We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learn a bit of Oc” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lavoir

Le Lavoir
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Learn a bit of Oc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Love this place, especially on a warm day for sitting out on the terrace. Reliably delicious food, good value, funny patron.But I don't want anyone else to know about it. When we arrived without a reservation on Dec 20th it was full!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This place is a must, but book at least 24hrs ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Whenever we are in the area we eat here as do locals and many artisans, and they know where the best food is.
Lunch; 5 courses, wine and coffee for 2 comes to €27.50, that should fit every budget.
You must book before hand.
Last week when we were there 12 people were turned away.
There was an empty table but the cooking/ordering is done to match the number of places booked.
At lunch there is no a la carte menu.
You get what the chef has decided to prepare. It is always delicious.
You arrive, are given a table and the patron recites the menu. That's it.
You sit back and think you are in paradise as the delicious dishes are placed in front of you.
Soup and wine arrive but no bread, that comes with the 2nd course.
Friday, the courses will be fish based.
La Lavoir is closed on Mondays.
Plenty of parking.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great surroundings, poor restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our party was very disappointed - a dull fish pate starter, dreadful dry main course (chicken with no sauce and boiled vegetables - we asked for some oil to moisten it) and 2 inedible puddings we sent back. In fairness they were exchanged for a much better alternative, but not without some argument from the owner. Not a good experience, and we won't be going back. But what a shame - it's such a lovely place and location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank catface41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Place,Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

You have to book in advance to eat here, but it is worth it. Cheap set menu each day with good local food. Chicken Broth to start with followed by cold platter with Black Pudding and Smoked Salmon and Salad. Then came Salmon Parmentier which was very good, Creme Caramel was my choice but the was a good selection of local cheeses. Price included wine or beer with the meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bennynobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lavoir also viewed

Siorac-de-Riberac, Dordogne
 
Riberac, Dordogne
Riberac, Dordogne
 
Riberac, Dordogne
Saint-Vincent-de-Connezac, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Lavoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing