We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good But Not The Best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best China

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best China
Ranked #103 of 178 Restaurants in Canton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good But Not The Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

If I ever did find the "Best" Chines restaurant I guess I would never go anywhere else. I personally do not think this place is the best. BUT, it is good and I would eat there again.

Everyone has their own idea of what the best Chinese food should taste like. Based on how popular this place is, many people must find it to their liking.

Try it, you might like it as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CollinsJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than most Chinese food, fresh and scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I love Chinese food, but too many of the restaurants serve what I would call mess hall "slop." Not Best China. The Crab Wontons are one of my favorites. Portions are a good size. My husband and I split a single Almond Boneless Chicken dinner. We get carryout, but there is a small seating area. Mighty tasty and well prepared with fresh ingredients.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, location is not very inviting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We really enjoyed the food. Had the Lo Mein, General Tso's chicken and a noodle dish. All were fresh and tasty. The Generals Chicken had nice chunks of meat and lighter breading (versus some that is fried breading and little meat). Good carry out option for the area. It is located in a very ugly strip mall. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“3 times carryout, 2 times leaking containers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

The service for carry out is fine, the food is above average and a tad bit on the pricier side.

Every time I've been here, it's swarming with Asian looking diners, winging chopsticks like weapons at their dinners, perhaps they've got to get back to work in a hurry from their lunch break, or else they really like scarfing down this restaurant's food..either way they are digging in without hesitation, chicken feet here, intestines there,tripe stew over yonder.. just plain yummy looking expressions on their faces.. Enjoying their food to no end.


I've ordered red chili fish, a crispy shrimp dish and garlic eggplant off the white/chinese menu. Of the 3 the garlic eggplant was probably the best. All 3 dishes have a slight oily texture to them. And on two of the 3 carryouts the containers leaked bigtime. (the shrimp dish didn't have a lot of liquid as part of the entree so it remained in it's styrofoam holding cell until arrival intact ).
I'm not sure if the tops on the plastic containers weren't pressed down all the way or if there was a slight crack in the bottom of the containers. However, for the short distance they rode around in the car they didn't tip, I don't think I tipped it while carrying it to the car , but a substantial amount of tasty gooeyness seeped out someplace and wound up in the bottom of the plastic bag, which did hold the contents and keepmy car from smelling like fishheads and garlic..

So if you are carrying out a liquid based order (most have some sort of broth or goo) as part of the entree , you might wish to ask them to double bag it.

as for the sketchiness of the area? You've got to be kidding.....It's Canton, not Inkster, you could probably even leave your car unlocked and a laptop on the seat and it would still be there when you've returned with your leaking carry out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willdriveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best China--Really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Ordered vegetable fried rice, and orange chicken. Not the usual glop--but the unusual glop. The orange chicken had strips of orange peel, which was something new to see. The chicken had a gooey breading, and the sauce was a cut above what I usually find at a Chinese restaurant. The best thing about the fried rice was that it was not greasy, but it was not anything special. If you like crunchy onions, then you may enjoy the fried rice.

Nothing special. I don't know why anyone is raving about the food. The pictures of dishes, posted on a food website, show a shiny gloss on most of the food. This would indicate a generous use of corn starch.

Groan Appetit! I don't plan on a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthGino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Best China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing