We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, old, and more old.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Old, old, and more old.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I just filled out their survey - the hotel is old looking, old smelling, and the staff weren't that friendly. I bought some Febreze and the room was fine after that. I noticed a lot of holes in the carpet, chips in the wall, chips in the door, etc. This place is in bad need of renovation. The elevator is a little scary in how much it creaks and groans, and they only had one luggage cart available. My hotel room also had very few dishes and I had to clean what was there due to it not being very clean (again, smell and look - clearly the glasses had detergent stuck to them!). It was fine for a quick stopover vacation like this, but I wouldn't have wanted to be there longer than 3 nights. Its also hard to find the entrance (turn at the sign for the Hyatt and follow the curve of the road to the left).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    22
    18
    20
See reviews for
17
13
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have never stayed in such a dirty and horrible place. This place should be called a motel instead of hotel. You know there is a problem if you have to wipe everything down as soon as you walk in the room. The carpet was completely dirty couldn't bare walking on it without sandals.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nysteffy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Our room was horrible!!! Stains all over the walls, written all over the place... It smelled horrible like eggs... Stains in the floor, nothing like the pictures were shown. The outside of the hotel was nice looking, but as soon as you got in the hotel it was just terrible! If you have to go into a hotel and start cleaning, that tells you all....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bxndrscutest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is my favorite place to stay during the convention in Belleville as usually for years!!! The hotel location is so green and wildlife! The hotel staff, specially Klodiana, is so friendly and helpful and it is a good price within the quality standard. I would recommend this hotel for your family or business trip .

Haroun

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the hotels location as well as Klodiana and staff.

Once again, thank you for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I suppose it depends on your standards. My room was dirty. Old dirt and urine were at the base of the toilet, the top of the refrigerator was dirty and sticky, the top edge of the bed and chair railings were also nasty. The towels I used to clean these items were black when I finished. We also went out and bought several air fresheners to mask the odor. Needless to say we will not be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank susieq586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The issues you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience.

To ensure that a situation like yours doesn't happen again, my team and I are working on this very diligently by inspecting rooms before checking in arrivals.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. To discuss further, or if you have any questions, please contact me at can2@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am from China, I stayed here 2 times, 1 month each time for business
The staff like Klodiana and some others are so kindly
It is wonderful for family and couples to stay also
I recommend this hotel for your business travel or sightseeing journey
It's very safe also!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Rebecca - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel when you were in the area for business. As well, I am glad that our staff provided you with such great service, especially Klodiana.

Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was in business trip to Michigan, and I stayed 3 months last year and 3 months this year in this same hotel. The front desk, especially the lady named Klodiana, she is really nice to people, and very helpful. hotel itself is good for it's price. and room service once a week for long stay like me. located in downtown of Canton, and I like the small river in front of the hotel. many wild life there. very close to gym center also.

Adam Zhao

Room Tip: I prefer room facing the river. it's better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with or location as well as our rates and staff. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Address: 2000 N Haggerty Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Extended Stay, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Canton
Extended Stay Canton
Canton Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing