We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Certificate of Excellence
Spring
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are looking for a top rate hotel in the Houghton area, this is it. You'll pay a little more for this hotel but it was by far the cleanest and most comfortable hotel we've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    60
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
61
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mc Farland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were here July 1 - 6 and had a very nice time. Used this as a spot to be between family in Calumet and the rest of the peninsula for activities. Everything was clean and nice. Beds and rooms were very nicely kept. Bathrooms are a bit small but nice (toilet and shower are in the bathroom and the sink is outside the door). The pool was a lot of fun BUT is only 5 feet deep at the deepest point. Also, the rough bottom and edges easily scrape your skin. Still, we had a lot of fun in there. The morning breakfast was nice - I appreciated the raisin bran and boiled egg for healthier options. My kids did the waffles with strawberry topping. One morning we had to grab and go and took a yogurt and piece of fruit with a cereal bar. that was helpful! Even with a crowd at breakfast, they kept re-stocking supplies. We struggled to find a good map of the smaller roads of the peninsula and one of the ladies at the desk helped (they had some behind the counter). Didn't appreciate other guests smoking and drinking outside the back door one night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Oh- you have to ask for a refrigerator if you want one - they have them, but don't count on getting one unless you ask.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were in the area to attend a wedding and stayed at this AmericInn. The hotel staff provided exceptional service the rooms were clean and the location is convenient. I would stay there again on my next trip to Calumet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Loyal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had gotten lost on the way up to see my wife's family, and didn't get in till 5:00 am. After all night on the road we were very tired, and were going to stay threw the till the next night. They could have charged us for 2 nights, but out of the kindness in their hearts they only charged us for the 1 night we actually stayed. That was a wonderful surprise when we checked out being that we were only in the room for a few hours the night before. They were so nice to us by having a bag of shower supplies the next night and not disturbing us so we could get some rest after the mishap the night before.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freesoil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Decided to stay here after talking to a Michigan State Police Trooper. They had an opening and the room was very clean. It was a charge port for all your phones, computers and ipads. That is very nice and the first I have seen it. Price as good. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freesoilsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staying at AmericInn Lodge & Suites I was able to get a very comfortable rest. And even though there were other rooms around me, it was a quiet stay. After an eight hour drive in the car, rest is what I needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

While this hotel is about 10 miles from Houghton and MTU, it is worth the drive because it is very clean and welcoming. They have a nice pool and sauna and their breakfast is very good with fresh eggs and sausage, make your own waffles and all kinds of healthy foods too like yogurt and cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs and muffins. Good coffee too. Beds were comfortable although the pillows were a little soft for my taste. The hotel is very clean. The only downside is how far it is from MTU but then you are closer to drive around the peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Crackerjack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
9.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Address: 56925 S 6th St, Calumet, MI 49913-2901
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 room motel is located in the heart of the Keweenaw National Historic Park. We are 15 minutes from the twin cities of Houghton and Hancock. We are located right off the Snow Mobile and ATV trails. We are open year round and staffed 24 hours a day. We have an enhanced continental breakfast, salt water pool, whirlpool and Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Calumet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing