We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for an anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for an anniversary!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Blue Green Resort next to Boyne Mt. Resort for the 2 night preview presentation; then on to the Grand Mountain Resort, @ Boyce Mountain. The employees were the best we have seen at a hotel or resort. They remembered it was our anniversary & there was a beautiful fruit dish; left in our room that afternoon. The pools were very nice (& heated) which is nice for Up North use. We ate on site & in nearby towns. Rode our Harley around to
the lakes & quaint towns; all was great. We will be back to the Grand Mt. again!!

Room Tip: We were on the Grand Mountain, newest and main building. The rooms have a Swiss Ski Lodge Look; eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    143
    54
    49
    35
See reviews for
218
58
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I really couldn't believe what I saw when I opened up the door to our three bedroom villa in the Mountain Villa section of the resort. Many large carpet stains, well worn walls, and basically a condo that was in severe need of updating. Even though it was summer, we needed to turn the furnace on and we thought the place was about to blow up. If we needed air conditioning there was only a wall unit in the living room for the whole condo. It just was a dingy place to stay for the money. We are moving to another location on the property today so I will post about that location soon. Don't stay in the Mountain Villa Condos!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa on a Saturday for 1 nite in August. Cost was around $230. The web site ranks it as a 4 star. It ain't. Towel quality is what you would expect of a 2 star. Shower drain didn't drain. The room and linens generally smelled of bleach. The maid staff is made up of inexperienced teenagers that tend to collect in the hallways. We always seemed to be going around staff coming through doorways as opposed to them waiting for guests to pass. Oh, and the kicker, check in isn't until 5pm. (I suspect this is to allow the hotel to have a charged late checkout so the kiddies can enjoy the afternoon at the water park).

In general, I expected much more from a 4 star, off season resort. Live and learn.

Room Tip: Ask for early check in and a room that doesn't over look the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank checkerInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a beautiful place to visit! The whole family had a great time. We rented one of the 3-bedroom condos together with another family and there was more than enough room for everyone (4 adults, 4 kids - ages 4, 7, 8, 11). We liked the flexibility of being able to cook our own food. Breakfast was easy because we were able to whip up a healthy meal to get everyone going for the fun days ahead.

The waterpark was clean and a decent size. Not extra-ordinary but the kids had a lot of fun there. Since we didn't stay in the main hotel, we didn't have access to the hotel indoor pool - that was a downer since the kids really wanted to check it out. As guests of the resort, we only had access to the waterpark and the Clock Tower outdoor pool (note: the package we purchased included waterpark passes, otherwise cost to waterpark is extra).

Dining at the resort was quite pricey, but the resort is nearby some good eats so we drove out once to grab a meal.

We drove from Pickering, Ontario - very doable. The scenery was wonderful on the way there and we also stopped over at Birch Run Outlets to do some shopping.

Overall the trip was great. We were at the resort a total of 3 days and 2 nights. We wished we could stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I recently booked three nights in a four bedroom mountain cabin. Price of stay $1600.00 +
The tile was cracked and missing grout. Day one the dishwasher spewed water onto the floor and needed maintenance. Day two about 4 pm we noticed water leaking from the bedroom ceiling soaking the bed and floor. Maintenance recommended we leave the cabin as the ceiling is solid wood and would need to be removed to find the problem. Boyne was booked and scrambling at 6pm to find us alternate accommodations, but didnt know where they " put us". I had a kitchen full of food, hungry children and a four bedroom cabin to pack. When I said it would be easier to cut my vacation short and leave that evening they agreed. I was told I would be refunded for that night stay, no kidding, I wasn't staying! The next day I was told by management there was no problem with the unit so they really couldn't do anything to compensate me for my inconvenience or my vacation being cut short. Apparently Boyne is so busy they don't care about customer satisfaction or retention. I will never return. Extremely disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were able to getaway for the weekend and booed a room at Boyne Mtn. We booked a king suite (condo) with sofa bed and two bathrooms with the waterpark / twin zipline package. It was a little pricey, but it had been a very long time since we were able to get away and had never been to Boyne Mtn, so we were willing to pay a little bit more for a nice place. After checking in we drove to our building and I wasn't impressed by the outside. I had thoughts of calling to be moved somewhere else, thinking that our room wouldn't be what I hoping for. We opened the door and to our surprise it was totally remodeled (building L, room 646) ! Our two kids went into the bedroom and saw that there was a loft with two twin beds. However they said it was quite warm up there, so they weren't sure they wanted to sleep up there. I called the front desk for a fan, we unpacked the car, and headed out for fun.

We walked around the grounds checking out the village, did a little shopping, and took the scenic chairlift. We dropped off our purchases in our room before heading into Boyne City for dinner. What a great little town! Lots of shops and restaurants right on Lake Charlevoix. Also, a lot of street players playing music. We ate dinner at Cafe Sante,and got ice cream and carmel corn at the Alpine Chocolate Haus. We didn't shop since we wanted to do that the next morning. We headed back to Boyne Mtn.

When we got to our room we were a bit exhausted from our wonderful day that when I saw we had a double bed Ihotel queen) and not a king, I didn't call the front desk. Besides being smaller than expected, it was also a bit firm four our taste. The rest of the unit made up for the one negative. The unit was roomy with a kitchenette that had an apartment size refrigerator, small stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, and plenty of dishes, flatware, and glasses. There was a dining area, living room area with pullout sofa, fireplace, TV, and balcony. The bedroom was very large and had the loft that cooled down with the fan running. It would be nice if they had a ceiling fan in there. Most of the windows had blinds, but the very top windows didn't, so it was very bright very early. The bathroom off the bedroom was totally redone and the bathroom off the living room had a new tub surround and sink cabinet, but everything else was old including the low (5ft) shower head.

The follwoing morning we went into Boyne City for breafast at the Water Street Cafe (highly recommend) and to walk around the Farmers Market and a little shopping. After that we wanted to spend the day at Boyne Mtn. When we returned we first went to the waterpark for a couple hours. We knew it wouldn't be as big as or relaxing as Kalahari, but we had fun. Afterwards we changed, hung out in the room a bit, and took the scenic chair lift to the Eagles Nest for lunch. We had sandwiches, nachos, hamburgers, and drinks while enjoying the view. After eating we headed back down for the twin zip, which was fun. After ziplining, we sat around the fire pit where they had smore packs if you wanted, went on a hay ride, played some lawn games, ordered pizzas from the Trophy Room to take back to the room and watched a magician act on the way back to the room. Our kids didn't do this, but they also had face painters.

Sunday morning when we got up, we hung out a bit and then headed to Petoskey and Charlevoix before heading home. Everyone we encountered at Boyne were extremely helpful and friendly. This was a great place to visit and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 stayed from July 19-22 at the Boyne Mountain Grand Lodge & Spa in 2 co-joined Innsbruck rooms. Beautiful rooms are updated & very clean with a pretty rustic decor. The king bedroom has a couch & seating area, a balcony, a fireplace & flat screen TV. A good size bureau, nice closet & linen closet. A bar area with fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, sink, silverware, cups, wine glasses, bowls & plates. Perfect for our family.
The bathroom has a huge soaking tub & vanity. The other room had 2 queen beds, a tv, wet bar, fridge & sink. The bathroom was a nice size with vanity & shower. Maid service was excellent.
We were on the 1st floor very close to the pool which was a huge bonus as we spent everyday there! The beautiful pool was 90 degrees everyday so it was perfect on cooler mornings/evenings. there are 2 hot tubs which we enjoyed too. Te pool goes from 3ft inside to 4.5 at it's deepest. The abundance of seating, lounge chairs & towels is excellent. There is drink service at the pool too. Try a piña colada!
We also utilized the various activities they offered for the family both free & at a cost. Magic show was fun & the kids loved makin s'mores nightly. They participated in outdoor movie night & story time with cookies & milk. We took a ride up the mountain on the chair lift which is free to guests. We played with the adventure equipment (balls frisbee a ect) a lot of fun outdoor playing with the kids! The various shops & restaurants are great! They even have gluten free pizza!!! They serve Starbucks coffee in Das Cafe which is a huge plus in my book!! I heard the spa is excellent from other family guests although I didn't utilize their services. The fitness room also is great, all the equipment you need!
I hope we can come back some day

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
722 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
180 reviews
21.2 mi away
Boyne Highlands Resort
Boyne Highlands Resort
#2 of 3 in Harbor Springs
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Mountain Resort

Property: Boyne Mountain Resort
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Things happen at Boyne Mountain. If you've been here, you know. If you haven't, take our word. We understand how to have fun. And not just the kind of fun people talk about at work on Monday morning - but the kind that keeps you smiling to yourself all week long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Boyne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Boyne Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing