We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great camping at Woodchip Campground!”

Woodchip Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodchip Campground
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great camping at Woodchip Campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great place to camp at Woodchip Campground! It is a very family friendly campground. They are very well organized, have paved roads, nice shaded lots, the facilities are clean, they have a friendly staff, and lots of fun wad had by all! Our family will come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JFCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We love coming back to here every year. The pool is big and clean. There is so much for the kids to do. Bounce pillow, pool, slip n slide with foam, kids crafts, paved roads to ride bikes and scooters on,wagon rides, root beer floats. Plus it is all included in the price. The owners and his staff are very friendly and helpful. No complaints here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carynhuffy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've camped at this campground several times and I've always been happy with our experience there. this time we were right across from the pool area. This is a good-sized pool and the area around it is kept clean. We have a camper and I felt that the lot was a bit small, but not to small.
The only complaints I have is that the fire barrel we had was not in very good shape and I did have to go to the off ice and mention the the women's restroom was getting low on T.P.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank raspberrypie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My brothers and I go on an annual canoe camping trip every year and this time we thought we'd try grand rapids I called to make a reservation at this campground and attempted to book 2 sites for 6 people my brothers me and our significant others they told us this was a family campground and that we could not stay there because our parents are not with us we are all 25 to 28 we no longer need our parents to accompany us everywhere. They refused to book our reservations because we had such a "large" group of "kids" I've never heard of anything so ridiculous

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank cheezayboxgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Center hotels

Rockford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We bought a groupon to this campground last year and I see that they are selling them again and felt compelled to write about our experience. We thought we were getting such a good deal but would've rather paid double elsewhere. Our very first night they had tractor wagon rides for a set period of time. We were towards the end of the time frame but still within the allotted time so we lined up for our ride. The owner said he was done and when we mentioned there was still time he said "well, you should have caught one of the other 4 rides." my 3 and 8 year old boys were very sad. It was all downhill from there. The sites are tiny (and we have a popup!) and there were not enough electrical outlets for each site. Crummy showers (just a stall with shower curtain, no where to put your stuff). We were without power for a long period of time for an undetermined reason and some of the seasonal campers said that happens very often. The owner went out of his way to be rude and unaccommodating. The owner's family was staying the same weekend as we were and one of the grandson's said to my boys that they have to do what he says because he owns the place. Wowza.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The owner seems to be having money problems. He's pretty much sent the monthly campers packing to get the most for his sites on the weekends. Unfortunately, that leaves him very empty thru the week. A lot of unhappy monthly campers (no pun intended) are leaving. For what is offered, it's expensive. The lots are small, no pull-thrus, was here for the summer as I get ready to move to California and didn't want to sign a new lease. Had planned to stay another month to get ready to leave, but would have had to be on a site with no electric, no water and would have been moved to different sites (which I would have had to do alone) several times to make it to September. The showers are anything but private. The entry to the pool is thru the shower area, no place to put belongings or dry off. The women's toilet stalls are so small only children can use them comfortably, and I'm not a large woman. They sell ice cream and wood at the office, but nothing more. During my stay, there was no enforcement of quiet hours, people will walk thru your campsite with their dogs at all hours, and yes, the other posters are right. The owner can be very rude, shrugs off complaints about other campers, the roads are poorly maintained, and he does not keep his word. Very troubling considering he claims to be a pastor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

even if this place was your only choice, avoid it at all costs!!!!!! stay anywhere but here.
the new owner Richard is a piece of work. he will rip you off on electric if your seasonal, (make sure your record it and have him initial)
the spots are tight, unless your tenting, groups activities for kids, but he brings everyone in on the weekends, so use of the pool is pointless for the guests.
you are expected to do your own yardwork, mowing, they do nothing.
they are not friendly, the campground gets unruly and units are packed in like sardines, so get friendly with your neighbor, since you will have a birdseye view through their windows.
the owner expects to sit back, do nothing, and have everything run itself, he is arrogant, unfriendly and does not know how to run a business. but he will charge you anything he can and give you unfriendly service, and change his agreements to his advantage.
please be warned, he will double book your spot, and have you towed. he is money greedy.
so if you value your rig beware

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank monty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byron Center
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#35 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodchip Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodchip Campground

Property: Woodchip Campground
Address: 7501 Burlingame Ave SW, Byron Center, MI 49315-9403
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Byron Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Byron Center
Number of rooms: 122

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing