We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food at Neehees”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Neehees

Neehees
Ranked #6 of 180 Restaurants in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Food at Neehees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Food at Neehees is awesome. They prepare the food relatively quickly and are very organized. You need ot walk to the counter to pick up the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shiva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I don't know much about Indian food other than I like it. Neehee's is in a tiny strip mall at the western edge of Ford Road in Canton and is very bare bones in decor, but seemed very clean. More like a tiny diner. If you go (and you don't know much about Indian food), be sure to check out the website ahead of time to get a feel of what's there and what things are. They have a great visual menu which helps a lot so you can see what the dishes looked like. We went as a goodbye lunch to a research assistant who was going back to grad school. I had the chole batura -- some sort of spicy chickpea dish with puffy bread (not naan or maybe puffy naan). It was very spicy and very good.
My assistants had the chaana chat, a samosa, and the paneer corn. It was way too much food for them, but it was all quite good. And its all vegetarian and very reasonably priced, total of about $26 for the three of us with enough left over for another lunch (or single dinner). Definitely will visit again. Authentic Indian food I assume by the number of folks to seemed to be from India eating there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
373 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Indian street food, where the local Indian community goes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

It is not haute cuisine. It is not meant to be. It is casual vegetarian Indian "street food" dining providing comfort food from the north and south of India. It has a large menu. The clientele. Is predominately India.
A hint for the firs timers is to look up the menu on, and use the web find descriptions of various dishes. Several of our favorites are the biehl with chutney, the dry paneer chili, the various wraps as well as their Indian version of Chinese food. They also have Indian style ice cream imported from New Jersey.

It is semi cafeteria style-order at the counter, get a number, pick up when the number is called. Order are not necessarily filled all at once. No alcohol is served

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

india people are very clean but restaurant dirty, dirty,dirty,dirty look bathroom look table and chair.
food plate and around water. I am not sure how clean it's??? my food !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Really great food, cheap, interesting, can't find anywhere else even remotely close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This was really neat food, deliciously prepared. They offered a lot of stuff not really seen in the US and what exists is normally in places like New York.

This isn't a romantic restaurant. But it's cool, so depending on your date it totally works for that too. It's loud, crowded, full of foreign languages, and self service.

You order at a counter, and get a ticket. They scream it out and you pick up and sit where you please. Bollywood blares in the background with orders being shouted above it all on microphones. But close your eyes and the sounds and smells will make you feel like you have left the US.

Food was delicious. The one item had too many onions for me, but I don't really like onions so it would probably be fine normally. It's served quickly so it would be fine for a lunch or I you needed dinner fast.

A LOT of vegetarian and vegan options. The menu has a symbol for vegan which is sweet. No guessing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackknive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Neehees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing