We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Lodge LLC

Big Bear Lodge LLC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodhaven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My family eats here about once a month for the last few years. Between us we have probably tried everything on the menu. My parents LOVE going in for the BOGO Prime Rib. Mom's favorite dish is the beef tips, dad doesn't have a favorite, my daughters is the salmon and burgers, mine (are 2) any of the burgers and the apple almond stuffed chicken. I don't find it any more pricey then going to Applebee's or anywhere else downriver. It has a unique decor. Special coupons for birthdays. Staff (for the most part) has ALWAYS been friendly and helpful. We have been to multi showers here as well and have always had excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    3
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Northern Rustic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Although the prices are a bit high for this area, the quality of the food is
outstanding & always cooked to perfection. Rebecca was our server and made us welcome with her smile and friendly attitude. Also, if you want to enjoy a real Northern rustic setting, there is no Lodge/Restaurant around the Down River area that will compare to The Big Bear Lodge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock MI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like a winter Snow job...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I call this a SNOW JOB special> This restaurant had a Super Bowl special (Feb 2,2014) if you used a coupon from their Email.
It sounded good so I checked the online menu. $16.49 for Prime Rib. Sounded reasonable to buy one get one free. This made up our mind.. We went, the place which was overwhelmed, finally sat down, ordered without looking at their menu, ate dinner and paid. We were charged $23.49 for the Ribeye. I called it to the attention of the server and she said they updated their menu yesterday. It was not the proper time to try to straighten this out there so I contacted them today and the owner said it was their Graphic Marketing peoples fault. She will not give any refund and she said she will exercise her right to remove my name from their email list.
I checked their website when returning home and it was then $18.49. They can look for a replacement for me as a customer now.
So much for patronizing this local business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank donaldnyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our second visit to Big Bear Lodge and both times we have been very pleased with the quality of the food and the service. Rebecca was our server, she was knowledgable, honest and friendly. She is on our "list", when we go back we will ask for her. The quality of the filet mignon was excellent and was a great price for the quality and size of the filet. It was cooked perfect both times we have eaten here and would recommend it highly! Wonderful atmosphere, great service and great food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCB04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Memorial Service Luncheon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our party of 32 were greeted by the staff who offered us their condolences in the loss of our Mother. Our servers Jesse, Christina and Trish were professional, courteous, and served all of our beverages at the same time. Our orders were taken and each of us received our food at the same time as well. Our sandwiches were hot, very good and the potatoes were crispy and tasty. Our entire group were pleased with the experience and on behalf of my family Thank You Big Bear Lodge for making this experience a nice end to a very difficult day.
Debbie R.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Bear Lodge LLC also viewed

Brownstown Township, MI
 

Been to Big Bear Lodge LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing