We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Pelican Inn

Blue Pelican Inn
Price range: US$16 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I and her 89 year old mother stopped in again in July 2014. The food was much better than our last experience. I had the Crab Boil and it was pretty good.

We called ahead for a reservation and left a message per their recorded instructions, but received no call back to confirm. Drove about 35 minutes to get there at the requested time (7:30) and we were on list (would've been very upsetting if that slot had not been available!). Upon entering the restaurant there was a queue of 2 parties ahead of us and another party came in right behind us. We all stood in the reception area for several minutes (5-10 minutes) during which time several more parties came in (all with 7:30 reservations) and the reception area was quite crowded. I won't go into great detail, but the hostess ended up seating the various groups in absolutely no relation to the order we arrived and when this was pointed out to her she simply gave a toss of her head and said "we'll get to everyone as quickly as we can". Easy to say when you're not the 89 year-old lady who has been standing there for 20 minutes watching the later arrivals (and much younger people) getting seated simply because they pushed their way close to the desk during the hostess' absences! They need to keep someone at the desk at all times to record the order of arrivals to at least they look like they care about customer satisfaction. Got our dining experience off to a bad start, but like I said the food was very good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RandC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A gourmet surprise in Central Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Dinner on the open air patio at this bed & breakfast, restaurant and bar this evening. Absolutely great as the Chef combines northern Michigan flavor a with the owners southern heritage. The fried grit cakes are an absolute must try! Blackened walleye also a very good dish. Wonderful atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening on the porch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently visited the Torch Lake area and had a nice dinner on the porch of the inn. The food was very good and although we were "stuffed" we both got dessert. The service was excellant and we will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“As good as you get in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Blue Pelican Inn has provided our family and friends the best food in the area. Their offering of crab-legs and a seafood bucket, along with a variety of fish and steaks makes this THE DESTINATION for us when we want to enjoy a great meal. The restaurant is located in Central Lake (maybe 10-15 miles north of Bellaire) but well worth the drive if you a visiting Torch Lake or Shanty Creek Resorts. The pricing is NOT inexpensive but not overly priced either (I'd rate the pricing as 4 out of 5). ENJOY, you'll likely return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved eating on the covered porch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Food was delicious, service very professional and attentive. Good portions so that I was too full for dessert, so next night I ordered dessert first, then meal. Looking forward to eating here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Pelican Inn also viewed

Kewadin, Antrim County
 
Ellsworth, Antrim County
 
Central Lake, Antrim County
Central Lake, Antrim County
 

Been to Blue Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing