We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view”

Warren Dunes State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bridgman
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had fun climbing the dunes with my son. Fun to see Lake Michigan from the top. The beach was great and nice bathrooms.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mjpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    114
    23
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very nice beach”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We decided to try this beach instead of going up to St Joe's. The beach itself is very nice, however the lack of decent bathrooms was surprising. The changing area is a open area which is fine, but there was no water to flush the urinal which makes the smell powerful even though it has no door. Strange the state would not keep such a place in better shape.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mustachemark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“What a fabulous family reunion.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The beach is beyond beautiful, get there early for a great spot. The dunes are the best natural exercise ever, my kids climbed the big dune 7 times to my 2. It was awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Caribbean feel...”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a fantastic beach. We kept thinking we were at the ocean instead of Lake Michigan! The sand was great and the dunes were so much fun to "play" on! Plenty of entertainment watching everyone enjoy climbing them, from toddlers to seniors. It was a unique experience and climbing them was not what I expected. We laughed at ourselves and enjoyed the "work out" it gave us. When we came around the curve on entering the park and first saw the dunes we both said "WHOOOOAA!". They were impressive to see. Walking on the beach itself was very relaxing and peaceful. Prior to our trip, our B&B host said it had a Caribbean feel. We were skeptical but it truly was similar. The waves and seagulls added to the ambiance! There is also a small snack bar and gift shop. I was amazed to see workers clearing the sand from the parking lots with snowplows. It was a very pleasant day at the beach!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magnificent Dunes - A Sight Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

If you're used to Atlantic shore dunes; hah! Prepare to be amazed. At 250 ft+ high, and constructed over years of Lake Michigan prevailing winds, these dunes are jaw-dropping in their natural wonder. Park officials are friendly and helpful (in stark contrast to the cold "welcome" we got at the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore). Figure about an hour to view the dunes and stroll the shore (more if you want to actually climb the dunes).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warren Dunes State Park also viewed

Bridgman, Berrien County
Bridgman, Berrien County
 
Stevensville, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Warren Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing