We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

When I first arrived the clerk informed me that she didn't see that my reservation was made using the ESH10 code that I'd just used the previous day but that she'd put it in for me. I asked "so I'll get my refund of $10 upon check out" she said "Yes". Once I got to the room it was awful!!! It looks like traces of feces, blood and just dirt period were on the walls. The bathroom door was marked up and the drawers were "buckled", the counter strips were hanging off as well. I called first... No answer (which became a pattern throughout the stay as the clerk was often outside smoking and chatting) She FINALLY answered and informed me that she only had 1 room left and did I want to see it. Of course I did as i couldn't RISK staying in the current room. I went to the desk to get the keys and asked her if she'd seen that room. she said no she never goes into the rooms. I said she should. I'd asked for pots/pans ect upon check in and when we went to the desk to change rooms but had to call for them twice to ask for them with AGAIN no answer. At checkout Klodiana (Who is very nice, customer friendly and helpful) informed me that she didn't see the discount applied. I was PISSED (excuse me) and let her know I was along with how bad my stay had been!!! She asked Kenya (Who has the best calming demeanor and great customer satisfaction skills) for assistance. Together they adjusted the rate and gave me my discount plus additional $ I appreciated the efforts but the experience has left an awful aftertaste that won't soon go away! I've stayed at many extended stay locations. (including this one at least twice so they must have changed management or something cause it's the worst I've EVER stayed at! I used to go to the deluxe in Warren at least 2-5 times per month staying in the apt room and stay at other brands but have NEVER had such a bad stay as this one!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    22
    19
    21
See reviews for
17
13
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I entered the lobby, and it was just your basic hotel lobby. They did have coffee and muffins available for breakfast. As soon as I got out of the elevators to go to my room, I knew that I was not going to have a nice hotel experience. The carpet looked dirty, and there was a musty smell in the air. Right outside my room was a stack of 5 empty paint buckets, and I wondered why it was there and if they will ever remove it during my stay. In my room, there was a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and refrigerator. I was only staying one night, so I didn't use any of these amenities. I was actually scared to open the refrigerator. There were 2 double beds, and I wondered how long it has been since they washed the sheets. The bed was your old fashioned mattress that you can almost feel the springs, the white sheets were okay, but the blue blanket over the flat sheet was so thin! The bathroom only had soap, kleenex, and towels. It looked clean, but I wasn't really sure how deeply they clean it. The carpet in the room also needs a nice steam clean. The staff person in the front desk was nice, but I just would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacayshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is the second year in a row I was able to stay at the Extended Stay of America in Canton Michigan. The length of my stay each time was 3 months. Like my stay last year, this stay was another wonderful experience. Everyone on the staff went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable and enjoying my time at the hotel.

Klodiana, a staff member at the hotel, was one such person who really helped make my stay an exceptional one and is a major reason I will return again. From things like explaining my bill, making sure I got my mail to other question or concerns I had, Klodiana was not afraid to step up and make sure things were done when they needed to be and questions answered in a way I could understand. I can’t thank her enough for all of her help.

As I said I stayed here before and I will stay again. The hotels location and value make this an excellent stay for anyone looking for a place that involves long periods of time.

Thanks again staff, I will be back.

Rick

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room I had for 4 nights was awful. Every night when I get back from work, I walked into a room that always smelled like smoke. It was awful and I always had to adjust to it. The ceiling had pieces falling off of it.
The channel lineup was pretty crappy. The one positive thing was the grab and go breakfast was always well stocked and easy to grab on my way out for work.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Techdude422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ms.Klodiana was a wonderful front desk person. She was ever willing to help us in any way she could. She was thorough in her job and considerate of our requests and provide valuable advice for our visit/stay in the city. Great Job Klodiana!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was in need of a barrier free room post surgery for a couple weeks and this property came to mind. It was located close to my family which was a plus as they were needed to drop off supplies and assist in daily activities. The room was big enough to navigate with a wheelchair moving easily between kitchen, sleeping area and bathroom. The most uncomfortable part of my stay was the bed. Lucky for me I own a tempur pedic mattress topper which improved my sleep immediately on night 2. I found many of the staff to be friendly and courteous even going out of their way to bring packages to my room as doing so myself was difficult to do while moving the wheelchair myself. I did not enjoy the run of the property that the ducks and geese seem to have here though. Walking, my wife, or wheeling, myself, through parking lot and sidewalks was generally tricky so as not to squash and pooh left by the local wildlife.

Room Tip: Make sure person accepting reservation reads back, while you listen intently, the reservation. I wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked the place for 7 days and left after 2 days. As soon as I checked in I found the restroom is not clean.She still Didn't change my room. Finally the next person came and change my room. I felt disgusted as I was staying with my wife and kid. I left after 2 days. Out of 3 front desk clark,2 were nice and one was too loud and had bad manners when I checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iampolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Canton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 11 in Canton
117 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canton
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton
Address: 2000 N Haggerty Rd, Canton, MI 48187-3775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Canton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Canton
Extended Stay Canton
Canton Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing