We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Aerial view of Chateau de la Trousse. Orangery on the right. Pool top right. Entrance to the Chateau with the Orangery on the right hand side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the far end.
Aerial view of Chateau de la Trousse. Orangery on the right. Pool top right.
Entrance to the Chateau with the Orangery on the right hand side.
The Orangery. The apartment is the third window from the left.
View of the main Chateau, the Orangery is to the right.
Main Chateau.
Living area, small TV and wood-burning stove.
Master bedroom, with en suite bathroom (shower, toilet and basin).
Top bedroom - 3 single beds + one pull-out. En suite bathroom.
Front terrace, looking onto the Chateau
Front terrace.
Back terrace looking onto the formal gardens
Back terrace.
The back garden! Towards the swimming pool and greenhouse.
Heated swimming pool, walled and safe. Open May-Sept. No charge.
Hard tennis court open May-Sept (no charge)
View of the Chateau from the grounds.
View of the Chateau from the grounds.
The Orangery from behind - the apartment is on the right of the central arch.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lizy-sur-Ourcq, Seine-et-Marne, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Trevor
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet and Peaceful ”
Reviewed 17 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed at the Organery for one week at the end of June and found a place of quiet and peace. Despite some of the hottest weather the breeze blew through the ground floor making it a refuge from the heat of the day, we also made good use of the pool often the only ones there. The apartment was well equipped with everything we needed.
We visited Paris for the day by train and drove to Versailles, latter due to French rail strikes. We manged a couple of short walks along the canal and visited Meaux to see the cathedral, gardens and on our last night the pagent performed by the local people depicting the history of the town all in French but still very entertaining. A visit to the First World war museum in Meaux was also worth while.
We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cf1234201...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming & comfortable apartment ”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We absolutely loved this property! As gorgeous as the photos are, they didn’t do justice to the charm of the apartment. We felt immediately emersed in chic French style as soon as we arrived, whilst still feeling comfortable & at home.

The apartment was equipped with everything we could need. The beds were comfortable. The upstairs room was fine for my 4 year old but we had to watch our heads when walking across it because of the beam so perhaps would not have been as comfortable for adults. It was very hot (outside was mid to high twenties all week) which Tom had warned us about & provided fans.

The grounds were beautiful. Peaceful even with most of the other apartments occupied. The pool was lovely at the end of a hot day. Amazingly clean compared to most outdoor pools I’ve been in. My children enjoyed the swings & I saw older children enjoying the tennis courts.

The gardens to the front & back were lovely. We enjoyed breakfast, dinner & peaceful evenings in the back garden- v private & not overlooked. The view of the rest of the grounds from the front garden was lovely too.

We spent 1 day in Paris & 2 in Eurodisney - all very accessible from the apartment. There was a supermarket 5 mins away which was very convenient. You definitely need a car here, but with good roads & free parking at the station this isn’t an issue.

We’d definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a peaceful break close to the excitement of the city. We’d love to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thanks C. So glad you enjoyed it. Tom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emzcgreen
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful retreat!”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband and I had such a refreshing stay in the Orangery this April. Tom and Rachelle were so helpful in providing excellent written directions from the coast, and helping with any queries we had. The holiday home itself was a delight, so beautifully decorated with a lovely cosy feel, and the ability to spill out into the patio or garden was perfect as we had such fantastic weather. The kitchen was so well equipped and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed exploring the area with walks and bike rides through the surrounding fields and along the canal, and enjoyed wondering through the many quaint villages, such as Chateau Therry. We also caught the train to Paris for the day from Trilport, it was very straightforward and a wonderful way to spend a day! Most of all, we enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful grounds of Chateau de la Trousse, eating delicious French bread and cheese and taking some time away from the normal fast pace of life- what a wonderfully relaxing place to do have a holiday! We loved it, and are very much hoping to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you Emily. Glad you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you Benjamin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CBentHOME
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing gem of a place. ”
Reviewed 10 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I had the joy of staying at the orangery for a much needed week long break. It was perfection, and everything that you would want!

The orangery is a manageable and easy drive from Calais ferry terminal, and great instructions were given by Tom & Rachelle.

Once there, the orangery is in a glorious setting. It is incredibly well equipped, with everything that you could need. It is beautifully decorated, and so cozy with the wood burner lit on colder nights. There is fast wifi, and an array of board games, books and information provided.

Chateau de la Trousse is in the perfect position of being close to Lizy-sur-Orqc and it's amenities (including a direct train in to Paris), but also gives the feeling of retreat and peace.

The beds in the master bedroom are some of the comfiest that I have ever slept on.

As I was there for a snowy February week, I didn't use the pool or tennis courts, but they looked wonderful, and the grounds are a delight to wander in - whatever the weather!

All in all, a magnificent break. I will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
Thank you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! T&R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD0507
1 review
“The most perfectly peaceful & beautiful place to get away from it all...”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

After a pleasant drive from Calais, we followed the (excellent) directions to the Chateau and the sweeping avenue of trees leading to the gates was a prelude to the beauty of this amazing place. We loved so much about it: the extensive grounds to explore, the swings for the children, the views and the tranquility of it all. Inside the Orangery: it was easy to access, spotlessly clean, warm, has absolutely gorgeous views especially from the top bedroom. Beautifully decorated without one feeling too worried the children might ruin something (throws on the sofas etc). Fantastically comfortable beds which is always a plus. Every kind of equipment, crockery, cutlery you could need and the DVD & book collection as well as puzzles means there is lots to do on a rainy day. We had beautiful weather which allowed us to enjoy the gardens, using the outdoor furniture so we could eat outside but we also explored the surrounding areas.
Chateau Thierry was a great place to visit with a lovely climb up the steps to the mediaeval tower. A trip to Meaux was good too.
It was super easy (& free) to park at the station in Lizy-sur-Ourcq and didn’t take long to get to Paris. The Intermarché nearby has everything you might need or have forgotten and is very easy to get to.
The owners couldn’t have been more helpful & there are very comprehensive instructions about arrival, departure and suggestions as to what to do while you’re there.
We came away feeling so refreshed and truly loved every minute of our stay at The Orangery. We highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegaffer...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in incredible surroundings”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Orangery at the end of June for a week and loved every minute of it.

We drove down from Calais which was a very easy run down the Peage. I think the tolls worked out about €17 each way and the journey was about 3hrs. Once off the motorway it takes about 45mins along quiet roads.

Once in Lizy sur ourcq we stopped at the Carrefour Market which was quite well stocked although a smaller supermarket. There is a big Intermarche at Lizy although this was shut due to roof repairs when we were there.

The Orangery was very well appointed and In excellent condition, the grounds were well maintained and we enjoyed exploring them. The outdoor pool was a welcome relief from the heat and a 1min walk across the back lawn.

Plenty to do in the area, we travelled to Epernay to see the Champagne houses, we took a tour of Mercier which was very interesting.

We took the train from Lizy station to Meaux for the day. Free parking at the station. Trains can be had direct into Paris Gare Est too.

Plenty of history to explore in the local area. In fact La Trousse itself is a very interesting place, highly worth reading around.

Driving around the corner at the end of the avenue and seeing the grounds and Chateau open up in front of you was a treat each time.

We travelled with two young children, 2 and 1 and found The Orangery to be suitable. There is a travel cot provided and a stair gate on the top bedroom.

We can't wait to return, thank you for making our holiday fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing