We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place, out of the way”
Review of Bel Lago Winery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bel Lago Winery
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Cedar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1997. Settled atop a hill and encompassed within lush vineyards, Bel Lago Winery's tasting room features a one-of-a-kind panoramic view of south Lake Leelanau. Grown with a deep respect for and devotion to Leelanau Peninsula, our wines reflect the soil and climate of our beautiful location. For nearly two decades, our emphasis at Bel Lago has been on producing quality wines and cider with an unwavering commitment to excellence.
Midland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little place, out of the way”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stopped recently on a self guided wine-tasting tour. We almost skipped Bel Lago, because it is a bit out of the way. We were certainly glad that we didn't! The owner was very friendly, and he explained the different wines he currently had available. The Pinot Noir is excellent - I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MidMIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

beautiful, wonderful wine, very knowledgeable The gentleman helping us actually picked some of the grapes off the vine for us to try

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine and Experience”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The owners and winemakers have a presence so the experience is more personal than many other places. All the wines were better than I expected. The tasting room and winery are nice and small scale and the vineyard are beautiful

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Indeed”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Bel Lago is off the beaten path and well worth the drive. This winery takes their wines and wine tasting seriously: I, too, am concerned about wineries as 'entertainment': an 'E ticket ride'; a bachelorette party is a sad commentary on what seems to be too often the case now with wineries and wine tastings. Fortunately, Bel Lago and its team provide quality wines; serious discussion; and a beautiful outlook. If you are tired to the M22/Old Mission tasting rooms with 'guests' who seem more interested in slamming back alcohol than thinking about wine and wine process, Bel Lago is for you. I'm not a wine 'snob': far from it, but I appreciate the professionalism of the staff at Bel Lago and their restful outlook over the Lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pass it by”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Not the best tasting experience in TC. The staff was a little...unfriendly and didn't seem interested in telling you about their wines. They offered a free pour and have a pretty decent Cherry Wine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Lago Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Lake Leelanau, Leelanau County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Leland, Leelanau County
 

Been to Bel Lago Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing