We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boyne Mountain overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boyne Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Redford, Michigan
1 review
“Boyne Mountain overpriced”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

There were 5 children and 2 adults. I was highly dissapointed in the condo we stayed in. The place was so outdated for the price we paid. Some of the lights didn't work and the place smelled of mildew. The children enjoyed the waterpark. If i had known that the condo was like that we could have stayed at a hotel of the property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nika8035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    142
    54
    49
    34
See reviews for
217
58
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Reception had no record of my payment, so the clerk had to call my office and several of her own offices. She eventually just pushed the key over the counter toward me while she was still on the phone.

No elevator in the "Edelweiss" building--drag your own bags up the cramped stairwell. Knobs/locks on the room doors are bed/bath interior locksets--completely unsuitable for hotel rooms (I can't believe they meet the building code for hotels.) Room decor makes "dated" seem like an upgrade--it is suicidally depressing. The room feels like a cell in a psych hospital. Not even a bedskirt--exposed metal frames. Beat-up forty-year-old furniture, stains and scars on everything. Walls are institutional seafoam green and dirty as hell. TV is ancient and tiny. Bathroom is reasonably clean but tiny and ugly. I think the fixtures are older than I am, and I am not a spring chicken. The chair I am currently sitting in seems to have missing parts; wobbles and has unraveling upholstery.

Well, the carpet seems new-ish and the room is adequately sized, but that doesn't quite make up for the grungy feel of the place. I'll take a few Prozac and maybe it will seem nicer.

Room Tip: The Edelweiss building will make you want to kill yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason_KZ_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boyne Falls hotels

Midland, mi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We use to go to Boyne Mountain twice a year on Summer and Winter time. Each time is a real pleasur but we can do a lot of activities, for kids and for adults. The location is gorgeous, the personal very pleasant. The waterpart is a big plus when the weather is no nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grenoblemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

When we walked in the condo we were disappointed. The establishment not only needs some major updating but some pride as well. The place was clean and provided a fully stocked kitchen but it still wasn't worth the price. The bed was comfortable but a good night sleep was ruined by an air conditioner that would wake you up from a dead sleep because it was so loud......and unfortunately it was too hot and stuffy to not have it on. We had fun at the water park and on the zip line but next time we would not stay at Boyne itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at Boyne Mountain on labor day weekend. There were about a dozen of us. My husband, kids and I stayed in a hotel room while my mom, sisters and their families stayed in a condo. Our room in the Clock Tower was great - you can tell it had been remodeled recently. The condo was quite the opposite - the paint was crumbling, the design outdated and there was only a wall air conditioner for a four bedroom condo.

We took advantage of the waterpark, the zipline tour, and golf. Our family enjoyed the waterpark, the slides were great and their was a lot of room to move around. There were parts that needed updated, such as painting and general cleaning. Also, my family has been to 10 different waterparks and this one had the worst lifeguards - there were very few and they seemed disinterested most of the time...not very safe for a place with a ton of kids. The zipline adventure was great - the guides were fabulous and the ziplines were a blast! We also golfed the Alpine which was a very nice course and ate at the Trophy Room. The food was great - highly recommend the pizza! Overall Boyne was very nice and we will go there again, especially for the waterpark feature. I hope they remodel the rest of the property to bring it into the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatLakesBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was kinda nervous reading all the reviews that were on here about the elderwiess here at Boyne. And to be quite honest what I have read (negitive comments) are completly wrong. We stayed three nights and the beds were amazing !! The service was great and the rooms were clean! *no spiders* now granted the rooms are not no grand lodge. With all the newer ammedities but its good enough and the prices are a ton better! If you are one of those people who like to stay in the hotel room and have all the ammendities this hotel is not for you but if you are like us and are out enjoying Boyne and all it has to offer this is perfect for you. It just depends on what you personally like. But my trip to Boyne and elderwiess was nothing but wonderful!!

We will be back again in the summer and winter!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megzi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I think boyne is an aquired taste. We travel all over but spend three to four long weekends a winter at boyne. The improvements at boyne mountain are terrific. The rooms at the mt lodge are beautiful. But I cannot think of a place that I feel less welcome at checkin or by hotel staff than any property at boyne. But we overlook it because the experiences we have with our family in the winter can't be beat. It is kind of like going to your grumpy grandpa's home. You love them, you can't wait to get back but you have to overlook their bad attitude and bad decorating and musty smell (the older properties unfortunately are like this but definitely not the newer properties...they are five star!) I feel like I am home every time I pull up. If you are coming for the first time and have no interest in making boyne a regular family destination come during winter for skiing or full summer for golf, stay in one of the new properties, and plan on being pretty self sufficient. Otherwise you probably will have a negative experience- because you just won't get it like so many families over multiple generations have come to love.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
13.5 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Mountain Resort

Property: Boyne Mountain Resort
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Things happen at Boyne Mountain. If you've been here, you know. If you haven't, take our word. We understand how to have fun. And not just the kind of fun people talk about at work on Monday morning - but the kind that keeps you smiling to yourself all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boyne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Boyne Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing