenue and is conveniently located within walking distance to the downtown core. The rooms are large and spacious abd the rates were affordable. At first glance it would appear that the majority of travelers were there for business purposes. The room rate includes free wi-fi access and full breakfast.
The only downsides to this hotel was that in some aspects it had been modernised, in other aspects it had been neglected. There was an abundance of floral prints within my room (drapes, wallpaper in the bathroom) and even fake plants in my room above my bed. I also noticed that the carpets were badly stained in some areas.
This hotel has the potential to become a boutique hotel (like The Opus in Vancouver) with the inclusion of some modern touches .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ouida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham for your recent stay. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. Our proximity to Birmingham shopping, dining and night life is something we are very proud to offer. Our property improvements have begun! The exterior has been painted, and the kitchen renovated. Soon to follow the guest rooms and public space. We hope if you travel back to our area you will once again include the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham in your plans. Thank you for your time to provide a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

While the property was undergoing some modest upgrading, our five-day stay in October 2013 was very pleasant. The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful—they seem very customer-focused. The breakfast room was clean and spacious; breakfast offerings were diverse and reliably tasty. The room was clean and well-tended every day. Overall, a terrific package!

Room Tip: Best facing north, off Woodward Avenue, for quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Please accept my sincere thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel, services and staff! Our service is so important and I have passed your comments onto the staff with my thanks for a job well done! It is truly a pleasure to have such wonderful guests such as yourself, and we hope your travels will ring you back to our area in the future. Again - thank you for your time and for the very positive feedback. Please contact me if I may be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here for a couple of weeks in summer of 2012 as I needed accessibility to Birmingham downtown without having to keep looking for a cab.

Service was all right - the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and it was OK (no healthy options though), but the thing I liked best was the free Wi-Fi - fast enough without many interruptions.

That said, the hotel is old and some of the rooms / bathrooms are not that well maintained or in need for refurbishing. A moldy smell persists at a lot of places. Better value for money can be had by staying a little farther and driving to downtown (this is what all of my colleagues did after staying here for less than a week). The thermostat wasn't working in my first room (I didn't notice until a few days) so I had to shift rooms. In the second room, the noise from the heating unit made it a challenge to get sleep but I persisted as I wasn't in a mood to unpack and shift everything another time.

If some renovation has been done since the time I was there, I think this hotel provides an acceptable option being on Woodward Ave and next to downtown without being too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkArchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay back in October of 2012! We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff, our wifi and our location!
Our renovation project has begun and will result in the improvements needed. Already the exterior painting and the kitchen have been renovated, and we are looking forward to updating the rooms and public space. Please give us a try when you are in our area again and I am sure you will enjoy the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great Hotel. Good price, Excellent people that work there. Everyone that worked there was very knowledge, helpful. I needed a room right away, called from the vehicle and it was complete in a matter of minutes. We needed a parking place for our vehicle and they helped with that. I will stop again if I am in the area and need a hotel room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again when you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
910 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £97 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing