We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another non-suite "suite"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
U.S.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Another non-suite "suite"”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

There were nine suites advertised on Boyne's website, all of them saying "sofabed in living room." Whoops, all of them other than one, the Innsbruck. We didn't notice that this one only said "fireplace" and thought we would have three rooms. Of course the confirmation email was clear that all we were paying for was two adjoining single rooms, but like most people, we relied on the description on the website and didn't look at the confirmation slip until after we arrived. This was not the only miscommunication: when we arrived the Concierge told us that the cross-country ski rental would be open the entire time of our stay ("we never close"), including Christmas. We went over there on Dec. 24 and found a note on the door saying the place would be closed the entire rest of our trip. So, no cross-country skiing. Remembering the literature in our room saying that, with a Mountain Grand Lodge rental, we would have access to all the spa facilities other than personal services, we went over to use the sauna. Whoops -- the literature in the room was wrong, how about that. You could only use those facilities if you were willing to pay an additional $35 a person per day for a pass. So, we went to have breakfast in the in-lodge restaurant. There were only two choices: the "continental" or the "buffet." Could the hostess tell us what the difference was? Of course not. The waitress couldn't either -- she actually mixed the two up. The water-bearer had no idea. When it came time to pay, it was clear from the $17 charged per person for breakfast that they thought we had chosen the buffet. This place charges prices as if it is a first-class resort -- ours was $500 a night for our non-suite suite facing the parking lot -- but it has a ways to go in providing services before it lives up to the price. I will say that the room itself was kept clean, the bed was comfortable, the "electric fireplace" advertised, although only actually a video of a fire, was at least something to look at other than the car headlights in the parking area, and the granite countertops and soaking tub and comfortable sofa were nice touches. It was also relatively quiet even though the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    59
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
88
22
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My family of four just came back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We really enjoyed our room which was a 2 bedroom suite. The two bedrooms were located upstairs with a full bath. The main floor had a full bath, a full kitchen and a living area with fireplace. It was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. My husband and I both said we had one of the best nights sleep ever! The front desk clerk was very nice and the bellman was also. We had a nice dinner at Everett's the first night and then we ate at Piersons th last night and that was even better! Food is quite pricey, so we would probably bring more of our own food next time. We went to the waterpark, Avalanche Bay two days in a row. We had a great time. It's not as big as Kalahari, but still fun for our 8 and 7 year olds. What a great time overall!

Room Tip: Zermatt suite is what I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejs192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a very nice stay! The room was very comfortable. We had a nice fireplace and big flat screen TV in our room. We had a blast at the water park. The water park isn't huge but its a lot of fun. The dining was nice. Can't beat the view from the indoor/outdoor pool. We spent plenty of time relaxing in the outdoor hot tubs with a view of the mountain in the background. We look forward to going back this winter.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the Grand Lodge. The rooms appear to be new or have recently been updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our first visit to Boyne Mountain Grand Lodge and we booked our stay because we had friends visiting and we wanted to take them somewhere nice. We had heard from others that had visited the hotel that the grounds were beautiful and that there were lots of things for kids to do. That’s certainly true….

There were however many things that we found lacking in this facility and we certainly didn’t feel we got our money’s worth. First of all, when we booked the trip we asked for a room that would accommodate 2 children and 7 adults. We were told that the room we booked would work if we used the foldout couch in the living room area of the suite. As it turns out, the only way this could be done was by putting two adults in a room with 4 bunk beds. Unfortunately we hadn’t seen the photos of the rooms on the hotel web site so we didn’t realize this room was really a kid’s room and was just big enough to fit the 4 bunk beds. The other issue is that the room was essentially opened to the rest of the suite because of the design of the adjoining wall and door. This made it difficult for those in the room to sleep if others were up and about.
When we booked the room package they were offering a 4th night at half off if you booked 3 nights. Check in at the hotel is 5PM so we tried to time our arrival after that so that 9 of us would not be sitting waiting for our room. We ended up arriving before 6PM and since check out is 11AM, the 4th night is really not all that big of a deal…you really lose most of the first day and most of the 4th.

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed were the dirty carpets in the hallway leading to our room. There was also a bit of an old carpet (musty smell) in the hallways. The carpets had clearly not been vacuumed in some time and we didn’t see anyone vacuuming them during our 4 day stay.

Once in our room, we immediately noticed that the black tile floor in the kitchenette area was dirty and sticky. Some of the rooms also appeared to have not been vacuumed or fully cleaned. We found objects on the floors in a couple of rooms and beer bottle caps and golf tees on the top of the armoire in the master bedroom that seemed to confirm that our room had not been fully cleaned. Since we had quite a bit of luggage (because of the number of people in our party), we decided to make the best of it and hope that this was just an anomaly. Unfortunately it was not.

Although we originally made it clear that we would need the foldout bed, we realized as we were getting ready for bed that there were no blankets or sheets for the fold out couch. So we ended up calling room service to request the sheets and blankets. About 15 minutes later someone dropped off a sheet and 2 bathrobes. It was all bundled up together so we didn’t realize what was being dropped off until sometime after the hotel employee left. We called back down to the front desk and the person that answered laughed and said ‘oh yeah, I guess two robes are not going to help you’. We asked them again to send up a blanket which never did arrive. Our guest that slept on the foldout didn’t want to make a big deal of it so he didn’t let us know this till the next morning that he had to go down himself about an hour later to get a blanket.

Because of the condition of the room when we arrived, we hung the “please make up room” sign on the door when we left the following morning thinking that the room would be completely cleaned. When we got back to the room that evening to make dinner, we saw that the room had not been touched. We started dinner and as we sat down to eat we had a knock at the door. It was the staff wanting to clean the room. Since we were having dinner, we told them to come back the next day. Once again they came quite late and we were in the room when they arrived but they offered to clean while we were there. They did a quick (and I mean very quick) straightening up of the rooms and took the dirty towels but that was pretty much it. They didn’t replenish any of the consumables however even though we were out of paper towels in the kitchen…we had to call room service to get more.

Since we had kids with us they used the pool during our stay. The setting was certainly beautiful but we found both the pool and hot tubs to be quite dirty. Both the pool and the two spas had a ring of “green scum” around the tile edge (as can be seen in the attached pictures) and the pool had a lot of debris on the bottom – Band-Aids, dirt, hair, garbage etc.. Again it looked like it had not been cleaned or vacuumed in quite a while. Having a pool myself I know that it requires regular cleaning and maintenance especially when heavily used as was the case with pool in this hotel. One other thing we noticed was the number of people that slid and nearly fell in a puddle of water between the pool and one of the spas. It appears as though the concrete dips slightly which has created a pond of water that never seems to dry up. I slipped in it myself and believe it is an accident that’s just waiting to happen.

Service around the pool area is almost non-existent. I rarely saw any of the hotel staff serving guests and when I did I believe it was because a guest left to find someone to order something. When they delivered food or drinks they delivered it to the person that ordered and completely ignored everyone else. I travel a lot for business and stay at many resorts; I have never seen such poor pool service and ultimately such a glaring lost revenue opportunity for the hotel.

Speaking of hotel revenue….the hotel offers a number of activities including horseback riding, zip lining, biking, a water park and more. Some in our party spent the day at the water park and most went biking and zip lining. Almost all thought that the activities were expensive but then again they seemed to be well attended. As someone that believes in charging what the market will bear for goods and services I guess I can’t blame the hotel for charging what people are willing to pay. That said, I wonder if they are losing business because of the fees being charged?

Finally, the hotel lobby and common areas of the hotel need a complete refresh. Furniture is worn out and dirty and many areas need to be repainted and cleaned thoroughly.
Bottom line is that I believe this resort was probably spectacular when new but poor maintenance and poor service have turned a potential 5 star resort into a 3 star. To me this is simply the result of poor maintenance and complacency. Ultimately there are a bunch of things that need to be addressed in this hotel and to me it’s the attention to detail that separate 5 star resorts from the rest of the pack. In this competitive market I guess I’m most surprised that the management of this hotel doesn’t seem to understand that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

While planning a last minute trip to Michigan, I came across the website for Boyne Mountain. It gets two thumbs up from our family. Clean, comfortable rooms, excellent food and lots of fun activities for kids. We will be going back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoosiertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

To start the begginning check in is somewhat hard, there are lots of people at the desk but they don't get you in quick. The rooms are very big and roomy although one queen bed was not big enough. My fault. Walking to the indoor park was good exept if your on the bottom floor. You can take elevator or walk outside around corner to get in. The park is great for young kids. The play structure to the right is great to climb and has a slide and a pool that gets deeper but not too deep and has hoops. The slides were lots of fun, has two huge rides and two smaller rides that we took him down a bunch and he loved. The race slide was cool too. The real winner here was the food and drink which no matter where u go are great. Service is little slow in food area at pool avalanche bay. Oh bye the way the lockers are not easy to figure out. Key is you move the white handle to right after u put the money in. Lost three dollars and were not idiots.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I just returned from a girls weekend at this resort and I thought the resort was very nice! It was a relaxing weekend away and close to Petoskey and other fun areas! There was a lot to do at the resort including the pool, spa, chair lift, shopping, Deer Lake(very nice) etc..The spa was really awesome-best facial I have ever had with Abby P! I would have given the lodge 5 stars if it were not for the terrible service at the restaurant in the Lodge, Everett's. It was convenient to have a restaurant right in the building, but the service at Everett's was terrible 3 out of the 4 times we dined there. The wait staff was just rude, our breakfast took forever(45 minutes) and when we mentioned it nicely to the manager because she asked if everything was alright, she just argued with us. The wait staff seemed like they were in terrible moods and like we were bugging them. When my friend asked for grape jelly, the waitress muttered that she would check in back to see if there was any laying around-okay? Just skip this place and go to the other restaurants on the property. Overall, besides this, it was a really nice resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa

Property: Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Grand Lodge & Spa At Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Grand Lodge And Spa At Boyne Mountain
Mountain Grand Hotel
Mountain Grand Boyne Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing