We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up North Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trailside Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I found this motel/lodge on TripAdvisor and read a positive review from someone who had stayed there during the winter months. Most of the photos showed snow and snowmobiles! We arrived on July 3 for the 4th of July holiday weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the new windows and functional screens for a cross-ventilation breeze. The room was very clean with up-north style log furniture and comfortable beds. The bathroom was sparkling clean. I appreciated the mini-fridge with a working freezer compartment and the microwave and coffee pot. There were no hangars but there were many hooks on the wall, a nice shelf above, and a bench for my suitcase. I needed a hairdryer and was able to borrow one from the motel office. The owners of the Trailside have worked hard to make your experience a positive one. If you stay once, you will no doubt stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 138 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here with a group of 9 couples, each having their own room. It was a great choice since it located right on the trail. Lots of parking for trucks and trailers. We rode our ATV's from here to Copper Harbor and all over the Keweenaw.
Room was very clean, it looked brand new. Our room was equipped with a mini refrigerator and microwave. Nice owners and a friendly staff. I would highly recommend this place to ATV and Snowmobile Riders.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

At first glance the Trailside Lodge Motel may give you the idea it is just like any other roadside motel in the UP…….. I assure you it is NOT! Recently a small group of us rode our UTV's from Mass City to Copper Harbor staying at a variety of "trailside" accommodations along the way. The day we arrived in Calumet at The Trailside Lodge, it was cold and poring down rain. We were a mess and somewhat miserable to say the least. While we were familiar with the motel by name & location from having snowmobiled in the area numerous times, none of us had stayed here. We were greeted by the owners at check in with friendly conversation about the ride in and the ride we were to embark on the next day. We were told the rooms are equipped with individual gas heating units that they had recently shut down due to the onset of summer, but due to the conditions that day and our misery, they offered to fire them right up for us. What came next was the greatest, most welcome surprise. Each of us had our own rooms with our sons, upon opening the doors simultaneously,,,,, recall how I said we were a mess, lets just say we all felt the need to strip down in the parking lot before entering the rooms. This Motel is recently updated, the rooms looked clean, smelled clean, and ultimately when all showered up and kicking back to relax for the night FELT CLEAN!!!! The beds were comfortable, the bedding was not decades old like so much of what you find in the UP. In the morning we were able to drive our UTV's down the shoulder of the road less than a mile to a restaurant for a reasonable and hearty breakfast.
Folks, lets put it this way, when you travel in the UP such as the Keweenaw, finding a motel is not hard, what is difficult sometimes is finding a motel that has been maintained and updated to the standards of the current decade. The owners have no doubt invested and reinvested in this establishment and it shows. But where it shows is more on the inside opposed to the outside, hence my review title. On the outside it's simply what you would expect in this area, it's what you don't see on the inside unless you stay there that makes it a gem in the Keweenaw.
The location of the Trailside Motel being on the north end of Calumet makes it a great centralized location no matter your mode of transportation / recreation. Plenty of parking if your hauling a trailer. The owners know the peninsula well and can assist you with making plans if you don't already have some, or they can help revise your plans with helpful tips if they think you're missing something.
Last but not least, I felt the price was very reasonable. I would recommend Trailside again and again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A pleasant gem in a quaint little town. This Motel was so refreshing to stay in! These rooms have a modern lodge motif, were new and clean. Our unit was equipped with a mini refrigerator and microwave. Very quiet atmosphere and a nice staff. I would highly recommend this place and would stay here again.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
12.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houghton, MI
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
11.3 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
11.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailside Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside Lodge Motel

Address: 57900 US Highway 41, Calumet, MI 49913-2424
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Price Range: £63 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated and constantly being updated, the Trailside Lodge is an ideal location for visitors to the Copper Country in the Keweenaw Peninsula. We are open year round and located on Highway US-41, just 1/4 mile north of Calumet, the headquarters for the Keweenaw National Historic Park. This central location is perfect for visiting all the interesting museums, lighthouses, and scenic area attractions in our beautiful Keweenaw. Located right on the main trail system, we are your perfect choice for an awesome adventure, whether it be UTV's, ATV's, even snowmobiles in the winter! With rentals available on site, this is the outdoor enthusiasts go-to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trailside Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing