We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean. The location was great with easy walking distance to downtown Birmingham. I would definitely stay again. The hotel is reasonably priced and even though it is on a major street, we did not notice any noise. The breakfast was to Holiday Inn standards. This 200 character minimum is a pain.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Goodtimer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello! Thank you for your very positive review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and the breakfast to be along the standards of a Holiday Inn Express! We do have an incredible location! We hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Express again when your travels bring you back to our area! Thank you again!

Peggy Desrosier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
28
21
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is currently under renovations but is doing so with very little disruption to visitors as possible. I heard a few bangs but nothing too bad. Evendence that construction was happening somewhere as slightly noticable but not bad. Staff was very curtious and helpful. They even offered ear plugs if desired. How thoughtful is that? I think that once this renovation is finished I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Carrie H,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of the property. I am pleased to know that you found our staff and breakfast commendable.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the renovations may have caused you. Despite the renovation work ongoing, we are excited to show what we have done and we are hopeful that in the future you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location..lots to do and see within walking distance. Hotel is in the process of being renovated, so was a little dirtier than expected. But, overall the room we stayed in was good. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Diane G,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to read that our location was of great convenience to you and that you were satisfied with your rooms. We look forward to your next visit in Birmingham and hope that when you return, you’ll see the changes made.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is conveniently located in the suburban (on Woodward Ave.)to the freeways,restaurants,etc.. Metro Airport is approximately 40 minutes drive. The rooms were very nice , comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and pleasant. The rate was very reasonable. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Birmingham! We appreciate your positive comments, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and our location! We take a lot of pleasure in providing service to great customers such as yourself, and please rest assured I will pass along your feedback to our staff. I am also pleased you enjoyed our location and we certainly hope you will choose our hotel again if your travels being you back to our area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Birmingham many times and always at the Townsend. This hotel represents very good value as it is close to the centre, has clean rooms and friendly staff. There is also convenient free parking.

The downsides - well it is being renovated. The rooms currently are a little dated, the breakfast is a bit of a carb fest and if you are used to the high life you won't find it here.

On balance a great place to stay because it is clean and do close to Birmingham which has everything you need.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Partner792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham. We are so pleased to learn you enjoyed our location, staff and room cleanliness! I am glad you noted the renovation going on! We are almost complete with two floors of guest rooms, and after the guest rooms are completed, we will begin work on the lobby and other public spaces. We appreciate the chance to serve as your host for this visit and hope you will choose us again when your travles bring you to the Birmingham area! Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at this location while visiting Detroit for a company Christmas party. The location is great for getting to several places on foot. The property is well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello and Happy New Year! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your visit to the Detroit area! We hope you enjoyed the Christmas party you were attending and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and your stay! We deeply appreciate your positive comments, and hope you will return when your travels bring you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was in Birmingham on business the week of October 28th. The hotel is on Woodward Avenue and is conveniently located within walking distance to the downtown core. The rooms are large and spacious abd the rates were affordable. At first glance it would appear that the majority of travelers were there for business purposes. The room rate includes free wi-fi access and full breakfast.
The only downsides to this hotel was that in some aspects it had been modernised, in other aspects it had been neglected. There was an abundance of floral prints within my room (drapes, wallpaper in the bathroom) and even fake plants in my room above my bed. I also noticed that the carpets were badly stained in some areas.
This hotel has the potential to become a boutique hotel (like The Opus in Vancouver) with the inclusion of some modern touches .

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ouida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham for your recent stay. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. Our proximity to Birmingham shopping, dining and night life is something we are very proud to offer. Our property improvements have begun! The exterior has been painted, and the kitchen renovated. Soon to follow the guest rooms and public space. We hope if you travel back to our area you will once again include the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham in your plans. Thank you for your time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield Hills
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield ...
#1 of 1 in Bloomfield Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#13 of 17 in Troy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing