We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best design for a luxury sutie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best design for a luxury sutie”
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We had our annual 'Christmas in November' here last weekend with 8 adults and 3 kids. While the bedrooms and bathrooms were roomy and luxurious, the living room and kitchen made us feel like we were crammed into a studio apartment. There was only one sofa (a loveseat) and one dining room table with just 4 chairs. We brought in a couple of the hard wooden chairs from the balcony and then we were super cramped. The kitchen was the size of a closet - I'm not exaggerating. Other than that one major design flaw it was a pleasant stay (albeit expensive).

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eqqusole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    59
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
88
22
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We stayed at the Mountain Grand Lodge over the 4th of July weekend. We were able to check into our room early (normal check in 5:00- we checked in at 11:30). We stayed in a Queen suite. Queen bed, sofa sleeper, fireplace, wet bar(complete with wine glasses,dishes and silverware!) mini fridge, microwave.
Loved the bath robes too! Big bathroom with deep tub. We ate at the restaurants on-site. The food was good, although a little expensive. Bring your own alcohol-the drinks are very expensive!
My son loved Avalanche bay, the outdoor pool, the bike rental and the free chairlift rides to the top of the mountain.
We are definately planning to back.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Stayed at the Mountain Grand Lodge over the Memorial Day weekend. The staff and the hotel are great. We purchased the water park package. Having been to several other waterparks, Avalanche Bay is one of the best. Although check in is relatively late (6:00 p.m.) are room was ready when we arrived before noon. It was much less crowded than Great Wolf Lodge in TC and quality and service is much better in nearly all respects. If you are considering an overnight or weekend waterpark trip this compares favorably to Great Wolf Lodge (rooms, service, and waterpark at Grand Mountain Lodge are better). The times that we have been at Mountain Grand both the hotel and waterpark have been far less crowded.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Llewtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Twp.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

This hotel was the best hotel we've ever stayed at! The beds were super comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the attached waterpark was the best we have ever been too! One word of advice, go to breakfast at the clock tower at the bottom of the mountain, its a buffet and its just like home cooked! Very good priced. Also, go on the mountain and ride the tubes down the hill, when you get to the bottom, you hook up and a rope pulls you back to the top! That was alot of fun, and the parents dont get tired from walking all the way back up! We will be going back next year!!!

  • Liked — THE BEDS AND THE WATERPARK
  • Disliked — THAT I HAD TO LEAVE
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank garybigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

I stayed at the Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa as part of a work-related conference. The hotel, being so new, was in excellent condition. It's quite large! In fact, so large that walking from the lobby to my hotel room near the end of the north wing on the 3rd floor took me probably a good 5-7 minutes. This hotel is so expansive!

(I would suggest that if you have difficulty walking distances, you request a room closer to the elevator or you may be hoofin' it a very long distance to get to your room!)

The room I booked was a queen size standard room. It was very clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable with a duvet, a variety of pillows, and a good mattress. The flat-screen TV, large room, balcony, spacious bathroom, massive sit-in jacuzzi-style tub, and other niceties made this room very comfortable.

Other than it taking quite a while to walk to my room and back from the hotel lobby (which wouldn't have mattered had I not needed to do so frequently throughout the day, asI was here for work), this hotel really was excellent! The hotel bar downstairs also offered friendly service and a decent selection of draft beers and other beverages.

The breakfast buffet in the morning (for a moderate charge) was also well-done and delicious.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone coming up to the Boyne, MI area for work, relaxation, etc. I was very pleased.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank psycchic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. It is simply fabulous. The kids love the waterpark, everyone loves the indoor outdoor pool and hot tubs. The location is divine, the staff is superb and I plan to stay there many, many more times. We eat at Everetts and have always had good food and great service there. We get the double suite with adjoining rooms on one floor and that keeps the parents away from the kids and vice versa! The robes are a bonus and we wear them constantly during our stay and going back and forth to the waterpark. Do not hesitate in staying here! Also, as another reviewer says, call and get a good rate, the first time we booked online and paid a small fortune! You can get a better deal by calling I think although during their high seasons, obviously prices will be higher. It's worth every penny though, I would have paid more to go there again if I had to!

  • Liked — The linens in the rooms
  • Disliked — The rooms that face the parking lot
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyFamilyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

For just the tips, go to the end of this review.

This was our second stay at this resort. We stayed in August (Room #244 and paid over $200/night. ) This time we contacted the hotel approx. a week before (and scored a lower rate compared to Expedia.com for the same dates) and paid approx. $170/night for four nights.

This time (Nov 21-24) as we arrived we experienced the seasons first snowfall! The large fireplace was roaring and kept the lobby warm enough to be comfortable, even with the front doors being regularly opened and closed. There are lots of windows letting in plenty of natural light . The knottty pine walls and stone flooring makes it feel clean and open. The staff is friendly and quick-within minutes of check-in we were off to our room, #288. Just like before, our room had a queen bed, a pull-out sofa bed (for our two children) a kitchen (this time located next to the bed, not in a hallway between the door and bedroom. The bathroom was similar in decor, but the tub was not a 2-person tub (but it did have jets!) This room had one less closet than our previous one and perhaps slightly less square footage, but it did have the plasma tv, firplace to warm the room, balcany with two chairs and little table, dining area and decorative lamps and mirrors to give it a Swiss-Austiran feel. The carpet feels newer and our view was of the pond rather than straight-on of the mountain. We were satisfied with our room. Our #1 priority is cleanliness and #2 that it is pretty and both standards were met. Our children's #1 priority was that we had another cockoo clock, we did.

There is plenty for a family to do, even in winter: we visited the Waterpark one day (for a family of four, this will run about $100. We went once in the morning and again before bed and did feel that we got our moneys worth in fun. ) There is also a free indoor/outdoor pool which our family enjoyed. I took a neat picture of my family swimming outside with the snow falling and skiiers zooming down the mountain behind them. We also jumped into the outdoor jazcuzzi but it is a freezing two seconds from the heated pool to the jacuzzi!

The hotel also has a spa, 2-level arcade, offers tubing (but it was not ready yet, November is too early in the season they said.) The snow machines worked over-time to make skiing possible this weekend. We did go sledding in Boyne Falls and that was fun. We brought some puzzles and games from home like UNO to play in our room. There is story time in the Library off the lobby and a movie night on Saturday, this time is was "Finding Nemo."

On the down-side, dining is not Boyne Mountains strong suit. They do an excellent job at "Everett's" for breakfast. ($13 per adult for breakfast and $7 for children so come hungry!) This vacation we brought a cooler and took advantage of our fridge and micro in our room. We brought our own beverages, sandwich makings (sandwiches here run $10-12) and snacks. The kitchen in the rooms come with silverware, plates, glasses, a can opener, corkscrew, wine glasses, dish cloths and soap, etc. We even threw in the cooler some frozen dinners and hot dogs and it saved us $$ and I know the dinners I made and froze taste better than what I had the last time we visited in August! We ate at "Everetts" for dinner one evening and the chicken was bland and the pasta did not have any seasoning except butter. The children did not like their dinner there and my husband said his seafood was just "fine." So, bring your own food if you can!

Overall, we love the lodge! Here are my tips to a great stay:
1. Bring at least some of your own favorite foods/treats!!
2. Do not miss the Waterpark if you are bringing children! There is something for all ages!
3. Hit "Everette's" for breakfast, the quality and selection make it worth the price, but the dinner is not worth it!
4. Come in any season and you will find plenty of fun!
5. Contact the hotel directly to make your reservation for the best price. Get lodging-only. If you buy the Waterpark with your room, you may get sick of being wet all day, every day and their free indoor/outdoor pool is fun, too! Soft, warm robes are in the rooms and I saw lots of people wearing them down to the pool and tried it instead of my cover-up. Honestly, nothing is nicer to put on when you are wet and cold than these delicious robes!

I hope these tips save you lots of time and money!

  • Liked — clean, pretty rooms, scenic
  • Disliked — dining options
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank SJL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyne Falls
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Mountain Run at Boyne, an  Ascend Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa

Property: Mountain Grand Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Boyne Mountain Rd, Boyne Falls, MI 49713-9642
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Boyne Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boyne Falls
Number of rooms: 220
Also Known As:
Mountain Grand Lodge & Spa At Boyne Mountain Hotel Boyne Falls
Mountain Grand Lodge And Spa At Boyne Mountain
Mountain Grand Hotel
Mountain Grand Boyne Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing