We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel staff (Klodiana & Maria) were extremely accommodating and friendly. Our room was clean and very comfortable. I would definitely stay at this property again. It truly was a great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F25Rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel. The staff and I strive to provide a friendly, clean and comfortable atmosphere for all of our guests; it is extremely rewarding to know we were able to provide this for you.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again or at any of our other brand locations. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Klodiana, Maria and the rest of my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    22
    18
    20
See reviews for
17
13
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The internet sucks.. other than that, they've made improvements since I've been here. The in house laundry place also sucks with only 4 washers.. Never seems to be available, especially on the weekends. My fridge leaks water constantly. Go somewhere else unless you really need to save money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you experienced multiple issues when staying with us. I know the experience you had with your refrigerator and our laundry services must have been inconvenient and frustrating. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention.

We appreciate your business and hope you will give our hotel another try in the future or stay at any one of our other brand locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

When we got here our room wasn't even clean. We had to wait about an hour. But they were kind and gave us the first night for free. The hallways smelled like smoke. Then when we got to our room, there was a TERRIBLE smell. We gagged. The beds are tiny. We think the smell was coming from the bathroom. (we checked under the beds for dead things, all good, haha) we left for fresh air once we got there. I don't suggest this place because it doesn't seem well maintained. This is probably the best feedback you will ever get. I assure you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassafras888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Detroit - Canton. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
348 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here only because (1) availability (2) location near client. As soon as we opened the room door it smelled like wet dog. The carpet was filthy-our black socks prooved how dirty.

Smokers filled small the back door trash bin which was left full for too long. Lots of green algae growth on concrete by back door.

A fragrant oily product... ?Mistolin? ??? is used to mop the back entrance area but it is REALLY slippery.

This location needs a THOROUGH deep cleaning-from the ac filters to the rims of the bathroom sinks.

The standard dust & vacuum service is not sufficient. Some TLC would go a long way, but management needs to look harder than a quick open of a door IF they even do that.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife joined me on a business trip to Michigan and we chose Extended Stay because the price was right and it had a kitchen. We ended up asking for a refund and going elsewhere because our first room reeked of stale cigarette smoke and the second wasn't any better. I can only assume that the hotel allowed smoking before state law prohibited it in 2010 and they haven't done a good job getting the smell out of the furnishings.

I would only recommend this place if you're on a budget and don't mind the smokey aroma.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinymogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed at the Extended Stay for two nights. My main reasons for choosing this location were that it was close to Ann Arbor without the Ann Arbor price tag, and that there was a refrigerator. I had stayed in Extended Stays before so pretty much knew what to expect: no shampoo, no blow dryer, no daily maid service - no big deal for me. I really liked having the full-size refrigerator and freezer, and the kitchen sink to use. There was also a two burner stove top, toaster, and a coffee maker. There were two bowls, plates, cups, coffee cups, and tableware settings. Also a colander, spatula, and paring knife. No pots or pans. That being said, it had everything I wanted for myself for this trip.

Everything in the room was clean, although there were stains on the floor, carpet, and counter. There were several carpet stains in the hallway as well. Basically, it's clean, just tired-looking. But for their prices I could not get too worked up about it.

Front desk staff and other employees that I saw were all very friendly.

Also, this location is very close to I-275 (2-3 minutes, depending on the light) but it was extremely quiet. I could not hear any traffic unless I was outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinmarie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Stayed here 2 nights. Like most others have said, this is a fairly basic, inexpensive hotel (under $25 via Priceline bid). Room had the mini-kitchen with full-size fridge w/ freezer, microwave, 2-burner stove-top, toaster, coffeemaker, plates and pans. TV was tiny with limited channels, wifi internet (which worked well) was a one-time fee of $5. No shampoo/conditioner included in the bathroom, so bring your own.

The room was clean, can't complain much there. Hotel location is perfect, about 10 minutes north of DTW right off I-275. Tons of shopping and restaurants within minutes of the hotel on Ford Rd.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaWestCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Address: 2000 N Haggerty Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Canton
Extended Stay Canton
Canton Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing