We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Prison??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canton
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel or Prison??”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I come in to look at a meeting room a little after 11 and the doors are locked and the lady Im talking threw a door with which was very rude older lady with short hair finally buzed me in could not find the book the let me set the date and had a just a i don't wanna be here attuide so i left i seen the room which was very small for me need it bigger

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calrenelovesmykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    37
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
24
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lithonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family stayed here for 4 nights due to the AAU junior olympics. The hotel is nice and the rooms were clean. The cleaning staff made the beds everyday and cleaned the bathroom with new towels. The walls are thin and you can hear people walking in their room above you. The breakfast bar is not even close to a full breakfast. There are bread products and fruit. The pool is small but we didn't come to swim. The wifi was very slow. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear people below, stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 261Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The front desk was super helpful and friendly! Our room was great for 2 adults and 2 kids (11/8), very spacious and clean. The housekeepers were great at refilling and resetting our room each day! Pool is a little bit small but kept clean minus the ceiling fans in the pool area. Loved that I could work out and see my family in the pool! Breakfast was okay, the omelette was over cooked and crunchy but good for complimentary. There is great food choices close by with Bob Evans and Tim Hortons. My biggest concern this weekend were the running crazy baseball teams. All in all, will I go back? FOR SURE! Especially with IKEA across the street!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blountville, TN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

For a family reunion we had 5 rooms. Each room was great - mine had a fireplace and a mini kitchen. Although we didn't use the stove to cook - it is a nice feature. The service was great; the entire hotel was clean, with attention paid to the smallest details. The breakfast was a little limited - not everyone likes cheese on their eggs; and the apples were not the freshest. However, the breakfast hostess was friendly and attentive. The location is great - easy access to 275/lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The only downside was the ac. We prefer that the fan run continuously to drown out the night noise and with this ac, it ran very little. It stayed too warm in the room for us. However, We will be staying here again when we visit our Michigan relatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our family stayed here for a total of four nights, three rooms. We loved the clean rooms, comfortable beds. Cable TV had umpteen channels. WiFi not so good or consistent. Also liked: elevator, large lobby, workout room, decent make-your-own breakfast, mini-fridges and microwaves, coin washer and dryer. Traffic on busy Ford Rd might cause concern for some, but the plus of the area is that there are numerous restaurants, retail stores, parks. The indoor pool was rather small, but fine for our grandchildren. Very close to I-275 and Detroit Metro Airport. Desk staff was friendly and helpful - no complaints. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a connecting room if traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On our first night of 4 ceiling began to leak. Dripping began around 2:30 a.m. Given we were in town for a tournament our daughter was in, and the fact that we had to be at fields by 11 we made a quick decision to throw our bedding on the floor to get some needed sleep worring it would take too much time to get another room if any were available. Next morning at 8 we approached front desk to explain what happened and were told we would need to speak to the manager. In the mean time they would see about moving us. By 9:30 we were still waiting so handed our daughter off to another family to get her to the fields. Upon approaching the desk again they said they had another room but that the manager continued to be unavailable. We made the room change and bolted for the field but left our cell # hoping the manager would call us. He didn't. We had to call Comfort Suite's Corp offices to get them to get the manager to call us. They also informed us they had little control over the manager as hotels are independently owned. In other words, we were on our own. That's putting it lightly. Once we heard from the manager, around 4 that day, he informed us there wasn't much he could do because we had waited until the morning to advise them water was dripping in our room. To show us he did appreciate our situation he would give us a 10% break on the room rate for each day of our stay. He also said we shouldn't have placed bedding on floor but would not penalize us for that. We asked if we could check-out at which point he noted we had a 2 night min as part of the 'special rate' we got as part of the tournament and would be charged as such. 2nd room didn't leak but toilet and HVAC had issues. BTW, once home spoke with another team and found they stayed at a near by Marriott for $20/night less. Guess special rate means Comfort Suites Canton gets to screw you.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It is just after 3am and I am still unable to sleep. My family and II planned to come to Canton, MI to enjoy some shopping, swimming and some rest! Unfortunately, most of our plans were thwarted because of this hotel and its rude guests. I booked this hotel online and thankfully only booked ONE night---we wanted to see what this hotel was like. Check in was okay and we were able to get into our spacious room, get changed and head for the pool. This pool is tiny (poolside/pool capacity is 28 people), but it wasn't busy when we arrived. We got in and enjoyed the water, until we noticed what appeared to be VOMIT along one side of the pool! Needless to say, we exited the poll immediately and showered!

We decided to enjoy some shopping at nearby IKEA and had a wonderful time! We got back to our rooms just after 9pm and began getting ready for bed. It was then that we noticed that people were talking loudly and slamming doors. We believed that the noise would die down soon & attempted to get our much needed rest. Unfortunately, we were not able to sleep. The constant barrage of talking, slamming doors and running that occurred all around us was just TOO LOUD for us to sleep!! IT was at that moment I remembered all the reviews I read online about "paper thin walls" and "Constant noise" I really believed that these online reviews were due to the "picky" customers and didn't pay much attention to it. I am here to testify that the WALL QUALITY is a HUGE PROBLEM at this hotel! Even as I type this message, I am hearing doors slam, and LOUD talking! It is still around 3am! I can even hear people talking in their bathrooms as their voice echos throughout my room. There is a FAIRFIELD INN next door--I'm checking to see if they have any vacancies for tonight & move my family out of this HORRIBLE HOTEL!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42207Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canton

Property: Comfort Suites Canton
Address: 5730 N Haggerty Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canton 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites is located in Canton right off of I-275. The hotel is 100% smoke free. We have many restaurants in the area and delivery options. Buffalo Wild Wings, Wendy's, Bob Evans, Tim Horton's, KFC and IKEA are all within walking distance as well. Comfort Suites offers all suites with larger rooms, fridge, microwaves and DVD players in all rooms. The hotel serves complimentary hot breakfast, has an indoor heated pool, 24 hour fitness and business centers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi thru out the hotel. Comfort Suites opened in 2008 as a new build. The hotel also offers an airport shuttle service for a fee of $20.00 per way that is available 24 hours per day by appointment. Shuttle can also be reserved for group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canton Hotel Canton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing