We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lack of courtesy for our employees while staying at their hotel. Was questioned at breakfast if we were actually guests of the hotel. Were not allowed to fill a small sandwich cooler with some ice upon our departure in the morning, even though we were returning that night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments concerning your visit to the AmericInn of Calumet
First, let me apologize for the frustration that you experienced. It is certainly not acceptable for any of our guests to leave our location with the feelings and perceptions that you shared in your Review.

Thank you for taking the time to notify me of the details of your experience, we value your opinion and your business with AmericInn. We are sorry for any misunderstanding that may have occurred please give me a call so I can address the issues in person. Your comments will help us to do a better job of servicing our guests in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and concern.

Sincerely,

Dianne Peterson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was a last minute booking, and my choices in the area were limited. I had stayed at an AmericInn once before and it was not especially memorable but this was a completely different experience. The price was very reasonable and accommodations were excellent! The free breakfast was the best I've had, great pool & hot tub area, good wifi, very nice room, would stay again. If I could have a hotel and room like this everywhere I go I would be very pleased. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not luxurious, but excellent nonetheless. Excellent bed comfort, and very clean. Breakfast very good and well supplied and attended. Good number of tables and eating surfaces Didn't try the pool, but saw others enjoying it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

You really don't have much choice for a hotel/motel if you are staying in Calumet, MI. The rooms are basic, no frills, dull colors with no view, but they are clean. The price is over $100 for a single room for one night in the summer, unless you are a frequent Americinn traveler with points to use. The hotel has free wifi and a pool.

Room Tip: The property runs along a busy street, so traffic is heavy no matter what room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank triptravel2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiannePeterson, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn lodge & suites of Calumet. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; we hope we get the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

When ever we go to visit the Keweenaw we stay here! we enjoy everything about it! It is very clean and has friendly staff ! we always travel with too much stuff and they were very nice to offer to help us bring it to the second floor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are looking for a top rate hotel in the Houghton area, this is it. You'll pay a little more for this hotel but it was by far the cleanest and most comfortable hotel we've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were here July 1 - 6 and had a very nice time. Used this as a spot to be between family in Calumet and the rest of the peninsula for activities. Everything was clean and nice. Beds and rooms were very nicely kept. Bathrooms are a bit small but nice (toilet and shower are in the bathroom and the sink is outside the door). The pool was a lot of fun BUT is only 5 feet deep at the deepest point. Also, the rough bottom and edges easily scrape your skin. Still, we had a lot of fun in there. The morning breakfast was nice - I appreciated the raisin bran and boiled egg for healthier options. My kids did the waffles with strawberry topping. One morning we had to grab and go and took a yogurt and piece of fruit with a cereal bar. that was helpful! Even with a crowd at breakfast, they kept re-stocking supplies. We struggled to find a good map of the smaller roads of the peninsula and one of the ladies at the desk helped (they had some behind the counter). Didn't appreciate other guests smoking and drinking outside the back door one night, but that's not the hotel's fault. Oh- you have to ask for a refrigerator if you want one - they have them, but don't count on getting one unless you ask.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calumet
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
42 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Trailside Lodge Motel
Trailside Lodge Motel
#1 of 2 in Calumet
133 reviews
9.7 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
10 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet

Address: 56925 S 6th St, Calumet, MI 49913-2901
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Calumet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calumet
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 room motel is located in the heart of the Keweenaw National Historic Park. We are 15 minutes from the twin cities of Houghton and Hancock. We are located right off the Snow Mobile and ATV trails. We are open year round and staffed 24 hours a day. We have an enhanced continental breakfast, salt water pool, whirlpool and Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Calumet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing