We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, but outdated decor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Check in was a breeze, staff was very friendly and view from our balcony was breathtaking! If I had any complaints, it would be the continental breakfast. It was VERY sparse, and if you have read my reviews in the past, you know I am a stickler on breakfasts. The only protein provided was hard boiled eggs, that smelled of vinegar, blech!
Lastly, other minor issues were that the linens on the bed did not fit properly, and would be completely unmade, and I hate that!!! Also, the tile in the bathroom had multiple cracks, and obvious wear, and outdated decor.
Overall the visit was pleasant, but next time, we will probably try a new hotel.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room 43, our door was directly across from the elevator. There was noisy guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prbyJennyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear prbyJennyD,

Thank you for staying at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for your Tripadvisor review.

I am sorry that you were not happy with our Continental Breakfast. We do have a number of items on our Continental Breakfast over the usual Continental Breakfast of coffee, juice, and sweet rolls. We have a waffle maker, oatmeal, cereal, two juice flavors, yogurt, fruit, coffee cake, mini muffins, English muffins, bagels. I am not sure why the eggs would have the smell you described but I will look into that.

I will be contacting housekeeping to see why the sheets would not have fit on the king bed in the Jacuzzi room that you stayed in.

I hope that you will change your mind and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I bought a groupon for the Weathervane for my fiance' for a Christmas gift. I booked the Lake Michigan suite. We stayed 3/28-3/30. The weathervane is a hotel built by Earl Young a famous builder in town who is known for his "mushroom house". The hotel is located very close to the street of homes he built that look like something the Hobbits would live in. Anyway, back to the weathervane. It was built in the '50's so it is an older hotel. Upon entering our room there was a sitting area with a couch, coffee table, kitchen table and flat screen tv on the wall, next came the small kitchen that includes a coffee maker, microwave, stove/oven and small refrigerator. It was supplied with adequate utensils to eat in if you would choose to cook a meal in. There is a small bathroom with a shower/tub. The bedroom had a double bed, a small desk with a shelf above it holding a small tv and dvd player. There a fireplace that they provide duraflame logs for your use. There is a small recliner next to the fireplace. There is a sliding door that leads to a nice, little patio with a table and chairs. You can see the lake fairly close from here. All in all the room was clean, like I said its older, but it has been kept clean. The offer a continental breakfast that leaves A LOT to be desired! There is a restaurant at the entrance of the parking lot called Staffords that we had an excellent meal in. In the summer you can sit and watch the boats pass by as one entire wall is windows. Its moderately priced...one dinner was $12.99 the other $24.00. The dress is casual, jeans were fine. The town is right outside the door and walking distance with various specialty shops, clothes, candy, art, etc, there is also a cinema and a grocery.

If you are looking for a romantic room...the fireplace in the bedroom in the Lake Michigan Suite will give you the atmosphere you desire!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear amycon4,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad that you decided to stay at our hotel through a Groupon special. Our Lake Michigan Suites with a queen bed in the bedroom and separate living room/kitchen area was a great choice. It looks like you also came during a part of the year when the fireplace may have been a great bonus in your room. There are a few restaurants in town that serve a full breakfast. Our hotel does give a complimentary continental breakfast with coffee, juice, hot or cold cereal, fruit, english muffins, coffee cake, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and a waffle machine to make your own hot waffles.

I am also glad to see that you were able to tour our city to see some of the sites and hope that you will come back to Charlevoix on your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We got a Christmas gift of a groupon coupon for one night's stay here an decided to pay for another night ourselves and make a nice Valentines weekend out of it. The inn and all the staff were awesome. We stayed in room 66 which was right next to the hot tub. Everything was awesome and I highly recommend seeing Charlevoix in the winter time. Lake Michigan was frozen over and we actually walked out on the lake by the pier to take some pictures. We did a small tour of the Earl Young homes in the area as well. We enjoyed the hot tub and then had a nice fire in the in-room fire place. The inn provided a log but we also went out and bought a 4 hour log at K-Mart for a little longer fire. The room was clean and everything was very nice. We will be coming back in warmer weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Hazmann65,

Thank you for such a great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad that someone gave you a Groupon for Christmas and that you decided to visit us for your Valentine’s weekend get-away. It sounds like you were able to enjoy a beautiful weekend and all the amenities that we have to offer during the winter. With all the ice this year you have some great opportunities to take a walk on the water and get great pictures. We look forward to hearing from you when you think “Charlevoix first” and try us out in warmer weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very spacious unit with kitchen, fireplace and deck with a view of Lake Michigan. Hot tub is just down the hall. Located on the channel to Lake Michigan and within walking distance of all the shops downtown. All of the staff are so friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. So much to do in this area of Michigan, no matter what the season.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear MarkMB54.

Thank you for your excellent review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. With the cold winter we are having it is great to be able to take a long weekend and enjoy a hot tub, fireplace, views from your patio, and a walk to Charlevoix’s downtown shopping. So many people think “Charlevoix first” when planning their vacation in Michigan. I am glad that you were able to have a great time and that you let us be a part of making it happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for a winter wedding (bad idea). The hotel is very unique in its stone fireplaces and walk ups. Had a nice balcony room, very roomy. Pool looks great, but is outdoor, no winter use. Great breakfast, very nice and helpful staff. A cool place, and different than the chain hotels. Prices were very reasonable (maybe due to winter). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank news37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you news37,

I am assuming that the “bad idea” in your review was concerning having a wedding in the winter and not about your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. Your review of our place is wonderful and I am glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and enjoy our amenities. We are a cool place with our historic Earl Young architecture and downtown location. I hope that you will come and stay with us again…..maybe for a summer wedding??!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

One of the reasons I go to Charlevoix is the Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites! Beautiful views of Lake Michigan, amazingly clean rooms, comfy beds, spacious yet cozy rooms equipped with fireplace, jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, free wifi and flat screen tvs--who'd want to go anywhere else?! The hotel staff is helpful, friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast bar (complete with waffle maker) in the morning is an added bonus! This hotel is centrally located--nice walking distance to shops, historic mushroom homes, restaurants and beach. I'm so glad to have found the Weathervane Hotel--It's my place to "get away from it all."

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annika700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear annika700,

I am so glad that you were able to get away from it all and visit us at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. Charlevoix is a great place and our location lets you enjoy the downtown shopping, dining, and views on foot. Thank you for your great review of our place and Charlevoix the Beautiful….. and remember to think “Charlevoix first” when you plan your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I ejoyed our stay after an excellent meal at the main restaurant. Our room was large and comfortable and had many amenities that are found in large expensive hotels. The free continental breakfast had many good choices in a comfortable setting. A great value in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Room #30 had a kingsize bed, large tv,fridge,coffee maker, wifi and microwave. The room was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallacej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Wallacej 11,

Thank you for your great rating and wonderful review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. Also, thank you for the room tip. It’s great to let other guests know all of the amenities that their room could have. I hope that you will come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
776 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
461 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Address: 111 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1818
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range: £79 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing