We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to unwind”
Review of Evergreen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great place to unwind”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I received great service at the desk and was delighted at the nearby lake and attractions. I usually come in the winter with friends, but a recent trip led me here. quiet and clean! not exactly close to the Pine river, but 20 miles isn't much. one of the nicer places in town for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    128
    51
    26
    9
See reviews for
122
126
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The golf courses at McGuires offer all the challenge anyone would ever need.
Conditions were better than we expected. Rooms were a bit tired but considering the price we got on Group Golfer 2 nights, 3 round for less than $150 pp we weren't complaining.
Staff is friendly. Be sure to take advantage of the 2 for $20 food specials.
We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My dad and I stayed here for a weekend snowmobile trip. The room (#173) was recently renovated with new wall coverings, window coverings, bathroom sink, toilet, shower, TV, but a few little things still needed finished such as trim between floor and the wall, and switch cover needed installed. But overall it was a nice room. The breakfest buffett was full of goodies and the servers kept my coffee topped off! The staff were friendly and the bar had some good drink and food choices, including some local Michigan beers on tap. The location was nice in that it sits on the major snowmobile trail and is only about 5 minutes to town by car. If you go for golf, probably nice, but it was covered in snow so I can't comment on that.

The pool, hot tub, and sauna were in one area and busy with kids so we didn't venture into it but looked well kept. Parking was not a problem. Wish there would have been a gas station closer to gas up the snow machines prior to returning them but if you have a gas can and a vehicle you'll be just a few miles by car to a gas station.

Would stay there again....don't think anyone would be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47201traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed in room 217 (fireplace suite) for 3 days, 2 nights. Upon arrival within the first hour the total overflowed in the master bedroom. Called the front desk and a plunger was brought to our room for us to use. No maintenance person came!!! Microwave in the room did not work!! There were no directions on how to start/use the fireplace. Had to call the front desk and that person has to ask someone else how to start it. Breakfast was the same both mornings we were there. Was hoping for a change the 2nd morning. Very mediocre breakfast.

On the plus side convenience of snowmobile trails was great! Curly's restaurant inside the hotel was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We appreciate hearing from our guests because it is only through comments like yours that we can see what we’ve done well, as well as where we can improve. I apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Please be assured that we have looked into all the areas you mentioned, and are making the appropriate changes to make sure similar occurrences do not happen in the future. Once again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We would love to have you visit us again. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me personally with any questions.

Respectfully,

Bill Shepardson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We only stayed one night but we will go back for a longer stay. We arrived Saturday morning and we were able to unload our snowmobiles and leave for the trail right from the parking lot. Super convenient. Therer is also a big area for my little one who is not trail ready to ride her mini around and up and down over hills. The best part is when the days activities are done you don't need to go anywhere, you can swim, eat and play right on sight. Our room was in the newely renovated section and was very clean and comfortable. Great beds and TV channel selections. Very friendly staff. It was a great place to bring a family.

Room Tip: Look at the map of rooms abailable on the website and book direct via the phone and ask for either t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice for the price. They have two restaurants at the hotel. We ate at the pub and the food was pretty tasty. We rented snowmobiles and the company drops them off at the hotel for you. We are thinking of coming back in the summer to golf. Great place for couples and a great place for families with kids.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Bright, clean comfortable room in a very warm and cozy resort overlooking a golf course and the city of Cadillac. Can't wait to come back here sometime. Resort staff was very helpful and accommodating, particularly with early check-in. Good home away from home feel, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadillac hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
1.9 mi away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#8 of 14 in Cadillac
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Cadillac
Days Inn Cadillac
#5 of 14 in Cadillac
393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cadillac
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Resort

Property: Evergreen Resort
Address: 7880 Mackinaw Trl, Cadillac, MI 49601-9746 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 327 beautiful acres outside the city of Cadillac, Evergreen Resort is home to two award-winning golf courses, two restaurants, 117 cozy guestrooms and much, much more. Best of all, there is always something to do at Evergreen Resort, regardless of when you plan your visit. Some resorts close their doors and hibernate through the winter, while others lose their appeal the moment the snow melts - but at Evergreen Resort we think differently. With miles of trails for hiking, biking, snowmobiling and cross-country skiing, there is always a reason to relish in the outdoors. That's why our resort stays open 365 days a year. We're also surrounded by half a million acres of national forest, so guests are just minutes away from superb downhill skiing, fishing and lakeside beaches. Planning a wedding, family reunion, or other group event? We have meeting space to accommodate groups of 12-200. Traveling with your pet? Pet friendly rooms are available for your furry friend as well. Make Evergreen Resort your one-stop destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcguire`s Hotel Cadillac
Mcguires Resort Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing