We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
NYC
1 review
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I was pleasantly surprised. The HI was clean and comfortable. The rooms on the 5th floor have flat screened TV's. The free breakfast every morning was great. We had no problem with this hotel. It must have changed since 2008 and the changes were for the better!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridetobeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
28
21
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2008

i went to MI for medical reasons. i was incredibly sick and tired and needed to sleep badly. this hotel was a very bad choice for me. the beds were too soft. i could not sleep most of the night (even with 2 sleep pills) and woke up after 2 hrs with a cramped back and neck. also, there was so much frigid air coming in from the window area (windows were closed). if i turned on the heat, the room became like a sauna in minutes. if i turned it off, i froze. i also noticed a broken smoke detector in my room. furthermore, the holiday inn 800 reservation line assured me that there would be a fridge and a microwave in my room - there was no microwave and i had bought some frozen dinners to save money.

on the upside, the staff were very friendly. they allowed me to change rooms but the mattress was just as bad in the other room (i don't think the mattresses are old but just VERY soft). they also allowed me to use the microwave in the downstairs breakfast area. also, 800 calls and local calls from the rooms are free - not many hotels have this.

i was so sick and miserable the morning after my stay and had to spend extra time and trouble booking a last minute room at another hotel for the second night (i could not go another night w/out sleep), i asked for a refund for the night i had stayed. the manager initially refused but i pointed out their "hospitality promise" (which i had seen posted in the bathroom) and she eventually agreed to give me the refund.

overall, the place is OK but i'd spend the extra $30 for a better hotel or get on an internet deal site, where i got a much better hotel cheaper for the 2nd night!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladybugmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

First time in Detroit area for a wedding, needed a hotel near bride's parents home. The Holiday Inn Express in Birmingham was better than I had expected. The hotel is near shopping and dining in Birmingham, a lovely town! The rooms were comfortable, with nice bedding. There was a small refridgerator and coffee maker in the room. Breakfast is included, yummy cinamon rolls, muffins, as well as eggs and bacon. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, Good Value
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NymanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

I was in Detroit for business for a week. The hotel quality overall is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Beds okay, some carpet stains, slight musty smell. It was a horrible experience because the room above mine suffered some water damage, so I returned to my room one night to find my room full of huge fans. The front desk gave me a new room but was unapologetic and didn't offer to help me move my belongings. I was in the dark (because all lamps had been unplugged to use for the fans) manuveuring around trying to find all of my things. It was ridiculous. The next morning the lady at the front desk was rude and uncaring about the situation. I realize this situation was just a fluke, but I feel the hotel needs to train their staff to better handle situations like these.
The one high point was that the night manager who was there in the morning was super nice and reimbursed me for groceries I had purchased and put in the mini fridge (which had been unplugged for the fans).

  • Liked — The night manager and the breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — The front desk staff, the customer service and the cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2008

Holiday Inn Express is friendly and comfortable. Great location for walking and for proximity to shops, etc. We found this place to be clean and well managed.. The staff is warm and helpful, including at the front desk, and also the housekeeping staff. Breakfast includes a variety and is more than ample. They are also pet friendly here too, which is a big plus for many guests. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarhill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

I usually stay at the Barclay Inn down the street, but tried the Holiday Inn Express for a little more money, expecting a nicer room. It was not so at all. The rooms are almost exactly the same size and design as those in the main Barclay Inn building, but I found the HIX in much worse shape. There’s no central heat or AC, just one of those old-style heater/AC units attached to the wall. The one in my room smelled horrible, and dripped water all over the carpet when you ran the AC. That section of the room reeked of mildew/mold. When I told the hotel staff about it, their response was to bring in a very loud, bulky dryer unit – like a giant hair dryer – to dry up the carpet. The other rooms might be OK, but I won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank misstracyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2007

I stay at this hotel monthly for business. It is top notch! The front desk staff and housekeeping staff are all wonderful and very professional. Don't let the exterior of the building fool you. The interior is lovely! It reminds me of being at a boutique hotel in France. It is very clean and well decorated. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon cookies are my favorite! They bake fresh cookies daily. I always look forward to my cookie after a long day of meetings. I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and this is my all time favorite. Most hotels I've stayed at are not managed properly; this hotel is the exception.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
742 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield Hills
Kingsley Inn Detroit-Bloomfield ...
#1 of 1 in Bloomfield Hills
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#12 of 17 in Troy
206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
Address: 35270 Woodward Ave, Birmingham, MI 48009-0935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful Detroit suburb, the Holiday Inn Express® Detroit - Birmingham hotel's location in the Detroit metro area is sure to transform an ordinary trip into an extraordinary experience. Situated in the heart of downtown Birmingham, these accommodations are a perfect home base from which to work or explore popular Michigan highlights. Corporate guests can meet deadlines using free wired and Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center. Our partner, the state-of-the-art Birmingham Conference Centre, offers tech-savvy meeting facilities for large groups. Beaumont Hospital and major companies, such as Bank of America and Certified Restoration Dry Cleaning Network, are within five miles for effortless travel. If you're here for fun, the hotel's Detroit metro area location enables you to chill out at the largest polar bear exhibit at the Detroit Zoo or spend a day with dinosaurs at the Cranbrook Institute of Science. You can enjoy a day of retail therapy at Somerset Collection's 180 shops or a luxurious movie experience at Uptown Palladium Theatre. During your stay at this gorgeous hotel with a boutique attitude, you can begin every morning with a delicious free, hot breakfast, and end it with an invigorating workout in the 24-hour Fitness Center. If you're planning a trip to Birmingham, Michigan, please call the hotel's wonderful staff to book now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing