We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Let me start by saying the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the time we wasted at the front desk. Slow not enough employees. We went over the 4th of July and it was not crowded. The water park Avalanche Bay was great!!! Kids could get on any ride no waiting. The life guards where on top of things I was impressed. Everyone we met was super nice.

Rooms: we got a room with 2 queen beds. Didn't pay extra for a balcony because we didn't spend time in our room. I suggest if you are going to the water park get a room on the second floor. Sky walk to water park. Beds where comfy. Room clean. Like the walk in shower. Like that there is no tub. Only fail no safe in room.

Food in Everett's was good not great. Expensive.

We will return. Kids liked that the water park was on a smaller scale verse Kalahari in Sandusky Ohio. Kids were more their age and not a ton of teenagers.

Room Tip: For ease of water park access 2nd floor in Grand Lodge. We had room 216 it was perfect. Looked out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    59
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
89
22
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We did a summer visit to this resort. There was tons of great options even in warmer weather. Fishing, kayaking, swimming, etc. I promise that you and your family will be very happy here.

I will say that we did not enjoy waterpark at all. It was loud, crowded and dirty. I would not recommend it at all. Just plan to use the indoor/outdoor pool near the spa.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelHappy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great place for the whole family, we had a great time at the water park. We even tried to ski. . Tried being the key word since me and my wife never skied before and we had our 2 and 5 year olds with us... we will definitely be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gaddy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We checked in to a very clean and nicely appointed hotel condominium. The ambience was Alpine and their food outlets were good. We had a great view of the ski runs from our windows and a pool and gym were available to us. The staff was friendly and helpful and a bellhop named George was great. We would like to return again if a reservation can be acquired but they are booked way in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banjo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We love Boyne Mountain and go every summer but went in April this year ... great times, great food . We highly recommend it as a family destination. The water park is a lot of fun and it is very relaxing to sit by the pond. The kids can enjoy fishing as well as the zip line.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the courtyard not the parking lot ... and on the second floor if you are going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNawrocki564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've been to Boyne several times over the last few years. We always stay in the Grand Mountain Lodge. We've done 2 queen rooms and 1 bdrm suites. Nothing spectacular but clean, comfortable and roomy enough. Something to keep in mind, if you get a mountain view room and you end up anywhere close to the outdoor pool, you'll hear a lot of partying going on until they close the hot tub/pool area around 11pm or so. Its fun and festive, but if you have tired little ones, you might ask for a room further away from the pool area. The ski packages will save you a little money overall. you'll get your lift tix's and bfast buffet plus room all rolled into one. If you have a non skier, they will refund a portion when you check in. My wife has used solace spa extensively and really enjoys it. We've never used the waterpark but it looks nice enough and isnt horribly crowded because people are there mostly to ski.
You have a few choices for food. Theres a deli area(no seating inside) but you can walk over to the cafeteria with your sand, the cafeteria is pretty standard. burgers, fries, pizza, chili, dogs, chicken fingers. etc etc etc. The pub next to the coffee place has some of the best food on site. Pizza place in clock tower is pretty good. get a pie to go, grab a few beers/wine in the store by solace spa and chill in your room. Everetts is nice enough, food is not spectacular but you can get an ok steak or a piece of salmon, ribs etc. Petosky is 15 mins away and theres some pretty good food up there if you dont mind the drive.
We've been there pre xmas, post xmas, MLK wknd, Prez wknd, random wknd in march and weekdays late march. Its busiest mlk and prez followed closely by anything around xmas. However, they really keep things movign with high speed 6 chair at the main base lift. Never more than 5 min wait and when we were there weekdays in late march i would estimate there were times when there was less than 1 skier per skiiable acre.
If you're new to skiing or ready to move up, get a private ski lesson with Fozzy. call the snowsports lesson people and they'll know who youre talking about. I think his real name is Jeff Fozzler or something but everyone knows him by Fozzy. i got my daughter(8yrs old) a 2 hr private lesson on her 2nd day ever on skis and she came out able to tackle everything at boyne that wasnt black diamond. Trust me, spend the buck and a half on the private lesson and you'll thank me later. This last trip my wife and i decided to try snowboarding. Went with 2 hr private lesson from the director of snowsports whose name eludes me but just ask for him by title. He instructs both skiers and boarders but he's an awesome snowboarding teacher.

Room Tip: Anything in the mountain grand is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

When we decided to try skiing again after many years, we opted to take our family to Boyne Mountain. We enjoyed the slopes, spa, and variety of restaurants. Our children had fun at the daycare and water park as well.
We stayed in the grand lodge in a loft suite. The decor was average but the heat was inconsistent. The loft would get all the heat and the lower level was cold due to a inefficient slider door. The fireplace was a disappointment because it gave off no heat, just a cheesy fake light show flame.
Renting skis was easy and efficient. My youngest gave up quickly and we were lucky the daycare was flexible. My oldest has aspirations of being a downhill racer now.
The water park was fun and we had an inclusive package. Our kids liked it better than GWL in TC mainly because it was less crowded when we were there. The new vertical slide was a blast.
Overall we've decided that Boyne will be our family destination for future ski trips.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mddoc151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
445 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa

Property: Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Mountain Grand Lodge & Spa At Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Grand Lodge And Spa At Boyne Mountain
Mountain Grand Hotel
Mountain Grand Boyne Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing