We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was my first time staying at the Weathervane. It is in the perfect location, walking distance to town. The room was very spacious, clean and a wonderful view. Bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Danielle checked me in and she was absolutely wonderful! Great customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Cathy K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites, and for your great Tripadvisor review.
I have made sure that Danielle knows that you were very happy with the help she gave you at check-in.
I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Charlevoix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    107
    52
    27
    23
See reviews for
124
207
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed at the Weathervane several times, and I have always enjoyed the hospitality of the owners. Love set massive stone work on the fireplace, and the interesting tales by the owners on how it was created. Rooms are comfy enough, and the free breakfast helps you get going in the morning.... ready to explore the quaint shops along the main street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear sajanim,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for making us the place you stay when you come to enjoy Charlevoix. The complimentary continental breakfast is a great start you our guests’ mornings. It is also a time that you can look out over the pool to see the bridge as it opens for boat traffic. The Earl Young fireplaces in both the breakfast room and the lobby are beautiful and have a great story behind them. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our family went to Charlivoix for a wedding and the group stayed at Weathervane Terrace.The wedding was at Castle Farms. Beautiful Place! It is in a perfect location! From the room we could see Lake Michigan, and walk to it steps away from our back terrace. It is an absolutely beautiful view and morning walk destination. They have a restaurant next door with outdoor seating overlooking the canal between Round Lake and Lake MI. The food was delicious and the servers gave us multitudes of information about the area and things to explore. And the shopping is fabulous. There is a long stretch of shops and little eatery's to visit. Petosky is a 10 min. drive with more shopping and lake side front with a park and a marina. We will be definitely stay at the Weathervane again. The rooms have full kitchens in the suites. And the beds were super comfortable!

Room Tip: The Lake Michigan view room was beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for your beautiful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy Charlevoix while you were in town for a wedding. Castle Farms is a beautiful place for a wedding and they do such a professional job for their brides. It was your good fortune to have such great weather to be able to enjoy the outside seating at Stafford’s Weathervane Restaurant. A great place to eat…. inside and out! It is so nice to be able to stay in the downtown area and take in the town and the shoreline by foot.

I hope that you will try to visit Charlevoix again and be sure to give us a call…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were concerned walking into our room on an end unit that from the door looked like it would be a small cramped room but we were so pleasantly surprised when we walked in to a spacious, updated, clean room! The room had a nice kitchenette area (a small counter and fridge tucked away so it didn't detract from the room), a nice seating area with a comfortable couch and table and a great jaccuzzi tub that was see through between the shower and the bedroom. There was also a private toilet area and sink. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and being able to catch some sunset right from our balcony and from the pier a short walk away.

The check in was simple and easy and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The pool was not open yet and looked to be in disrepair but I'd give the benefit of the doubt because everything else was nice and clean and kept up.

The location was also great, it is not a large town so its hard to not be close to shops but all in all we were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear KGC74,

Thank you for staying at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for your great review on Tripadvisor. I love to hear how our guests’ enjoyed their stay with us.

Sorry you were not able to use the pool. With the long… and cold, winter we had this year, the pool was not able to be ready earlier that it’s normal Memorial Weekend opening. Northern Michigan weather is hard on a pool and grounds, but our maintenance man does a beautiful job of getting it ready and repaired for summer use. I wish you could see it now…. beautiful blue water, umbrellas up over the tables, flowers planted, and people in the chase lounges. All ready for a great summer! I hope that you will try to visit us again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Check in was a breeze, staff was very friendly and view from our balcony was breathtaking! If I had any complaints, it would be the continental breakfast. It was VERY sparse, and if you have read my reviews in the past, you know I am a stickler on breakfasts. The only protein provided was hard boiled eggs, that smelled of vinegar, blech!
Lastly, other minor issues were that the linens on the bed did not fit properly, and would be completely unmade, and I hate that!!! Also, the tile in the bathroom had multiple cracks, and obvious wear, and outdated decor.
Overall the visit was pleasant, but next time, we will probably try a new hotel.

Room Tip: I would not recommend room 43, our door was directly across from the elevator. There was noisy guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prbyJennyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear prbyJennyD,

Thank you for staying at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for your Tripadvisor review.

I am sorry that you were not happy with our Continental Breakfast. We do have a number of items on our Continental Breakfast over the usual Continental Breakfast of coffee, juice, and sweet rolls. We have a waffle maker, oatmeal, cereal, two juice flavors, yogurt, fruit, coffee cake, mini muffins, English muffins, bagels. I am not sure why the eggs would have the smell you described but I will look into that.

I will be contacting housekeeping to see why the sheets would not have fit on the king bed in the Jacuzzi room that you stayed in.

I hope that you will change your mind and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I bought a groupon for the Weathervane for my fiance' for a Christmas gift. I booked the Lake Michigan suite. We stayed 3/28-3/30. The weathervane is a hotel built by Earl Young a famous builder in town who is known for his "mushroom house". The hotel is located very close to the street of homes he built that look like something the Hobbits would live in. Anyway, back to the weathervane. It was built in the '50's so it is an older hotel. Upon entering our room there was a sitting area with a couch, coffee table, kitchen table and flat screen tv on the wall, next came the small kitchen that includes a coffee maker, microwave, stove/oven and small refrigerator. It was supplied with adequate utensils to eat in if you would choose to cook a meal in. There is a small bathroom with a shower/tub. The bedroom had a double bed, a small desk with a shelf above it holding a small tv and dvd player. There a fireplace that they provide duraflame logs for your use. There is a small recliner next to the fireplace. There is a sliding door that leads to a nice, little patio with a table and chairs. You can see the lake fairly close from here. All in all the room was clean, like I said its older, but it has been kept clean. The offer a continental breakfast that leaves A LOT to be desired! There is a restaurant at the entrance of the parking lot called Staffords that we had an excellent meal in. In the summer you can sit and watch the boats pass by as one entire wall is windows. Its moderately priced...one dinner was $12.99 the other $24.00. The dress is casual, jeans were fine. The town is right outside the door and walking distance with various specialty shops, clothes, candy, art, etc, there is also a cinema and a grocery.

If you are looking for a romantic room...the fireplace in the bedroom in the Lake Michigan Suite will give you the atmosphere you desire!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amycon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear amycon4,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad that you decided to stay at our hotel through a Groupon special. Our Lake Michigan Suites with a queen bed in the bedroom and separate living room/kitchen area was a great choice. It looks like you also came during a part of the year when the fireplace may have been a great bonus in your room. There are a few restaurants in town that serve a full breakfast. Our hotel does give a complimentary continental breakfast with coffee, juice, hot or cold cereal, fruit, english muffins, coffee cake, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and a waffle machine to make your own hot waffles.

I am also glad to see that you were able to tour our city to see some of the sites and hope that you will come back to Charlevoix on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We got a Christmas gift of a groupon coupon for one night's stay here an decided to pay for another night ourselves and make a nice Valentines weekend out of it. The inn and all the staff were awesome. We stayed in room 66 which was right next to the hot tub. Everything was awesome and I highly recommend seeing Charlevoix in the winter time. Lake Michigan was frozen over and we actually walked out on the lake by the pier to take some pictures. We did a small tour of the Earl Young homes in the area as well. We enjoyed the hot tub and then had a nice fire in the in-room fire place. The inn provided a log but we also went out and bought a 4 hour log at K-Mart for a little longer fire. The room was clean and everything was very nice. We will be coming back in warmer weather!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Hazmann65,

Thank you for such a great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad that someone gave you a Groupon for Christmas and that you decided to visit us for your Valentine’s weekend get-away. It sounds like you were able to enjoy a beautiful weekend and all the amenities that we have to offer during the winter. With all the ice this year you have some great opportunities to take a walk on the water and get great pictures. We look forward to hearing from you when you think “Charlevoix first” and try us out in warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
15.4 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
680 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Property: Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Address: 111 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1818
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing