We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs Le Grice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wheelwrights

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Waltham St Lawrence, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lisalI871...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs Le Grice”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a gem of a place. The photos really don't do this place justice. We needed somewhere to stay whilst taking our children to Legoland and I came across the wheelwrights on trip advisor. Modern, clean and cosy with all mod cons plus the added bonus of a great pup across the road. Somewhere we would definitely stay again! Thank you

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Fantastic that you had a great time and thank you for the positive review. We really appreciate it. Look forward to welcoming you again Warm regards Steve & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsy2
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Would highly recommend The Wheelwrights. Beautiful property, fantastic location, brilliant owners. Can't wait to go back. Accommodation completed to a very high standard, a perfect base to explore this area of England .

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you all again to The Wheelwrights Sue & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The power showers and kitchen
Liked least: Lack of storage space upstairs - including lack of built in wardrobes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judefromo...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I had a lovely stay at this perfectly renovated, character-filled cottage. The owner, Steve, was very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The cottage is in a small picturesque village - very Midsomer! It is not far from Maidenhead and so is ideally placed for meeting up with friends and family in the south of England.

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Lovely barn conversion in perfect location”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Wheelwrights was perfect for our family reunion and nostalgic visit to the village in which my sister and I grew up. Located across from the church where I sang in the choir and The Bell pub where we went after church (!) we were warmly welcomed and felt very much at home. Steve and Sue were welcoming but left us to our own devices. The only thing that would have improved the accommodation would have been access to a small area of their beautiful garden where we could enjoy the wonderful sunny weather. We recommend The Wheelwrights warmly.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: No access to garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind review, we are so glad you had a great time, you were wonderful guests. Good suggestion of providing a small area of the garden for guests use, we will look to provide that. Thanks for staying and hope to be able to welcome you again to The Wheelwrights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viccraig
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like being at Home!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I would recommend this holiday home to anyone visiting London and outer areas.
Fantastic for Windsor and Ascot and of course Lego Land.

Fantastic Home with excellent furnishings and top of the range electronics.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and far better than staying in a suite in a hotel.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Great to hear you enjoyed The Wheelwrights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Westonzoyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well presented, well appointed and well situated”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A comfortable and excellent base for the Thames Valley. Sue and Steve were very welcoming and helpful. The cottage was warm and friendly and with the wood burner going, a wonderful escape from the English winter. We had no complaints about the property or the facilities.

It was also very handy for major routes, 5 minutes from the A4 and 10 from the M4 and, on a quiet day only 35 minutes from Heathrow. We were visiting relatives in the area but if we had been tourists we could have found ample places of interest to visit even in January.

The local pub is excellent. Good, reasonably priced food and a great selection of beers. Best of all it was within crawling distance.

Will not hesitate to go back

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cannot chose one thing. Overall excellence
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Look forward to welcoming you back to The Wheelwrights
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.