We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay - Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Canton
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed one night for business. Hotel was being renovated, so there was some construction in progress, but staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Was upgraded to a Jaccuzzi Suite without having to ask. Breakfast was above-average, with all items being replenished quickly. Pool and hottub were both well above average. Location was quite convenient for both Canton and Farmington Hills. One of the better experiences I have had. Bed was comfortable, and room was quiet. A great staff makes all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    35
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
12
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stay here every time I come to Canton. This property has the best staff of ANY HIE property. What a team here and a well oiled machine. While I was there the internet was being upgraded. I had to leave before it was online. The speed there should be blistering.

Room Tip: Simply ask for what you want. These folks actually care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stay in Canton occasionally when traveling through Detroit, its a nice distance from detroit and we love a restaurant just up the road from the Holiday Inn Express. The last couple times we have stayed, the carpet was replaced, the next time they were changing furniture. This past visit there was new pool furniture being put out. I'm sure if you give it a couple months the rest will be remodeled as well. We have always had nice service and friendly staff. Breakfast in the morning is always a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Kari Y,

Thank you for your considerate review. It is nice to know that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your your kind words regarding our staff as we pride our selves on excellent customer service. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Traveled from out if own to shop ikea and stayed here. The rooms are average with a mini fridge and microwave. The pool is smaller but nice with the attached hot tub. However, being 7 months pregnant, I would have loved a place to sit. They had 1 table and 5 chairs in this area. 2 families alone took up all the space. So when I ask for more, dawn at the front desk says That's not possible but I "can leave a suggestions on the website." Here's a suggestion...when a hormonal customer that's paying $$$ to stay at your hotel needs a chair, find it. Never would I come again. Apparently "they don't put more hairs in because people keep breaking them." Holiday Inn, spend more money in better chairs or stock up on the cheap ones.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Krisanne R,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the unacceptable service might have caused you. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for review. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to improve on these areas. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make it right.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Canton on two occaisions. The hotel is a little old and beat but they are supposedly fixing it up. There has always been a construction trailer in the middle of the parking lot but I haven't seen any actual construction on either visit. The people that work there are nice and they have a fairly good meal with beer and wine one evening a week, Thursday I believe it is. I like it well enough to continue staying there on any future visit.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the first floor suites so I can use the side door which is close to my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear David B,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Spent a week here, not my first stay. Overall, not a bad place. Staff is friendly and willing to accomodate. Breakfast is standard HIE breakfast, no disappointments. Seems that there are some events on Wednesdays that are nice & thoughtful. LG Flatscreens are good. Exercise room is decent: treadmills, elliptical, some other stuff. Pool & hot tub looked clean.

Ok, let me break the sparkly here for a minute. Three things: the bed feels like a giant ironing board with pillows on it; the internet bandwidth is atrocious; and the shower needs an update. Don't drive down Lotz road beyond the hotel unless you want to carry your axle back with you (this is not the hotel's fault, maybe they could push Canton to do something about it -- but, there are easy alternatives to that road anyway). The road from Rte 12 onto Lotz is just fine.

Funny thing I saw... there's been a sign in the lobby all week saying something to the effect of, "Pardon the remodeling..." but...I don't see or hear anything happening. And it looks about the same as I saw it last time, which must be several months ago. I see another reviewer commented about the same thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear WhatHome,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff, breakfast and fitness room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed, internet connection and the bathroom condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Below average for this Holiday Inn. Staff was friendly. THE ONLY HOTEL THAT EVER CHARGE A SERCURITY DEPOSIT $50 !!!!!!!. Rooms were clean overall. Location not the best. Parking was ok. Room cost was above average. Go else where.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canton, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Robert D,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm glad you mentioned our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Canton
Address: 3950 South Lotz Road, Canton, MI 48188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Canton is conveniently located off I-275 & Michigan Ave. The Canton Sports Center is only 3 miles west of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is one of Canton's finest hotels. We offer 81 spacious guest rooms with interior corridors, 3 floors, wireless Internet, business center open 24 hours includes free high-speed Internet access, fax and copier. Indoor heated pool and spa, exercise room, free hot Continental breakfast. Suites are one room with a king bed, pull out queen sleeper sofa, micro-fridge. Jacuzzi rooms all have a king bed and Jacuzzi inside sleeping room, all rooms have microwave and fridge. The hotel is near Ford Field, and we welcome NCAA and hockey teams.Visit Canton, MI and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are conveniently located near Livonia, Plymouth, Westland, Ann Arbor, Yazaki, IKEA, Artic Edge Hockey Arena, Detroit Convention Center, Canton Sports Center and The Henry Ford Museum. We also have our Minority Certificate and are FEMA approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Canton Hotel Canton
Holiday Inn Canton
Canton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing