We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food ok, service lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagano

Sagano
Reserve with OpenTable
Sagano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill Pond Ln.
Description: Sagano Brighton boasts 7,500 square feet of restaurant space, complete with twelve Hibachi tables for you dining enjoyment. Your dinner party will enjoy a skilled Hibachi chef preparing your meal right before your eyes! This is an experience you will truly never forget, and is ideal for all kinds of celebrations. Four of these Hibachi tables are located in the Steakhouse's semi-private dining area, where we can accommodate parties of up to forty people. Our Bistro side is perfect for a quicker, quieter meal, offering the finest in sushi and other prepared items in a casual dining atmosphere. Our sushi menu is extensive, but feel free to ask for our Chef's Special and the Sushi Chef will create a one-of-a-kind item that will please your eyes as well as your palate! We look forward to serving you and your party soon.
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food ok, service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Sushi was ok. Hibachi was good. Secret sauce was yummy!! Service was lacking. Server started off strong, then disappeared. Never asked for refills, didn't clear away plates and no mention of dessert, we actually looked up dessert options online and chose to go to Coldstone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we have been here. The first two were great. This time the steak was so tough I couldn't eat it. Very disappointing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesY959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kids love this place, I don't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

OK, it's a japanese steakhouse. They do the same old song and dance, flip the knives/spatula, fling a piece of food that you try to catch in your mouth, etc. One trick pony, been there, seen that. My kids, however, love this place. We take them on their birthday's.

One time when I was there with the kids there were some food spots/splashes on the ceiling - gross.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lifesabeach368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is your typical Japanese steakhouse with dining around a large hibachi, watching the chefs cook your meal. Although there wasn't anything particularly wrong with our experience, it just wasn't particularly memorable, either. I've been to these sorts of places in the past and there was always more display of food chopping and presentation to your plate. For the price, there wasnn't a great show of skill and expertise by the chefs. Bottom line: One visit was enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have many Birthdays here and always have fun. The sushi is great and I usually get Filet and Scallops always a good call. The Soup is good and like the dressing on the salad here. Kids love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a2james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing